Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Labyrinthian

by BlackBulletIV - Compo Entry

You are trapped in a labyrinth filled with monsters, with only the light of your torch to illuminate it. Your goal is to fight your way through and survive.

---

Each level is only the size of the screen. They intersect with each other at some point and will swap when you're not looking.

IF YOU ARE STUCK:

* The crossing over points are "box-like" structures near the edge of the map. There can be multiple points, so choose carefully.
* Look to the wall (away from the rest of the level). Turn around and the levels should have switched.
* If the player gets stuck, try resetting the level with R. If that doesn't work, you may have paused the game. Press P to unpause.
* If you need to, you can skip between levels with - and =, which decrements/increments (respectively) the current level. Bugs can occur with this, but it's generally pretty good.

Notes:
* If you encounter a bug or crash, please try to give details. It'd be a great help.
* The .love require LÖVE 0.9.1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#14Mood4.26
#83Audio3.66
#146Overall3.68
#194Graphics3.73
#283Fun3.39
#362Theme3.75
#421Innovation3.30

Comments

keyle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08am

I confirm your game works on Windows :-)
(Windows 7 here)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

Excellent. I'll test it myself tonight, or whenever I've managed to get some rest.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

Doesn't work on MacOSX :(((
http://imgur.com/V4xX2DO Got this

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40am

Damn. I'll look into it shortly. If anyone else is getting errors, let me know.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40am

Loved how much atmosphere you got out of such a simple premise. Nice!

erik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46am

I got the same error as raincole under OS X 10.9.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52am

erik, raincole: Uploading the fix as I type. Try now.

benmcnelly: Thanks. Lighting and sound are incredibly powerful tools.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:21am

Some things seemed to require a few too many shots.

And then it froze.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22am

had a glitch after "maybe your destiny is to run in circles" or something like that. Anyways. thought it was really cool.

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:24am

Your game is great! Reminds me a lot of Teleglitch. It amazes me how much atmosphere you got into such a simple game. I got really tense while playing it and got startled a few times when a monster came around a corner and killed me. I love it. :D

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:31am

Great game and atmosphere.
Love the fact that the game is continous and you restart at the current challenge.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:35am

I know people who've already commented won't read this, but if you encounter a glitch/crash please try to give details. It'd really help me determine if I can fix it.

Anyway, thanks a bunch for the feedback guys.

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37am

Can't believe this was done in 48hours.
Very scary and moody, nice dark pixel art.
Simple but atmospheric musc.
Well done!

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:40pm

You were right! I like it! By looking at the screenshots, I didn't think I would like it as much as I did! It's really great, and the audio is stellar! The gun has the perfect amount of reverb! And I can confirm it works on OS X for me :)

I did have one issue; I got reverted back to the beginning of the game after choosing to go "Left". But now that I think about it, that might have been my destiny all along :)

vrld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Wow, creepy game. Very well executed. The mechanic fits the theme nicely.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Loved the supense! Gun sound real, but a bit load. 4 for sound, 5 for everything else:)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:04pm

jepster: Yes, that's a feature. Spoilers: going right would've given you the "ending", which is what the narrator didn't want. Which one you choose depends on how much trust the player has for the narrator.

vekjeft: You're right. I was going for realism (as real guns are deafening), but it did end up a tad too loud.

Thanks for the feedback guys.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24am

excellent!

Conk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

The light was a bit awkward to start with, but I got use to having to move mouse as I move around. The combat was real cool, very tense, especially when those rats were coming for you. I'd say I missed quite a bit of dialogue as it seemed to come when something attacked me, other than that, very strong game, had a lot of fun playing it. Mood was good too, nice audio and effects.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55am

It's very atmospheric, sets very dark mood. Nice work

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Minimalistic and very effective, good atmosphere.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

i love the use of lighting in this entry, Was really unsure with what i was actually doing, but i enjoyed figuring it out :D Really enjoyed it.

Best atmosphere yet!

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Super! Love2D shadows are pretty good! Thanks for game!

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25pm

This was really compelling. I so enjoyed playing. It did ride the line between disorienting and frustrating, and I think tipped over into frustrating a few times (especially finding exits)--but I think the amount of this shows it was still worth the frustration.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:28am

I like it! The brownish monster who roars and comes at you made me jump in my seat. Green blobs are not to mess with. Was a bit to hard for me though. Spent a lot of time just being lost not finding the exit (title tells me this is on purpose) and got killed several times by the same monsters.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:23am

Thanks for the feedback guys. Sounds like I made the game a bit too hard *once again*. Remember, if you can't get through a level, press = to skip to the next (this may mess with the sequence of things a bit, but it should work 9/10 times).

I did intend a little confusion, though not as much as it sounds like some people are having finding the exits. Hard to judge how hard it'll be when you've built the levels.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:49am

Oh man, this game is pretty cool. Really tense atmosphere, love the lighting effects and the field of view blocking. Reminds me of Teleglitch if you ever played that. The way you use darkness to hide the level transitions is a stroke of genius, it really makes it feel like you're lost and the walls are moving around you. Which, I guess they literally are. The monsters maybe kill you a little TOO quickly though. Good job anyway.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:57am

I'm not sure if this is a bug or not but my torch doesn't do anything, it makes a sound but doesn't turn on.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:05am

I f*cking love this game. . . im saving this game on my desktop just so i can beat it later. Awesome Work. . . Well done :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:20am

p1x3lruckus: Is this on level one? I know you probably won't see this, but if anyone else experiences the same thing, could I get more of a description of what you were doing/trying around the time it wouldn't turn on?

Glad to hear you guys are enjoying the game.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:48am

I had just started up the OS X version, text appears on screen to press f to toggle the torch, then pressing f plays a sound but no light is generated. I can faintly make out the character on the screen and the rest of controls seems to work fine, but no torch.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:14am

My recommendations would be:
* First, try to move your mouse around and moving the character if you haven't already.
* Second, switch the level forward with = and then back again with - (or just keep it at level 2).

If those combined with starting the game again, then I have no idea what's going on. I haven't been able to reproduce the bug myself.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:47am

Hmm, no none of those worked. I'm not familiar with the love engine but does it use openGL? Maybe a shader that makes the torch work is incompatible with my graphics card or something strange like that. Either way it seems most people can play it so I wouldn't worry about it.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:21am

A shame we couldn't get it to work. The game uses two OpenGL shaders, one of which does part of the lighting. LÖVE and the game itself should check for incompatibilities, but it's possible your graphics card reported its compatibility wrong or something. I dunno; it's weird.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:54am

Great game!

Gwilym says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I really jumped when I saw those enemies run at me. I do agree with some of the other commenters that some of them took too many bullets to kill, but I really enjoyed playing it :D.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:12am

Great use of the theme and overall a great game!

slarrimer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:16am

Nice lighting effect for the flashlight!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:31am

This game is so excited and intense! Nice graphics and audio! The use of visibility algorithm with flashlight also create a very good scary atmosphere for players. I like your idea of changing level when player is not looking. The only thing I concern is maybe the difficulty is a little high for new players.

Our game "Flashlight" is also about using flashlight, welcome to have a look!

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:37am

This reminds me of a Minecraft map called The Code :D
If there was a fullscreen mode, it will be totally awesome!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Very cool, moody game! I love that there's no health indication or any other hud, and the sound design is great. I agree with Slashee the Cow on that some things require too many shots - that broke the atmosphere for me, because there were a couple of levels where a monster would start right next to me and I'd only sometimes manage to kill it even though I was spamming the fire button in their direction. For me it would have felt much better to more or faster monsters that would require fewer hits, because most atmospheric thing for me is when you just manage to kill when it's in the air, jumping towards you for the kill, and you're left there just panting! It almost happened a couple of times, but because of their health it felt a bit random when it did. The sound of the footsteps of the big monsters is super cool. And the narration totally works in the style. Very nice! Thanks for this game!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:28am

I enjoyed the lighting effect and that combined with the audio really helped set the mood. The game was quite hard to play initially but after a bit you get the hang of it. Solid entry.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:32am

The atmosphere and music in this game was very effective. The droning, plodding and digital/scratchy sounds definitely lent to the game's overall creepiness. The way I had to bend the light around corners and move in a certain way to ensure I had a good view of whatever was in the next room was fun and intuitive, and I found myself being very careful going into new areas.

As others have said, the difficulty curve is quite steep and the monsters start off quite hard. 7 shots to kill one of the larger monsters right off the bat, as it runs towards you, is quite intimidating for underexposed players who can't quite grasp how everything functions yet.

The other difficulty I had was figuring out exactly what corner of the screen I had to shove myself against to get the level to change. As I suggested in Twitch chat, the best, simplest way to remedy that sort of confusion is to give a simple, indicative sign -- such as a caution stripe on the floor. A signal to tell the player that they have not only reached the end of the level, but now can turn around and go back the other way.

Warboys says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:08am

Great lighting, very cool effect. So disorienting which I suppose is what you were going for. Top notch mood!

Gameplay wise I really wanted to like this, it reminds me of Darkwood which looks super cool, but I was just dying to everything so easily. By the time you see what's hitting you, it's already too late... and I found myself constantly shooting my gun so that the muzzle flash would light the area around me! That as a mechanic would be really cool, like an expendable flash you can use if you really need to see all around you... but when available at all times it becomes abuseable (although I still died too much!)

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:40pm

The mood and audio is very well done. I liked the screen change gimmick though it took me a while to figure it out. Nice game!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]