Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cold Days Ahead

by KrisDevelopment - Compo Entry

The cold days on Xenone have came. Now everything is about surviving and putting your will to the test

Game made by Hristo Mihailov Ivanov (Kris Development)
for Ludum Dare 31 (compo) with the theme "Entire game on one screen"
Engine: Unity3D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#108Mood3.57
#194Audio3.34
#260Graphics3.57
#372Theme3.74
#587Overall3.17
#723Fun2.91
#898Innovation2.60

Comments

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49am

Uniquely beautiful and enveloping world! The game play is pretty simplistic decision based stuff.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

Very good art
Good music
Fits the theme

Does not have much in the way of innovation. Very bland, to be honest. You need to spend at least two actions every day, +fire and +wall, and then the remainder on hunting. Not much value in replaying, as there isn't anything you can do to help yourself survive, for all intents and purposes.

pleepleep23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

I liked the music and the choices you could make. I think the random people that came to your door was also a cool idea.

Jqmfg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

Love the music and the graphics are also great. It was a fairly simple game, but it fit the theme. I would have like to see more meaning behind the choice of helping people because it was never that dangerous to help him out.

Sim00n says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:25am

I see what you were trying to do. I suppose the idea was inspired at least a little bit by "This War of Mine"? Cool concept but I wish you've had more time to work on the interface and add a little variation to the game. But obviously it's only 48 hours. Great work!

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:15am

Very beautiful artistic style and the music accompanies it very well!
It did get a little bet repetitive after a while though...

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Mate. I have good answer for you. Good music! Good theme,good game.. you can check my project too x)

Namide says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Good mood but the gameplay is a bit repetitive.

grid96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Beautiful game with a very well fitting music, but get's kinda repetitve after the first minutes. More special events at night and more chances of decission would have been nice.

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Great art, sound, and mood! I like this sort of game, though this one is a bit too simplistic to hold my attention for long.

Putting the "Ok" button overtop the "Sleep" button is pretty annoying. I clicked sleep prematurely by accident a few times because of this. I also suggest making the pointer change when hovering over a button.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I like it! Well done! I love graphics!! ^^

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10am

Great mood and the music really goes with it. A good, simple survival game!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:22am

very nice graphics

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:10pm

This is really similar to another entry I have played called "the room" - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=8002 But both are different and good fun. Well done :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Reminded me of "a dark room"
nicely done!
I died at the last day T.T

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Great concept! Very unusual game!

Renaldo says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:40am

A simple concept but with a very compelling ambience. The art style matches the feeling of solitude.
The gameplay gets a bit repetitive by the end, but the tension companions you. Well done!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Wow, loved the general atmosphere and overral concept. Well done!

Zi says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:26am

Lovely game. Simple, but I was really absorbed all the way to the end. Well done! =)

jojocanard says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Nicely done. Too bad that there are not many real tactical choices.

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I like sound and ambience. This game mechanic is very similar to Gods Will Be Watching. Probably you was inspired by that game? That game also has very similar situation, when you should keep fire burning, gather food with hunt, and mainain some ammo to protect yourself from wild nature, and plus you should keep team spirit high, repair radio in time and produce some medicines to heal teammates from virus.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]