Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Arena of Cube

by maxyan - Compo Entry

Minimalistic top-down shooter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#16Fun4.06
#58Audio3.79
#73Overall3.82
#294Mood3.25
#347Humor2.82
#350Theme3.76
#504Graphics3.16
#533Innovation3.16

Comments

Snuux says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Very minimalistic! It's cool!

aureliusnoble says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Really cool game, I like all the various enemy types a lot. My only complaint is you can just get trapped in a corner which means you just instantly lose all your lives because you continuously get impaled on spikes.

misto423 says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I like the minimalistic style. The music also really stood out. Really nice work!

Blockers says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:24pm

this is really cool. i really like how the enemies are introduced gradually along with new weapons/items. the only thing i've ran into that was a bit silly was sometimes so many pinks/oranges would spawn that they would teamkill eachother.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I quite liked that the bullets ricocheted off enemies.
I would've preferred if the bullets were a little bigger.
Not a huge fan of the acceleration, but it seemed to work in context.
I liked the music.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:34pm

There is no data folder in Linux version archive.

maxyan says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Thanks everybody!
Linux version fixed, also added highscore submit feature.

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:58pm

A neat innovation to the top down shooter. Love the way the difficulty curve is set up too.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice. Good use of minimalistic graphics but great game play. I get board with most bullet-hell top down shooters, but this one kept me entertained.

jangler says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:07pm

looks like the linux version is missing fonts? the UI at the end was blank.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Love this. Great art style, great music, great gameplay.

TheZiggy says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Incredible amount of fun. I literally sat down and played this for an hour not realizing how much time had passed!

ming_tea says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Great music!

MMOOxy says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Amazing game! But after a while, there doesn't seem to spawn more health pickups.

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Good music, good gameplay, good tutorial. Awesome!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Fun, fast, efficient. I like it!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Clean look and good difficulty curve. Purple blocks are a nice feature as they can help you rack up combos or just kill you :P

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:11pm

love the style!!!

lisac says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Very nice!

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:41pm

nice game ! I like the description in the game and how the difficulty is increasing, overall pretty good experience

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Nice simple and fun

MrSun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:37am

A new twist on a familiar theme, great game!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:39am

Very polished! Simple concept but very well done! I think I would have liked the snippy narrator to offer advice between rounds.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46am

Woo! 4th overall! Not bad...
The game was quite fun, and very addictive. The graphics worked really well, and everything was just really well put together.
One issue I did have is that it didn't have auto unfocus pausing, so when I dropped my mouse on the floor at one point, I quickly swapped tabs, thinking it would pause it. I lost all but one life.

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41am

Overall very good, I just struggle with the handling or movement of the player a bit. Nice concept.

tedling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11am

I love it. Great job. Easy to learn and hard to master indeed.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19am

i like the concept of instead of being a normal shooter you have to push them into the walls, it's pretty fun!. Hitboxes seemed pretty awkward sometimes though, nad being an iso game it was pretty disorienting for the controls to not be aligned with the thing i was "piloting" or the table.

lekochen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:21am

Fun, just fun. I think it would be nice if the player can get the 3rd gun earlier.

ken says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26am

There is a lot of detail and care in this game! This game is really great for within 48 hours. Only comment is that it sometimes felt like some of my bullets would just pass right through the enemies. Other than that it was really fun (and super crazy at the end with the arena just filled with enemies and bullets)

Cruion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13am

Good enjoyable game. Played an earlier build you posted before the compo finished and that was enjoyable however this build when I am playing it has it so I will once I start moving I will repeatedly bounce into the walls.
Based on the previous build this is a very fun little game that gave me quite a few minutes of enjoyment.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great work here. The thing that makes it special are the ricochets! It stops you blindly firing at the enemies and also the way they "turn to face" helps develop that gameplay. Really solid game idea with great music! Well done

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26am

It got a bit repetitive after a while. I'm not sure if there were any more upgrades after the spray gun, but it felt like at a certain point all of the waves were the same. The controls were good, the graphics, while simple, were effective. There were a couple that I had a hard time telling apart, but it mostly didn't matter because they behaved the same. Well polished, solid entry, just a bit short.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36am

Really nice game! Love shoot em ups! It has leaderboards!!!

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

What a great game to easily and quickly get into, and get addicted to! I played for a lot longer than I realised.

gmaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:31am

funny little game! good work!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Interesting, it's basically one simple mechanic done very well, and I like that. Sounds are good, the game plays well, good job altogether.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Great game!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:46am

WOW! I'm impressed -- I didn't expected so much fun! Everything is really polished! Especially the music (very catchy!). Game mechanisms are implemented perfectly as well -- maybe the hitboxes could be bit more better but it's only small complain. Graphics side is simple but pleasant to look (also reminds me Voxatron a little). Tutorial, progressing difficulty and learning curve are simply perfect. Very good job! I'm moving this to my personal "Outstanding" folder.

Insality says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:22am

wow, amazing and polished gameplay ;] i got a lot of fun while playing, nice job!

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Please win! The funniest game on Ludum Dare. Got 10 combo :D. Check my game too: President's bodyguard simulator.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Yeah, awesome game) Like the idea with those pushing edges
I'd like to see this game on my console as a mini arcade to kill some time)

iShadow says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Minimalistic, but exceptionally well done. Most LD games don't have any tutorial or even help screen and some lack even difficulty curve. This one is really easy to pickup and play, and gets harder every wave. MIDI soundtrack is something unexpected, but nice:)
Good Job!

hbocao says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Awesome job, man!

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I like the physics aspect - makes a nice change from simply shooting things! Good work.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:22am

Great game!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:45pm

"Failed to download data file" for Windows 7 x64, Chrome 39

maxyan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:07am

Pestel Crew, try again please. Sometimes it just happens.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:29am

Very nice! Incredible what can be done with simple cubes, i really liked the game, the music and the pacing. Not very challenging though, could become harder earlier. Good job!

OFF says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:07am

Simple and powerful. The different color with new feature are nice, and the scoreboard are really great.
I have only critic on the hitbox of the shoot who seems fuzzy but it's maybe due to the orthogonal camera.
But eeven with that it's pretty addictive.
The difficulty level is just perfect, well made, and well tweaking.

MaesK says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:11am

Nice work, simple but effective game. Music is nice, but its sound effects seem quite basic midi, or at least I must have heard that piano everywhere :D

calavera says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:04am

loved the music and thought the gameplay was very balanced and fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]