Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Harvesting Simulator

by kmasiulis - Compo Entry

Tower defense game, where you build walls and turrets to hunt aliens. Built with Phaser.JS

Use your energy wisely. Drag buildings to buy them. Build walls on the low ground to change the path of aliens. Turrets can be built only on the high ground. Enemies change their spawn location, health and speed after every wave.

You can't build walls when aliens are coming, only between waves, this restriction does not apply to towers.

You can't buy more buildings than you have energy.

Good Luck.


Change Log:

Updated instructions from "Drag to build" to "Drag a building to buy" as some players did not know what to drag and could not play this game

There are no bugs in this game, only unintended features.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#372Theme3.74
#491Audio2.83
#574Fun3.07
#654Mood2.83
#673Overall3.09
#795Humor2.13
#799Graphics2.71
#1031Innovation2.35

Comments

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

Turrents don't seem to work. It was fun for what it was.

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

I really like the wall system and the music.

Mixer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

This game looks fun, and runs, but I can't drag anything on! :/ Firefox win 8.

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

Great take on tower defense! More animations would be nice though

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22am

A pretty competent tower defense game in a short development time. I did run into a strange bug where I started placing turrets but they were invisible. They could still shoot I just couldn't see them.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24am

Played the best I could, when I would drag turrets out the map they were not showing up. They were still damaging aliens however. Good Work, the rest of the mechanics were working.

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24am

Nice game. At first I tried to drag the turrets by the label instead of the image, and got a bit confused.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25am

TD games are rare on Ludum Dare. I'm glad that I've found this one. I like the idea of single level with different routes. Good job!

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26am

I found this pretty fun, well done. As far as the tower defense genre goes, I didn't find it too innovative (I know it was made in only 48 hours, but it'd be cool to see something new). It fits the theme well, the graphics were pretty good (the animation on the enemies walking, while basic, was good too), and the music/sound effects were great (the satisfying gunshot sounds D:). Great work!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

I think there is a bug where you can drag things onto the tan parts and although they don't show up, they still seem to shoot. I was a little confused by that.

With some polish I can see this being fun!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

Fun game! Very good game for the timeframe.

JamesOfJames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:40am

Pretty cool take on the genre; slick interface for the time limit for sure!

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Pretty fun, like already mentioned the I couldn't see the turrets I placed. They still attacked though. I liked it, nice job :)

TheZiggy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I was unable to drag anything. Nice music though!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59am

Really cool, needs more of a tutorial though!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Really nice game. Looks good and the music is nice.

BitOfGold says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:33pm

A fast-forward button would be nice. A colplete TD game in 48h that's Cool! +1 for using Phaser.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:12am

A fast forward button would of been nice. . . other than that complaint, i really like the tower defense like games

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:11am

Ranges shown don't seem to match the actual ranges of the towers. No bullet visuals? Hard to tell who was damaging what.

Otherwise, good foundations with both the turrets and walling, allowing you to customize what path the AI takes.

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:14am

Wasn't able to play the game :( nice music though. Chrome 39, Mac

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:18am

the objects dont show up on screen, but a good TD game

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:30am

Fun game! I enjoyed it :) it's fun to place walls! One suggestion is to make it easier to see which gun fired, and perhaps make the different guns more different than just range? Good use of the theme!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Good TD game - nicely balanced for an 48h entry!

Very well done!

eforen says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:52am

It was ok but I found my self missing 3 things some way to speed things up when I was just waiting for everything to die, lines or something anything really to tell what tower was hitting what mob, and some kind of grid even just a faint little one in the background.

ianh says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:48am

I always like tower defense games where you can build walls! It's weird how the towers all shoot in the exact same way. The tower that slows creeps doesn't make as much sense when there's no AOE.

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:48am

Well done on getting a tower defense game up and running in such a short amount of time! I liked the interface of just dragging what I wanted to buy onto the field. The enemy spawns could use more variety. All the weapons "fired" in the same way so I didn't actually know if my nuker or howitzer were actually firing. Just doing some on screen representation will bit huge in the feedback loop and player interaction. Plus everyone likes big booms!

Kabukky says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 6:15am

Great job for such a short time! TD isn't easy to balance so quickly. It's all in the mechanics, you don't need fancy graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]