Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bathyal Commodore

by BubbleChien - Jam Entry

Brace yourselves, the new generation of simulators is coming!

Be prepared for a dive in the deepest trenches of the ocean, a pitch black hostile environment where your skills will be put to the test.

Can you survive?



Update 12/09

- Firefox compatibility
- Partial IE compatibility (no sound)
- Fixed elements spawning out of boundaries
- Fixed invincible enemies


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#24Theme(Jam)4.36
#59Innovation(Jam)3.95
#135Mood(Jam)3.64
#140Audio(Jam)3.59
#225Overall(Jam)3.56
#242Graphics(Jam)3.78
#579Humor(Jam)2.44
#780Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice concept! I was really on the edge while playing this.
-Steffen

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Interesting take on the theme, very unique idea and well executed. Graphics are very nice as well :)

Johan Blade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Great concept, would have liked objects to fade away a little slower but thats the only problem I had with it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Very atmospheric, great sound design! I found the coordinate system a little hard to reconcile with the sonar and compass, but I probably just need a bit of practice.

vortex says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Amazing concept, but very hard to controll... You did not get a real sense of motion, but I know that a sonar doesn't update instantly, so it was not really avoidable

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Nice graphic and sound - very atmospheric. Hard to understand what to do especially when screen shows you icons you don't see on map

InHelli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Caution is very interesting, you can lose a lot of time :))

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Really like the design on this one, it is similar to "you have the con" HERE - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=32648 But different in many ways. I think some audio would help and a bit of balancing but great work nonetheless.

ajopart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:46am

Perfect entry. Nice game

Phask says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54am

The atmosphere of the game is awesome! Good work.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:35am

Nice, but really hard!

bitserum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:41am

I really the idea, and the mood you set. Game play is a little confusing. Probably because sonar is a bit slow its hard to follow.
Good job.

Threstle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:41am

I really like the artstyle, and overall, the game feels ultra polished and professional. Nice job ! The radar screen might be a little messy, it's hard to really control your submarine. Great entry nonetheless ! ;)

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Great concept of controls implementation. The gameplay is complicated, though. Maybe, I'm became so casual :)
But, anyway I like this game!

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Real cool sub simulator ! I like it !

Aniscool9 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Real cool game.... never seen this before :)

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Nice one (for us oldies ^^)!

stipple says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Very interesting game. Well done.

zanenga says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Love the mood! This was great!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:30pm

really neat idea with the sonar. And it runs without problem in firefox and loads fast so this will definetly help to gather more players :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:12am

Hah that game was really hard! I like how it just threw you into it and told you to press the buttons. When I hit something it really scared me! The sound design and art are really strong. :)

Quikding says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Cool UI, very interactive.

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Nice concept. I have a game of my own to implement a sonar for, so I might be able to take some inspiration from this!

Unfortunately some inspiration on what not to do, too. This was, as some have pointed out, a bit difficult to control. I never found any of the things the prompt asked me to collect, either.

Graphics and audio were fantastic. And I have to admit I'm a little biased towards anything sonar.

A little bit of a low score on the theme, tho. In practice, it really is a normal game where you're moving around with a "camera" following you, even tho the scene is centered on a non-moving sonar. You're still moving the actual sub around in an open world, constantly finding new obstacles and seeking out items.

Wonderfully clad, wonderful concept. But not entirely what I had hoped for from the screenshots, I suppose. Listening to some of the criticisms posed here, tho, I could definitely see this turn into something rather interesting.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Very good game. Congratulations.

pandamicro says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice concept, but hard to figure out how to manipulate the ship more efficiently

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

ncie work

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Cool idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]