Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Poo Dee Pie

by Blue Thumbs Gaming - Jam Entry

Dwane P Pipe: "This is the most horribly inappropriate game I've ever played in my life. Disgusting!"

Yes! POO DEE PIE is an icky sticky horrible little Jam game entry into Ludum Dare 31.

CONTROLS:
- Press "R" to start dee horrible game.
- Press "P" to Poo Dee Pie.
- Press "R" to restart from game over.

It's highly recommended to play dee horrible game in fullscreen, for a more intense gaming experience.

This game was built with Chrome, hopefully it works nice in other browsers also.

WOOHOO: Dee horrible game now has a high score leaderboard! If you manage to Poo Dee Pie all dee way to dee top of dee leaderboard, please tweet us a screenshot: @SteffenWittig @Kintinue @ThumbsBlue

WTF: Dee idea for Poo Die Pie stems from some of the developer's real life experiences while working in a Pie factory for 6 months, way back in his university days. And that's about all he's willing to say about it!

In Poo Dee Pie you are Mr. Fartsmith, a factory worker in charge of “pooing dee pies” by pressing dee poo button. Pressing dee button allows a hot, steamy pile of poo to land on the pie! If you forget to poo'ing dee pie or you poo'ing the conveyer belt, you’re fired!... Again...

Poo Dee Pie also features two other main characters: "Dropped Dead Fred", dee bouncy little rodent and gorgeous widdle "Mr. Bogbody" who holds dee world record for "Most Poo Dee Pies ever consumed by a Cat".

Developed for Ludum Dare 31, Poo Dee Pie is an entire game on one screen as per dee theme "Entire Game on One Screen".

TEAM POO DEE PIE IS:

STEFFEN WITTIG: Game Developer of "Depri-Horst", "Explodey BAM!", cartoonist, sound designer, web developer, YouTuber, voice actor. http://steffenwittig.com/, https://twitter.com/SteffenWittig.

For Poo Dee Pie: Art / UI / Sound Design.


BEN PLEDGER: Founder of Blue Thumbs Gaming: Game Designer / Developer. http://bluethumbs.gamerz.co/, https://twitter.com/thumbsblue .

For Poo Dee Pie: Designer / Developer.


KINTINUE: YouTuber, Let’s Player, Gaming Girl. https://www.youtube.com/kintinue, https://twitter.com/kintinue.

For Poo Dee Pie: Blogger / Promoter.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=pSSGcHvj8A4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#154Humor(Jam)3.39
#171Graphics(Jam)3.99
#431Audio(Jam)2.88
#632Mood(Jam)2.87
#648Theme(Jam)3.39
#777Overall(Jam)2.87
#896Fun(Jam)2.44
#928Innovation(Jam)2.21

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice game with excellent graphics & sound. It's really simple, it fits the theme. After a while it isn't really fun anymore, because it's the same task over and over again and it has little change. But that's my opinion, I'm sure there are people who don't agree. :)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Loved you game, it has nice approach on the theme and some fantastic art.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Yeah, I agree. There's still time left so I'm going to patch in a brutal version very soon.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Graphics are very good, however there is little to no gameplay. Which is not so good.

dannyhodge says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:06pm

This is absolutely hilarious, I love it.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Haha, great graphics and audio. I enjoyed the game, but it gets a bit boring after a while :/

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I got fired!!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Good game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Thanks for playing and for the feedback. I've now patched in a more challenging version. ^_^

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Hahaha very fun game 10/10

xerohuang says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Funny!

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Simple but had me smiling and actually trying again and again. Beautiful graphics and fitting music!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

15! Is that good? Love the graphics. Pretty fun and pretty funny :)

Webravenz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I got fired like 20 times xD

igoramendola says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48am

Hahaha it's very funny and well made! It has good graphics and audios.
It will be hard to get the first place, but at least I'm on 2nd place... so far :P

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43am

Actually I need to delete that first place score as I got that with a version that was much easier. Thanks for reminding me!
Ben.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26am

Really simple idea, quite addictive to try and beat your record :P Loving the art!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:27am

Great art! Too bad it doesn't run well in Safari. It slows down quite a bit sometimes so I can't get the timings right.

Fun music also:)

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:30am

Nice graphics, I loved the detail that the guy get naked when he is fired :D

lisac says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34am

ewwwww ;)

Absor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:35am

Nice graphics. Game shouldn't get faster when the cake is close to the poohole.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37am

Nice graphics and sound.

Demy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40am

Sound, graphics, idea... sorry, i find it disturbing.

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:56am

Excellent artwork, The noise when you fail is incredibly irritating. It is what it is, and it is polished, it is fun and it is beautiful. Good job guys!

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17am

It's a very simple game (and the hitbox for the pies is a little cruel) but I love the graphics & the little details you can see. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:38am

simple and entertaining game! visually not pleasing but i think that was designed to be like that. overall neato

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Very funny game!!! Simple but effective! First morning laughs, thank you!!!

AinaSG says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Weird game... Not bad... Just weird... Nice Art C:

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

That was fun. Nice graphic and style

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Amazing Art Style! Quite addicting. Nice Game

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Great graphics, and a shitty humor! It quickly gets tedious, but the graphics makes you wanna stay just a little bit longer.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Yes! Factory work is very tedious and incredibly shitty, you nailed it. :-D
Ben

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Personal graphical style and nice music, but the gameplay itself is a bit repeative.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11pm

it is at least funny :)

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

That was not something I expected to play. Simple, but nice. Should have had a bit more change/pacing to make it more enjoyable, but good job.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Love the art, and SOME sound. The sound when you fail is highly annoying. :/ I unfortunately think it's let down by gameplay. I enjoyed looking at it a lot more than i enjoyed playing it.

InHelli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

–°ool graphics)

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

The Games art is amazing all those little details, really fit the game

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Lol fun and simple :p
Though I couldn't get more then 1 pie. When the lights goes on it laaags so hard I just doesn't poop in time

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Really funny game, nice graphics and sounds.

Interesting take on the dark side of the dee pies industry.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Hilarious. Very nice graphics & music/sounds. Sadly it is not much of a game at all, but its funny too see this at least once xD

Poupi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

The gameover music is pretty annoying, but the global overall is good !

Wakka says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Lustige Idee und grandiose Grafik, hatte ne Menge spass :)

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Great art - I wasn't a big fan of the gameplay, but I like play on words.

Good level of polish :)

charlesque says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Ah ah, very fun theme! Maybe the game should be faster to add more fun to it.Crazy awesome graphics :)

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:30pm

The level design is awesome ! I love that funny game ! Well done :D

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07pm

nice art! but I suck at it :(

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Hahaha, I'm sure PewDiePie would be proud of this game, really strange and disturbing in a good sense! Good job!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I hate you for beating my time. And this music... wan't to kill myself. But really nice game.

CScribes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Nice game :D It's nasty and dirty and hilariously funny!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Awesome game :) love it

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Awesome graphics and really ded simple gameplay. But it just emphasizes the harsh condition factory workers have to work with.
I had to play it in Chromes as Firefox made it lagg like hell.
Also, either add a mute/pause button, or don't embed the game on your voting page, because my head starts to hurt from that siren.

StackAttack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Great graphics and really funny at first. But game gets repetitive very quickly

theomg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43am

Really great art and humor. But did he really needed to get naked after being fired? Don't think that's hygienic in the poocake business.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:23am

New Global High Score is 133 pies!
Do you have what it takes to stand the horribly disgusting monotony of pie factory worker life and beat it?
Ben.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31am

5 Star Graphics, love the art style. Nice innovation, it was funny and it was fun. Good job overall!

gre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Insane

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:22pm

This reminds me of the flash game days. :) Good job.

rainshapes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice simple game! Goes well for the theme! Music could loop a bit better.

Threstle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Silly and fun ! The gameplay is very simple, but it's efficient. I'm in love with the artstyle. And I love the pun. ;)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Really good art! I Included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-qEX6yeW8uQ

redoxkun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:35am

Very good graphics! A bit repetitive but also addictive, making you try to beat your last score.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:09am

Interesting art style, but don't actually like gameplay.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:14am

Awww u don't like monotonously pooing on dee horrible pies?!
:(

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Fantastic art, but the gameplay could use some more interesting twists.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:38am

Great job just don't play before supper ;)

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:12am

Love the graphics!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Graphics is very nice =)

TrentSterling says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Ewww. The fired poop... Good god.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Game could have been a little faster. Awesome graphics!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:14am

I got fired. Was not sad. Worst job ever. Good game, though.

Lovelock says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:53am

Humorous approach to the theme. I like it. :) I also appreciate that occasionally the pie maker loses his clothes when you lose. Just sayin'.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Psst - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTZt-x7a0CQ

Beerman says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Made me laugh because mentally I'm like, twelve :)
Actual gameplay feels a bit thin though, might be better if you were allowed a few misses before getting fired so you can get more of a rhythm going.

banana4life says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Too repetitive

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:06pm

What a horrible game! WääHH! :-)
Cool graphical style and animation.

Well done!

Dec 30, 2014 @ 7:33am

I love all the comments saying the game is too repetitive, too slow, not interesting etc. and then I go and check the running score stats and they're all like 1, 1, 2, 1, 3, 1, 6, 1, 1, 1, 1, 4, 1, 1, 3, 1, 1, 1, 1 HAHAHA

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]