Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dauntless

by Luthwyhn - Compo Entry

Dauntless is intended to be a Rogue-like game which also draws inspiration from Gauntlet. You begin the game in a room with a special door. What's so special about it, you may ask? It's the only door that will let you out of this dungeon maze! It's also the only door that has been locked! The key is hidden somewhere in the dungeon - find it, bring it back to the door, and escape! (For this version I've made the Key's location known from the start of the game to help make up for the added difficulty of no Armor/Use Items)

Protip: You start with a weapon in your inventory. Equip it with the Use key! (C)

Key Features That Work:
-Dynamic map generation
-Snazzy HUD
-Player Character who can do things! YEAH!
-Functional inventory system
-Dynamically generated Weapons! KYAA~!
-Enemy Monsters who can kill you and be killed by you!
-A working victory condition!

Key Features That Don't Work Yet:
-Destructible Monster Spawners
-Armor! Usable Items!
-Level-Up system
-Traps!
-Variable movement speeds
-Running attacks
-A scrolling message area to tell you what's going on!
-...and More?!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#592Theme3.58
#621Fun3.03
#626Humor2.39
#711Overall3.05
#887Graphics2.58
#961Innovation2.49
#993Mood2.36

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Not bad~ I have a soft spot for procedurally generated dungeon crawlers like these. Wish I knew how to do something like that.

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I really like the concept of a pure text-based game. The interaction with enemies were a little confusing though? Do I automatically attack enemies with the selected weapon? Or did me spamming the "inv use"-key have an effect? If so, why do i swap weapon and attack with the same key?

Overall though, really great contribution :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice retro feeling and cool with the procedural generation. A tad confusing though, took some time before I figured out what was happening.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

This game is awesome, really love the use of the theme

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31am

Very pretty. Good color choices and nice, soft font rendering. The look reminds me of Brogue which is one of the best looking ascii roguelikes I've seen. I like how you've done a radius of light around the player here.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

Nice job! I like the Cave Story-esque weapon scheme :) and simple controls for a Roguelike!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29am

I enjoyed it. Nice controls, also I love the randomly generated stuff.
That scrolling message thing would be really useful.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03pm

A solid game! The ludum gloves are pretty awesome haha. Controls feel a bit clunky but I'm not a practiced ascii-roguelike player. I like how you implemented the inventory, and the line of sight stuff makes moving around the map look smooth. It's kinda unclear how strong the enemies actually are, and running away is also pretty much impossible xd

Groydis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39am

Not the hugest fan of this genre, But this is a sold game. Good Work.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Nice old-school feel :) Great game

becker929 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:01am

I do like these text-based games. However, I unfortunately wasn't able to figure out how to attack enemies :[

I tried just running into them over and over but I died.

Good job anyway tho ;D

Hempuli says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:35am

Pretty bare-bones at the moment, but works really well! I wish I could see some information on the enemies. Found a staff of the master-something (the name went off the screen) which decimated every enemy. Keep working on this :)

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:26am

Good game, enjoyed it, I like old school and this is real old school! :-}

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:42am

Hmm... needs more feedback for sure. At first I was very unsure about how to attack enemies, even though I am familiar with the genre. The inventory system, with equipping, swapping with floor, and holding items in inv is pretty confusing too. Why not have items just jump into your inventory slot, and give players the ability to put them down. Also, a message like "wow, a katana!? Baller!", and "you _*_*DEVASTATE*_*_ the xenomorph for 12 pts of damage" would be nice.

Nice rogue-like implementation though! I mean, with a base like this you could totally go any direction. Have you played any of the 7 day rogue-likes? Possessed, in particular, is a great one. Also Pyramid from, like, LD 26 is amazing.

Hoothoot says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Really enjoyed it! Well done!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:35pm

I like simplified roguelikes and this one is well implemented. I'd echo the requests above for more feedback on the players actions. Good stuff.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Ascii rules !

srakowski says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:10am

Very nice, classic rogue like. I will probably draw some inspiration as I flesh out my own :). What technique did you use for generating the dungeons?

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]