Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Worm

by xWarZonex - Compo Entry

Quick Description
The Worm is a kill em' all, slaughter, Killjoy type game where you control a giant mutant worm and you must constantly feed on prey or you will die. Your size increases and decreases depending on you hunger! Kill and slaughter anything on the screen, but we aware of the bombs.


Controls and rules
Use your mouse to guide the worm and get your food any way necessary. You must constantly eat to maintain your size. If you reach 0% in the hunger bar, you die.

The whole gameplay is entirely on one screen and I think I did a good job at giving this theme a unique twist.

I'm not much of a game developer. I generally make music, so music was a highlight for me in this game. Although its hard to hear over the other sfxs and you may not enjoy my style. But I put a lot of work into the music and it was a pretty complex song to create. So, if you are just bias against my style of dubstep, please take into consideration that just because you may not like it. It was a really complex and really cool song:)

The music is my favorite part of it all, so please rate it well:)

The game features some pretty cool effects and a really neat physics. I really like how you can make the worm jump out of the ground, and the gravity take place and pulls it back down. Although the graphics aren't great, please Don't judge a book by its cover. Take note of all the extra effects and music.

Thankyou for playing my game and I hope you enjoying slaughtering everything with excessive gore!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#148Humor3.26
#439Audio2.90
#458Fun3.18
#657Overall3.10
#808Mood2.64
#893Innovation2.62
#975Theme3.20
#1117Graphics2.08

Comments

Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:45am

yeah, i liked the music, but you should add a win condition (like you need to eat 200 things to win) and maybe some other monsters that appear over time (like one could shoot stuff, and you have to dodge the shooting to eat it)

uniquecorn says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 2:27pm

The music was okay, just don't overstress that all you focused on was the music because your game was pretty complete, and that kind of takes away from the fact that... you made a game, and that's not something a lot of people can say.

Wezley says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:23pm

This is pretty fun. It's hilarious too I feel like doing the worm now xD Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21am

That's one ridiculous game. :) The music is great, but more importantly, it's fun. Good job pulling off a funny, fun game!

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I guess you shouldn't insist on trying to eat the bombs. Fun game, great music!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40pm

nice, very funny game

LMT says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Pretty funny quirky game. Good job for 48 hours

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I liked the music! Concept is so cool!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Pretty simple and nice game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

The start menu is so much fun I thought it was the whole game for a sec! Lots of fun exploding the boxy people. Excellent job!

ijwu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I loved the humor in the game. The music and sounds were great and it was fun to play overall. I really felt like it fit the theme really well. This is how I would have interpreted "Whole game fits on one screen." No panning, no zooming, no changing levels. Good job!

Thermite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12pm

While this may not be the prettiest game, I had a huge smile on my face while I was playing it. Sometimes you just want to listen to some dubstep, be a worm, and eat people. Nice job.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Haha, superfun!

chaosed0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I admit, game creeped me out a bit. The music was very fitting. Biggest complaint was that the sfx when you eat a person was very loud and jarring.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12pm

The music is good, the game too, just missing some kind of winning condition.

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13pm

I loved this. The music really makes it work for me though. The whole thing fits together perfectly

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Not bad. the game plays well and eating stuff is fun. Wish there was some sort of winning condition or end screen showing how much your ending hunger is. Also more stuff to eat!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

I've played something like this before... Pretty fun, but it could do with some progression, like scoring, levels or something. Stencyl should support a system for high scores, last I checked.

Olive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I totally loved this! So funny, so cute, awesome music, great flying worm dance moves, random hilarious characters, so much personality! It all just worked and flowed as a whole. It really did make me "laugh out loud." Great job!

GSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16pm

This game is cute. It's got potential to be quite an addictive game as well.

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

Heh... Played the main menu for like 3 minutes and had a good time :)

After I got to the game... I ate logs, and bunnies and people, people heads, and worms... Then I got small and dieded. It was the best day ever.

Good job!

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:59am

"Sometimes you just want to listen to some dubstep, be a worm, and eat people." -Thermite

Ain't that the truth. I think you should definitely expand on this game post comp. It would be nice seeing it without the constraints of one screen.

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice little game. The music is very catchy and has an "industrial / technological" vibe, I like it. The game is funny to play quite gore (I like how you can eat people's head separately, and can Snowman actually bleed?), although it gets a bit repetitive after a while. Maybe you should add some kind of victory condition? (or a timer ?)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice and simple. I'd like to see an expanded version with more fodder to sate my hunger.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

Great effort! controls are a bit funny though needs some improving there, gameplay is solid though. Overall nice job!

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:20am

I bet this is what the Graboids game from the movie Tremors was like. Loved this one.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I love how the head of people stays after eating their bodies. Cool catchy music!

bazld says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Great game, very playable, and most importantly FUN! Attention to detail (like the heads etc) makes a big difference. Funky music gives it a cool feel.

I'd like the worm to bend a bit, and maybe add some extra dangers underground, and a perhaps some goals/target. I hope you continue updating it.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:31am

Bit creepy, but fun! Music's rad.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Funny game but imho a little too easy... :-)

Well done!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

ncie work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]