Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

RustPunk

by AncientAvocado - Jam Entry

A small space adventure, involving text-based realtime combat, fun dialog and warping in space.

Joonas: Code, lead design, writing and console "graphics"
Mirva: Character and gui frame art, character design
Wili: Music, design, writing and task organisation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Graphics(Jam)4.38
#65Mood(Jam)3.85
#76Fun(Jam)3.78
#106Innovation(Jam)3.78
#122Overall(Jam)3.75
#218Humor(Jam)3.20
#278Audio(Jam)3.26
#617Theme(Jam)3.42
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

tielbyrd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:20am

Would it be possible to upload a .zip of this? I'd like to play it, but downloading each file individually and organizing it into the same folder is a lot of unnecessary effort.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21am

wow cool graphics!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25am

@tielbyrd Will do, it may take a few minutes.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33am

@tielbyrd Done! Thanks for the suggestion.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31am

Took a bit to figure out combat. I'm not sure how to get back to the battle from the help screen.

That said, I loved the slo-mo combat. It gave more of the feel of a captain issuing commands to a capital ship. Great work!

One suggestion would be for shorter commands for the weapons. Just their # or W1 W2 W3.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

Removed a command that made the player instantly win the game (command was for debugging purposes). Chanced for all future download.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

The command line interface is really interesting. Nice game!

StackAttack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57am

I love where this is going. The conversation parts of mass effect are their best parts, and FTL is meaningless without their event scenes. I LOVE text parsers, and i like when i see people do innovative things with them. In terms of the core idea and aesthetic, you guys really hit my sweet spot.

That said, this game doesn't feel like a really complete game, even in the context of the jam. The depth of the conversations is too limited, the battles are maybe more frustrating than you intend. The scope of what these mechanics ask for is way more than what you guys made. It also crashes during the credits :(

I would be reeeally interested in this game if you guys fleshed this out into a full thing! I'll send one of you an email, please keep working on this, and keep me updated!

tielbyrd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07am

Ah! Now I can play it. Very simple so far(you can beat the game in practically three warps), but it has a lot of potential. The text-based combat is really interesting and I don't think I've ever seen something like that before! I'm excited to see this possibly turned in a full game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:34am

@StackAttack Sadly the mechanics took way too much time, so the dialog part was kind of rushed :( Also our artist didn't manage to make more portraits in the short timeframe, so that also limited the amount of events we could do.
The crash during the credits is an inside joke. Look at the source code (by loading the .love and changing it's name to .zip) and you can notice, that it doesn't actually continue from there :)
We deffinitely will continue developing this project. We already have a lot of really cool ideas. Thanks for your feedback :D

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Really fun! Thanks!

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Nice graphics and cool game!

zakchaos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:10am

really cool premise, had alot of fun! great job

someone says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:39am

Like this game. Interesting concept and great artwork.
I failed miserably in combat though, takes me to long to figure out what command I need, and typing it correctly.
Some invalid command feedback would be good, I often found I make a typo and end up waiting for ages for something to happen. Not so good in a battle.
It also seemed inconsistant that dialogue uses the mouse whereas everything else uses a text parser. I think it would be better if it was all text input.
Also there doesn't seem to be any way to get back to a battle or dialog if you open the help screen.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:46am

@someone The help screen problem is a known bug. And you're right, the dialog choices, too, could be accessed through the text console. Once we start continuing the project (I'll get back to coding *today*) we'll be redisigning pretty much the whole dialog system (right now the amount of choices is too limited, etc.), and I'll be adding a lot more combat debth. Of course, the jam version stays as-is, although since the help screen bug is a pretty major one I might patch that to the Jam version as well. We are also planning on starting a blog for the game and making weekly updates (they would be mostly design and progress post from me and maybe Wili, but sometimes art related stuff from Mirva). We are super exited for all the potential that this has, and I already have a ton of really neat ideas (and so does Wili and Mirva), so stay tuned!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Interesting atrtistic style :)

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Wonderful idea.
Beginning was a bit slow due to the need of understanding you need to warp drive to an interesting location. Battle system with typing commands was hilarious. Had much fun with that.
Game Over Screen did not lead back to menu or new game. Had to restart the game.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Cool game. Gameplay, as dialogs and battle mechanics, are a bit shallow, but the core idea is great. With some more time you could really make this into an amazing game. I am not so sure about how well it fits the theme however. Every part of the game is only on one screen, but to me it seems like there are several screens (dialogs, map, battle) in total.
But apart from that you really should continue your work on this. It might get interesting.

NPException says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Marvelous. I löve it :D

Night says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Have a problem on Ubuntu 14.10

conf.lua:10: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
Error: image.lua:48: bad argument #6 to 'setPixel' (number expected, got nil)
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'setPixel'
image.lua:48: in function 'imageFromTable'
battle.lua:33: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
init.lua:16: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
main.lua:10: in function 'load'
[string "boot.lua"]:378: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:373>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Cool graphics and nice game.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Really freaking great game. I'd love to see this turned into either an epic story or a rouge like adventure. I like how the combat and whole game is played. I wish I could just use l and r to turn and one letter combinations to do combat but overall the game is really great.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:35pm

@Night So you had the LÖVE engine installed and you ran the .LOVE version of our game? Your error indicates that you're running an older version of LÖVE. Install the newest version (0.9.1) and it'll work just fine :)

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Very cool. I dig it. The narrative is intriguing, I want to play/see more. Good job!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:59am

Probably late in the game to make this request, but I'd love to see a Mac or Web build of this so I can play it. Would really love to play this. It looks similar to our entry, Bionic Bliss!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:52am

Text-based combat is really an interesting and innovative idea. I hope you elaborate on this ;D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]