Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Swarm

by stephenhaney - Compo Entry

Keep it all on one screen? It's gotta be retro. Swarm is somewhere between Pacman and Frogger. It's challenging, but I think you're up to the task. Grab those little juicy boxes and beat the swarm!

Note: this is a compo 48 hour solo game, please rate accordingly!

I created the "engine" from scratch using Canvas during the compo. That left less time for world building; the end game is a bit short once you get fast. My first time using canvas, I'm impressed by the performance!

I wrote the music in Logic using the built in virtual instruments, you can get an mp3 here if you like it:
http://www.thinkingswiftly.com/swarm/sound/song.mp3

Other tools I used:
Photoshop, Sublime text, gulp.

--- Controls: keyboard arrow keys. ---

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#72Audio3.73
#184Mood3.41
#265Fun3.42
#485Overall3.26
#542Theme3.61
#670Innovation2.97
#746Graphics2.78

Comments

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:00am

Really nice mood on this! The music really added a lot, and I liked the idea of 'memorizing guard patterns' a lot! Good work!

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

nice music ;)
Explain the controls of the game in the descr.

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:09am

Fun and nicely polished. Could have done with being a bit longer, but otherwise very good!

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06am

Solid game. It was quick and fun. Love how you get smaller everytime you die, making it a little bit easier.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

Very smooth graphics. Nice music. I like how getting smaller when you get hit makes the game easier instead of harder.

Jhandsy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04am

Nice game man! I love how essentially built three difficulties into the game from the get go, then each time the pluses spawned it was like going to a new level. I only wish it has been longer!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

Short and sweet. Nice core to the game.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08am

Liking this:)

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08am

Really liked that. Would like a lot more.. but you know.. 48 and all that. Thanks!
Soundtrack is kickass... btw.

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:14am

Thanks for all the great feedback!

Those that liked the music, if you are interested in an mp3 you can grab it from the game's asset folders: http://www.thinkingswiftly.com/swarm/sound/song.mp3

Cheers! Going to return ratings to all comments that I can run on my Mac.

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26am

Nice. The level layout looks vaguely familiar ;-) Good stuff, great mood with the music.

davidB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I like the music. I've got the same start idea, but I stay more pacman like.

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Cool short game, I liked the idea of the hero getting smaller with each hit, so you'd have an easier time evading the more often you lose. That makes it an extra challenge to beat the game without getting hit :)

Sound effects really satisfying too!

kts_kettek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22am

Booo~ wish it was longer

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16am

I really love the sound when one reaches the white cube! Also nice idea that one is getting smaller and smaller, when hit.

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45am

Very challenging! and a great game concept!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I really like the fact that you get smaller when you die, it makes the game easier, so it's somewhat a built in difficulty level.

Fluid movement and animations, very well done, especially for a Canvas game

jmborden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Another fellow JS/Canvas coder. Nice game!

StackAttack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Pretty fun, though not much depth - I do really like the built in difficulty curve that others have mentioned, smart idea

barryrowe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:57am

Fun game, and good mechanics. The animations feel good (fades) and the faces are funny. I wish there were more puzzles and levels, but it's a fun game.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Nice idea. It could do with more levels, as well as a gradual increase in number of enemies on the screen. Good effort!

jpmit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Very well done.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Fun to play. Challenging. Just too short, you gotta add more levels (of course on the same screen, haha)

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:57pm

The music really helped the mood of this one! Clean graphics and fun gameplay! Simple, short, and very enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]