Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mind Traveller

by Ogniok - Jam Entry

What is our game about?
--------------------------------------------------------

What happens to us when we are in a coma? Are we trapped inside our own minds? Try to answer this questions as you embark on a sad journey through the mind of a man you have had hit with your car. Will you be able to bring him back?

NORMAL MODE AND HARDCORE MODE
--------------------------------------------------------

Press SPACEBAR in menu to start normal mode(With checkpoints)
Press ENTER in menu to start hardcore mode(Without checkpoints)

PERFORMANCE
--------------------------------------------------------

Don't run the game on "Low" settings. "Medium" is the lowest setting which should be used.

Story Explanation
(DO NOT READ BEFORE PLAYING THE GAME)
--------------------------------------------------------

As character travels through a mind of a man he have hit with his car he encounters both his and the man's thoughts represented as yellow and red texts. He has to go through the obstacles and riddles created by the man's imagination. At the same time he is being attacked by the man he is trying to save, because he wants to show him the pain he feels, hence the scene with a car crash. All the man's thoughts shouldn't be treated literally, as he can't fully control his subconsciousness and he can only hide real messages inside thoughts that the player sees. Character uncovers the real meaning behind those thoughts when he finally finds the man. They all showed on one screen make a real message: "You brought me back".

GAMEPLAY
--------------------------------------------------------
If you can't run the game or finish it you can watch the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEjvfWcZ9EA

TEAM
--------------------------------------------------------

Ogniok - Programming & Music
derko666 - Art

FEEDBACK
--------------------------------------------------------

Please, leave your feedback about the game and report bugs if you've found any. We appreciate it very much.

Fireline Games | firelinegames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#111Mood(Jam)3.71
#174Graphics(Jam)3.97
#196Audio(Jam)3.43
#420Overall(Jam)3.30
#509Innovation(Jam)3.03
#724Fun(Jam)2.75
#760Humor(Jam)2.04
#997Theme(Jam)2.14

Comments

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:51pm

unfortunately i think my pc is to weak to run unreal game =/
it stays for several seconds on a black screen after the main menu
with a laggy music

gonna rate by the screenshots and your text ;)

Ogniok says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:52pm

@Kuupu Have you tried playing on Medium?

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54pm

This was simply awesome. It looks great with the whole darkness surrounding everything. I like the messages, like the music, I like everything about this.

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Super cool astehtics! Looks very nice

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Graphics and gameplay - really well!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

This sentence is strange: "a man he have had hit with his car"
The mood is awesome: good music and lighting effects.
Unfortunately I couldn't make it past the second "room". I am very bad at platformers.
I really liked the inner messages.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I really liked graphics ... Neat concept!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Thanks for all the nice comments :D
@SusanTheCat I knew there was something off about this sentence, but I'm not a native english speaker xD

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Loved it, the moment you are on the turning plate trying to reach the second door, with the music going up in atmosphere is epic.

Couldn't go to the end coz azerty here and I'm bad at fps :D

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Had to jump through some hoops to play, but very nice game, ncie concept , art and fluid gameplay, shame it doesnt fit within the theme but great effort!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:03pm

I like the idea very much, but the platforms on the snow were too hard and I couldn't get past them to continue the story :(

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Wow, this looks great, really wish it would run on my PC :P Any chance of getting a video up?

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Amazing gameplay, however it was incredibly difficult in my opinion. Good game regardless, and it really set a nice mood!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:36pm

But did I brought it?

Ogniok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

@Jyrkface We are working on it ;)

Rothens says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:15am

This... was something different from the ones I saw so far.. but... This just touched me... my laptop couldn't really handle the new unreal engine, so it was a bit laggy, but.. really, I love this...

Croze says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54am

It was unnecessary how difficult it was for a game that's supposed to have some sort of message, not a good kind of a difficult, a "Why am I playing this level over and over again?" kind of difficult. I would like to see the story and graphics as they seem like they'd be nice but the theme doesn't quite fit the genre.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Too demanding for my laptop :(

bobombe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Cool graphics and music, but way too hard for me, i couldn't pass the spinning platform :/

Crushenator says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I enjoyed that. I've always liked custom levels for FPS games were you have to jump on narrow platforms etc. Fun game one of favourites so far.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I really liked graphics

becker929 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:19pm

5/5 would get stuck in the room that says *spoiler spoiler* again. They really mean it.

Graphics and audio are excellent. Really dramatic, I like it!

The only thing I question is whether it fits the given theme.

Great job! Makes me want to try Unreal.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Thanks for all the comments. :D
@Crushenator We're glad to hear this! :D
@becker929 Unreal Engine is awesome. I definitely recommend it! :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:55pm

That's just stunning. Beautiful art, the soundtrack reminds me of Clint Mansell's work to some extent.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:41am

Beautiful game,but challenging. I included it in part 40 of my IndiesVsPewdiepie compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/dFVnkTjSN10

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:43am

* I Included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bpNoFf0QyBM
Sorry bout that! XD

Yarek says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:18am

Wow! This game is impressive, though I'm not sure if it fits the given theme. Aside from that, it's great!

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:14pm

looks great, but very hard

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:44am

The general idea of the game is quite interesting. However I don't really see the connection to the theme. And what is actually a problem is the difficulty of the game. For an emotional/mood game you need a difficulty that keeps the player from just running through the game while at the same time doesn't slow down the progress of the story. I was stuck in the last room for over 20 minutes. In the end I couldn't remeber much of the mood that was there before because I was frustrated by the unfogivingness of the controls and the level. But of course designing the difficulty for a mood game is one of the hardest things in game design in my opinion, so hats off for what you did. On the performance of your game you should work however. My PC is capable of playing some current AAA games, yet it just shut down after 20 minutes in the last room.

Wertle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:17pm

The game crashes for me after I choose a quality setting :( There wasn't any useful info in the dump.

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:57pm

This was created in 72 hours? Kudos!
It's well-designed, super-moody and completely incomprehensible. :D
Ale do tematu to ni diabła nie pasuje. :P

Ogniok says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:17pm

@rzuf Jesteśmy świadomi, że trochę jest to naciągane. Dopasowanie do tematu lepiej wyglądało na etapie designu. xD A 72 godziny to za mało, by potem coś zmieniać.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:42pm

You should really add a Mac build

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]