Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Trivial Travails

by Budaniel - Jam Entry

Guide Icy around the board, answering trivia questions to collect color points and unlock the gates to victory. Be quick, though, as the Yeti likes to eat slow snowmen!

The trivia is accurate to the best of our knowledge. The questions are taken from a large pool, so they can repeat at times due to the completely random nature of the selection process.

> Click on the die to roll. If you answer a question incorrectly, click the die for another question.
> The inner ring has to be traversed one space at a time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#460Humor(Jam)2.65
#574Audio(Jam)2.47
#583Theme(Jam)3.47
#628Fun(Jam)2.89
#699Innovation(Jam)2.74
#700Mood(Jam)2.76
#746Graphics(Jam)2.73
#746Overall(Jam)2.92

Comments

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Questions repeat quite often =/

Looks like someone was prepared for another theme! ;)

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

What do you mean, an african or european swallow?

khahem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

Very boardgamish, which is cool :)

However, the imperial units in the answers made it really hard to play, even when knowing the answer.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18am

More questions required!

Budaniel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

The questions are randomly selected, so even with 2x the questions they would still repeat at times.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Not bad. The music was a bit grating, though. :)

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Good: Like the graphics and the idea is not bad. Cool voice sound effects. Ok Theme usage.

Bad: I would like to see this game in a bigger screen, is there a reason to such small one? Also questions are repeating too much. Finally, music is really annoying!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Favourite question was about the most common metal on Earth. I just could not not click on "Death Metal" :D

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I'd love to see more questions, but otherwise great job!

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:23am

Thanks for making a game that made me feel ignorant, lol.

Dew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:02pm

The randomness of the questions could be improved, also some answers are too obvois but nice fit to the theme

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Okay so first, I DON'T KNOW THESE ANSWERS THEY ARE WAY TO RANDOM!
Second, I'm beginning to learn these, since they are repeating themselves.
Third, Ahhh a yeti!!
Fourth, how is it moving so fast!
Fifth, yay I got keys.
Sixth, NOO I PASSED A GATE, I GOTTA LAND ON THIS ON, AND THE YETI'S COMING, GIMME A 3!!!
Seventh, yay, a 3, and up I go.
Eight, viral breakout, bird flu, noooo, he's right behind me!
Ninth, viral breakout, ebola? Nooo he's one block away! :'(
Tenth, Ebola, yeah! Ooooo he passed strait, phew.
Eleventh, what I can only move once, well, better than nothing.
Twelfth, what, okay great answers, and.....
Thirteenth, I win! YAY

At the end, I only had 5 as my total score, but that game took me too long so I'm not retrying. Love the style o it as well, and the looping twinkly music when I win! :D

I went under the red gate though. :3

Easy five overall!

guldlock says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:34pm

hehe this was quite fun, the sound made everything :D

BretHudson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I was pretty good at guessing the first round, then after that I started to have to look things up. Interesting game, though it's a bit to easy to unlock all the keys after just two runs around the board. And is the snowman saying "Cool shit"?

maddogawl says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Love that you included snowmen, very cool game!

Jaenis says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:42am

Nice to have a trivia game!
However those imperal units gave quite problems... (in a larger game) Would be nice to have an option to choose between that and metric

Wakka says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:59am

well done, however you could have ensured that the questions don't repeat

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:24am

This is the first trivia game I've seen on here, and it was done decently well. The questions did seem to repeat pretty frequently, and often the incorrect answers were all obviously incorrect (though I do want to try making caramel by shooting sugar with a gun now). That said, it had enough going on with the movement to keep it interesting, and the yeti made me feel rushed and added a good amount of tension to the game. Not bad.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:36am

Nice game.

Budaniel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:15am

Thanks for all of the input! We really appreciate it.

becker929 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:22am

(Weird, I could have sworn I'd already rated...)

Anyway, pretty good job :)

I think the music could have used more work, and like some others are saying the questions did get repetitive. I also didn't know how to win. I did like that the questions were a bit challenging but not impossible. And I liked that they were sciencey :)

lapskaus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Well balanced, been trying to beat it a couple of times now but just not making it.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I really liked the game. It could be better for more questions.. Great job guys..

hoqjed says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:04am

Awesome I won hehe. The trivia questions tend to repeat quite often (though I know it's because of the random nature). Excluding cards as they are picked up from the random question list would have been a good move so you don't get the same questions unless you go through all of them first.

I found the gate unlocking to be confusing... as I'm still not entirely sure why they all seemed to unlock in one turn... and I wasn't quite sure how many of each color was needed for each gate.

I escaped the yeti just in time, he would have eaten me if I had taken one more turn. I thought it was odd he had such a crazy amount of moves each turn. Maybe he was "rolling dice" too, but he was totally cheating, home field advantage for him.

I found the music was a bit intrusive, especially for a thinking question game. The frequent high chimes in the tune are just bound to eventually wear down on players over time. Good call on the sound button, though I tend to like having audio personally, even if it's distracting me hehe.

I did like the idea of rolling dice and treating it like a board game though. It felt a little more "classic" than some of the other entries I've seen doing similar stuff, in a way that invokes some nostalgia for me. It feels like one of the games that would have been on my family's computer from the early 90's. Like SkiFree, maybe it's the music or the board game aspect... or the snowman theme that creates that nostalgia.

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:41am

While it was entertaining to answer random trivia questions, there were some issues. Some of the questions repeated themselves often, which wasn't a huge issue, but when you are trying to get a certain colour it does get a bit frustrating.

My one other gripe is the main theme. It gets a bit annoying after a while, and I believe what would have saved it is a more consistent melody that stuck to one key progression.

Overall it was rather fun, however some of the previously stated issues made it a harder to enjoy. Good work.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:45pm

First, that was a very great idea to make a board game! But next time you really should to make a local multiplayer (turn by turn is very easy). Congrats !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]