Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Crowdsourced

by tigerbyte - Compo Entry

Crowdsourced!

You are a fight controller in an underground arena. Add mayhem to the fight by adding health packs, steroids, and new fighters to the match. Keep the audience as excited as possible for as long as possible.

Theme:
The theme of the compo, "Entire game on one screen," is supposed to be reflected in crowdsourced by the brown frame around the arena. Yup, that's a TV. You're watching the fight through a TV. I'm a pro artist. (Also, "good" art is something I frequently cut in a 48 hour. I say "good" because even my "good" art isn't that good :) )

Made entirely in 48 hours with Game Make Studio Pro. I don't use any of the drag and drop stuff. The hardest part was trying to figure out a good way to do the AI, since you aren't controlling the fighters directly.

This is the second LD submission. As usual, it's a complicated game that requires more than the 48 hours to fully flesh out. As such, the gameplay here is very basic and was just an experiment for me.

Post-mortem coming soon!

Unfortunately, I could not submit an HTML 5 version this time. I got some bugs when I exported to HTML 5 that I didn't have time to fix. HOWEVER: The windows version is NOT an installer. It's a one click runnable. It's safe :)

NOTE: Avast! users will find that Avast! will attempt to scan my exe when you launch it, and if the scanning process takes longer than a few seconds, the .exe will be blocked and will crash. Just run it again. (I have Avast! and that's what happened to me).

Feel free to post in the comments if you run into bugs or whatever! and tell me what you think!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#252Innovation3.59
#416Theme3.70
#539Humor2.50
#549Fun3.09
#607Overall3.15
#744Audio2.36
#793Mood2.66
#1029Graphics2.32

Comments

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:08am

Unable to edit? Here's the link to the exe. It's also in the source zip.
http://andrewperrin.com/ld48/runonce/Crowdsourced.exe

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

Not the easiest thing to do in 48 hours but I'd totally pay for a finished game like that! :D

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

I like the idea of gameplay a lot. A little bit hard to understand how to buy and use bonuses.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05am

Cool game idea :) I can see this having a post compo life with more development!

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:46pm

What is the excitement based on? Didn't seem to get it very high no matter what. Nice job overall!

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Great game. I enjoyed dropping pills everywhere...BIG DUDES!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Cool new game concept. I like the idea and it is fun to play. The progression is a bit steep to keep the match growing with new fighters, but a good challenge. Art and music could use some work but the core is well thought out. AI seems also reasonable.

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Very original and the game gives good feedback. Sometimes it's a bit hard to see how many fighters there is when they stack.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52am

I wish there was more of a goal, but the fighters were really interesting to watch and trying to keep a good balance took surprising amounts of work. Interesting idea and a very nice implementation :)

BKGH says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

Avast wouldn't let me play.

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18am

@BKGH - So far, Avast! has tried to block every jam/compo entry I've tried to play. Just gotta tell Avast! to can it once in a while, y'know?

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:57am

Totally won me over on innovation; I would love to see this as a real game (polished, of course). The AI was decent, but there were corner cases that made it frustrating (i.e., ignoring health packs, the same person picking up multiple pills (I think?), etc.). I feel like you should have had thousands of fighters rather than 6 --why not make it totally off the charts?

Gins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:35am

Very interesting idea! Would be cool if you'd add more stuff in the future and flesh it out a bit more. This would work great on phones, too.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:46am

Great job man! Would love to see this idea taken further!

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:35am

I find that it is hard to evaluate whether one round of the game was a success or not. I always get lots of stats at the end. The game never tells me what stat I should aim to increase the most (money earned or fight length?)

some round-to-round progression would also be nice.

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:02pm

@DomNomNom I agree wholeheartedly. The stats were kind of just thrown in toward the end. By the time I coded in the AI and the four items that you could buy and add, it was already Sunday afternoon. At that point I had to spend some time tweaking numbers. I threw the stats in as just a sort of landing page after the fight ended.

I guess at this point, I'd say the goal is just to last as long as possible, but in a future iteration I would make sure there was some other goal or some other way to measure. The audience wouldn't realistically want a fight to last too long!

The whole game is kind of an experiment/proof-of-concept.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:13am

Good work ! Game concept is really cool and you did put it well into action for a 48 h jam.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:55am

A fascinating take on the theme. A little too easy, though, once you've gained enough money to buy each team member regularly.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:01am

Cool idea!

gamedevBear says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Game was a little too easy. New fighters are cheap compared to how fast the money rolls in. Only difficulty was figuring out how many were left when they were overlapping.

hbocao says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:19am

Really cool idea! I was kinda lost at the beginning but I got it. Please keep working on it!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Well done on getting the fight AI working. It's kinda like being on the outside of the Hunger Games.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]