Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Zoom

by ChezPain - Compo Entry

Zoom is a game where you complete levels by zooming in and out.

Controls:
Arrow Keys (or WASD) to move.
Z to Zoom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#281Audio3.16
#286Mood3.26
#384Innovation3.36
#520Humor2.53
#521Fun3.11
#578Overall3.18
#965Theme3.22
#996Graphics2.39
#1631Coolness42%

Comments

ranseur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Parallax made me feel a little uneasy, nice concept!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Sometimes, when zoomed out, you couldn't read the text, so I didn't read a bit of the story.
Also, it was often a bit hard to determine why I was dying, a bit more feedback would've been nice.
And finally, necessary isn't spelled 'nessesary' ;) But I'll forgive you that one!

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I love the idea! I think a little more could be done to communicate some of the zooming mechanics etc. but overall it's pretty cool ^_^

sausagroll says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Good concept, would have been nice to see where the shape would be when you zoomed though, I died quite a lot accidentally zooming out into spikes.

sausagroll says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Good concept, would have been nice to see where the shape would be when you zoomed though, I died quite a lot accidentally zooming out into spikes. I liked the ending.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Great game mechanics! I had some problems with not knowing where I would end up if i zoomed in/out. Maybe a continuous zoom animation would have helped.

Johnro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:10am

I'm not even sure I know what mental level this game is on. Good job.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:22am

Nice concept but it need a lot of work. Many of the objects scrolling weren't perfect either (like the spikes) and the music restarting EVERY TIME I restarted a level got REALLY annoying... 3 stars

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:23am

Thoroughly enjoyed it! It had quite the mood.

woz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:41am

I like this concept. Good hard old school platformer with a twist

dallonf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:19pm

This game had a great Thomas Was Alone vibe to it. But it was incredibly frustrating at times because often when I pressed Z, I would just instantly die for no apparent reason.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:23am

I like it! Nice platformer with a unique twist. Music was nice as well!

vidarn says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I liked the mood of the game. The dark style, the music and the writing fit well together. I enjoyed it and it was challenging at times. I got stuck on the 3rd level (I think) with the two red squares between individual spikes, I could not figure out how to get past, but that is my problem.

It is a bit unclear at first how the zoom mechanic works and where the big square is placed when zooming out. At first I thought it would use the small square as the center for the big one, but after a few tries I realized that the position of the small square is used for the corner of the big one. It caused some confusion at first, maybe some type of transition would help?

It worked great on OSX and ran very smooth!

Thank you for your game!

// Written by Peter (ludumdare.com/compo/author/Macint/)
// Vidar's teammate in this Jam.

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Seemed interesting. Why was there parallax on the spikes though? It seems like they should stay in one place.

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:51pm

I guess this is not parallax on spikes. This is just 1 frame lag because spikes was drawn before camera update call(I had a look into the code).
Overall good concept. I like the idea and enjoy puzzle elements. Also music is very nice. I like this game. Also I always surprised what people can do with libGDX. It is so lowlevel and require to write a lot of code that is usually should already exist in game engine(like game/render loop ). But anyway I see a lot of good entries made with it. ...I had some experience using it during ld29. Good lib, but too low level for LD.

...by the way you could assign properties to tiles in Tiled and analyze this properties dirung level startup to create spikes, spawn player and enimies, create physics and so on. Also you can move your game loop code to some base class and avoid repeating it in every scene. And maybe next time you will have a bit more levels :)
Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]