Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Santa's Stock Up

by Mossy Frog - Compo Entry

My 2nd Ludum Dare and 1st Compo entry! So this is "Santa's Stock Up" its a super simple catcher game. I played it a bit safe as I only recently began using Flash and wanted to challenge myself by entering solo using Action Script. I had a brilliant time making this game and i hope you like it. Thrash away in the comments!

Rules:

Click the "Start" button to begin and Santa will follow your mouse. Try to catch the presents before they hit the ground. If you drop 3 presents it's Game Over!


Tools used:

coding - Action Script 3
graphics - Photoshop CC / Flash CC


#########
IMPORTANT
#########

This is the first time I have attempted to share code, so I may not be doing it correctly. Also I'm using Fast SWF to host my flash game.

If necessary, here are the links on their own.


Game: (Flash) http://www.fastswf.com/jh9PkVU

Source Code: https://github.com/MossyFrog/Ludum-Dare-31---Source-Code/blob/master/.gitignore

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#345Graphics3.41
#587Humor2.45
#630Audio2.58
#920Mood2.50
#983Overall2.75
#1049Theme3.00
#1147Fun2.15
#1194Innovation1.61
#1631Coolness42%

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

The graphics were great, though it lacked in gameplay

moldfire says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02am

Simple but great game, really enjoyed it.

resty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Simple game. Graphics and audio are good.

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Nice game i liked the background, it looks very nice almost a photo!

sharpie656 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Really nice game, thought a elf had hanged himself from the rafters. I think the Santa looks awesome, he's got a certain style to him. Overall pretty awesome game

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I like it when a game does something unexpected. At first I didn't think much but as it sped up and when I hit 42 presents collected I was pleasantly surprised at the turn it took! :) a good entry, well done.

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09am

A classic game, relatively well polished. Went to the level 42 too =)

runvs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:38am

Very nice game. cool graphics and the speed up-curve is just right.
The only thing to mention for me (to improve) is, that you don't see your score on the gameover screen. As it gets kind of fast at the end of the game, you don't have the time to look at your score and as it is not displayed on the gameover screen i couldn't tell my exact score.
Other than that a great game with great christmas feeling.

rzuf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Hey, nice, christmasy Game and Watch type of game. :D

xhunterko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:32am

Quite simple. Occasionally a present would drop half in and half out of the screen but that's my only bug complaint.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:10am

Pretty fun. Liked how the speed of the boxes went up over time. However, it seems like your ramp-up is exponential, so after some time of a gradual ramp-up, I was slammed with like 10 boxes at one time.

Milktoast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:14am

LMAO!! Difficulty kind of ramps up quickly there at the end. =) The game lulls you into a nice contemplative, zen-like mood... then destroys your world in an instant! That Santa is going to have one heck of a headache after catching all of those gifts with his forehead. Well done. I'd like to see a reindeer fall from the rafters every once in a while. =)

kipelovets says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Not bad. I like how you have a mute button, I think a lot of players use it)

Aevek says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Cool simple game, looked great. My only real complaint is the game becomes literally impossible beyond around 50 presents. Maybe make the present speed changing more of a curve?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]