Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The 5th Layer

by Iak - Compo Entry

The Story of a lone Fire Elemental trying to prove his worth... By Destroying all the Snow Golems!


Controls:
WASD - movement
SPACE - shooting
LeftShift - slowing down (this also shows your hitbox!)
ESC - pause/quit

OSX: The OSX version may not run correctly (using lwjgl natives) - Not sure why!

Original Release and Post-LD Versions: (See "Version History.txt" for more Information)
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/os6bmjd5s8ehu86/AADjQ8iuk6cEHnWqNJHV10b-a

Last Post-LD update: +added HP-Bar to Cloud-Boss
Currently testing (available in link up above, too):
+Added Menu -> Options, -> Info
+Added new Enemies
+Added Enemy Movement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#577Humor2.46
#581Fun3.06
#816Theme3.39
#847Audio2.09
#884Overall2.88
#920Mood2.50
#1045Graphics2.27
#1148Innovation2.03

Comments

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice little bullet hell :)

Wezley says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:33pm

This game is insane! Nice job! :)

LedgeTheDev says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Nice

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:33pm

remind me of the japanese game tohou

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:34am

I died a couple of times, difficult but fun!

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:30am

Pretty fun game!!!

Rulrite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Simple, yet very moreish... I think you did a great job with the difficulty, although I haven't gotten past the third phase yet!

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

There are currently only 3 phases - I already started working on more though!

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Nice bullet-hell game, the player bullets need to have more impact, maybe add a few fluff enemies to show that your gun does actually work.
Keep working on it, great start :D

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Gotta dig bullet hells.

harley77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Crashed on OS X :(

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I don't have a Mac to test it myself, I just exported to OSX using the standard files provided with lwjgl - if you have any specific errors appearing I could try to find a fix...

eusekerci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13pm

nice game, but a lit hard

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice, but too hard for me. Can't beat the boss. D:
By the way, I fixed my game, now it should run on your PC. Thank you for that report!

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Nice game haha, you deserve a 2nd rating as well! :p I love the game!

triplefox says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:39am

I won!

Wakka says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:04pm

funny game haha :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:56am

A fun little shooter, but I'd suggest adding a hitsound for when you hit the enemies, and a slight delay between enemies being killed and new enemies spawning, since the first snowman you kill looks like it summons two more at half health, instead of being replaced by three.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:00pm

The game needs visual feedback for shots that hit the target (flashing enemy or something else). Anyway the game is fun and i just did it! It needs also more levels.

Iak says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:47pm

working on more levels already, visual/audio feedback for hitting enemies is a good idea, too.
Animations for enemies moving onto the screen rather than them just appearing there are already done and will be uploaded once I am relatively certain it causes no gamebreaking bugs.

Thanks for the feedback!

XTremEive says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Cool stuff, but it needs more feedback.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]