Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tenebris

by SilentNight - Jam Entry

Two adventurers venture into an ancient tomb in a search for treasure. With nothing but their lamplight guiding them they enter in. But not all is as it seems. The lights of former adventurers guide them but the tomb reconfigures itself over and over. Can you escape alive?

There are 15 "levels" in total and 2 endings.

Controls:
Arrow Keys for Movement
X - Cutscene Advancement and Searching/Opening Doors
Z/Up Arrow - Jump
R - Resets Current Level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#72Overall(Jam)3.89
#87Mood(Jam)3.78
#213Fun(Jam)3.44
#214Graphics(Jam)3.86
#300Audio(Jam)3.21
#484Innovation(Jam)3.06
#617Theme(Jam)3.42
#634Humor(Jam)2.33

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

Great job! This is a solid Spelunky-ish platformer. Your controls and level design were especially nice.

eerongal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17am

Neat little game. I love the graphics! Good work!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

Very cool idea, well executed

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

cool

Anachron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

Nice implementation of the theme! And I like how the light gets dimmer over time and you need to find torches to keep it bright.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00am

Nice atmosphere and graphics!

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

Hardly anything new, but still a great set of mechanics, and very well done, especially for an LD game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

Very well done! I liked the way I was taught to play.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06am

Reminds me of Pitfall II (which isn't a bad thing). The fading light is a great touch.

srakowski says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

Keeping the light going and guiding you through the level that way was a good touch. I eventually hit a place where I had a hard time jumping over some spikes. Until I got to that point I was eager to see what was ahead! Well done! :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:55am

Love the lighting ! Great job!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18am

Good level design and a great atmosphere. The lighting mechanic made you move at a certain pace which keeps you on enough of an edge to keep interested. There were a few bad levels, particularly levels with pots that can get stuck in corners but otherwise great game.

-AlucardX60

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:19am

Really liked the puzzles. Good job!

LukuluK says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

Cool game, I loved the music because in reminds me Heretic & Co :)
The gameplay is cool but really frustrating when the crocks get stuck in the wall ! You should add a simple feature : when X is pressed, if you are in front of a crock, it will follow your move, so you can push it and pull it.
I was dead so many time that I didn't see the end.
However, I liked the ideas of Level Design, and there is a good atmosphere too ! It's a long game, well done for the time we had !
Concerning the Theme, it does not really follow it, since there is multiple "screens" in the same level.

XTremEive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:28am

This game is kind of deep... And it's surprising. And it's fun. Made me think a little, but I may be reading too much into it. Great work! Great idea! Great analogy!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:03am

Great atmosphere, Love the level design, Controls are great, although i wish you had included WASD movement i usually dislike using the arrow keys, but i enjoyed it in this game. I died alot!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:06am

This was very enjoyable! :) I really liked the art, the mechanics of the switching rooms and keeping my lantern lit as I traveled through the levels. The platforming was fairly comfortable, and it had some of the better-feeling controls I've experienced so far.

Wertle says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Once I figured out what was going on with the light, I really enjoyed the tension it created trying to get to the next spot, but still having to be fearful of walking into a trap. I wish the light thing was a little more integrated mechanics-wise with what was going on in the rest of the game, but I definitely think it achieved that creepy-dangerous tomb feeling you were going for. Sometimes I would get a key and not realize it since it picks up on collision. it would be nice to show the key for a moment before it goes into your inventory if possible. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]