Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Last Ark

by Nuclear Napalm - Compo Entry

Roguelike survival about artificial life in deep space after the end of the Earth.

:::HOW TO PLAY:::

This is a point & click game.
You manage oxygen consumption, energy, health and resources. Your goal is to find a planet suitable for living. When you have landed at the planet - the game is over. So choose wisely. Check planets info to figure out if it's good or not. The far you travel, the higher chance to find an appropriate planet.

Short explanation for planet info:
R - chance to find resources
O - chance to find oxygen
S - chance to survive on this planet

The game has 5 different endings.

:::FOLLOW ME:::

http://nuclearnapalm.com/
https://twitter.com/NuclearNapalm
https://www.facebook.com/nuclearnapalm
https://plus.google.com/+Nuclearnapalmofficial

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#72Mood3.69
#113Overall3.72
#166Graphics3.78
#197Audio3.33
#313Innovation3.48
#330Fun3.33
#330Theme3.78
#500Humor2.56

Comments

Winterblood says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:38am

Nice, enjoyed playing it! Not sure about the O2 ticking down even while you're just perusing the very small planet descriptions, think it would work better if it was tied to distance travelled. Also would be nice if there were more options within a sector - feels a bit dependent on luck ATM.

DevWouter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

Didn't rate, the page keeps reloading the ads (which I hate anyway). Too bad because it looks like a gem

tyty5949 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

I liked the game. I'm not really a strategy gamer but still i just really enjoyed it. The sounds created a nice atmosphere and the graphics added to it. The game play was a little confusing to me but I'm sure if I had spent more time reading things it would make a lot more sense. Really good job!

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

I like it.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

@Winterblood yeah, I didn't have enough time working on balance and difficulty curve. Right now there a lot of random.

@tyty5949 unfortunately, I didn't implement proper tutorial, so game a bit hard at the beginning and you really need to read info about objects and stuff.

@DevWouter I have no idea now to fix it. I test it on Win & Mac with adblock enabled and disabled and didnt encounter this issue. Try to use different browser or adblock plugin.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:04am

I Like it, matches the theme, cool idea. I think visited planets should show a different colour, stop me from visiting the same planets over and over..

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15am

Great entry. I love the atmosphere of the game. Made me think a bit of FTL. Didn't have much luck with the planets I visited, but I'll give it another spin.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26am

Excellent entry! I really like the mood, the music and style are perfectly suited I think. Very compelling.

I guess my only grip is a common concern, things can be a little unclear. Burned a lot of time trying to figure things out, but its understandable given the time constraints.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

Wow, this is an interesting game! I like it :D

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38am

Very strong - I really enjoyed my time with Last Ark. I think I actually won? It said symbiotes are gone, and humans survived on the new planet? Either way, I found it very endearing.

One other thought - the beep boop boop beep beep sound is hilarious, but after a while could use some randomness or variation.

Overall a great entry!

MrSun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50am

Great theme! I like how you created an entire story for the game. The gameplay seems like it could be really deep with some additional tuning

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:55am

Well done, nice job!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

A little hard to get into but a very solid game, love the style. The description made me laugh, as well. "Roguelike survival about artificial life in deep space after the end of the Earth." Haha.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53am

Delicious!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54am

@daviosmash yeah, I forgot to mention snowman ;)

@stephenhaney there are several endings. Also, there 6 beeps which playing randomly :)

@MeSun Thanks!

Broivula says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

Holy shit this was awesome! It actually felt like a real game! A bit hard at first to understand what to do and so on, but you'll get the hang of it pretty quickly. I never managed to land on a planet tho, which makes me kinda sad.

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

Awesome ! you can sacrifice the embryos !!

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23am

I want to save every baby in the ship, is that possible? The resources requirement made me to do some tough choice, it's sad. Anyway, this game is good and nice graphic style. :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:36am

@tonypai yes, it is possible, but depends on luck.

stevehb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48am

Really nice. Great atmosphere. Reminds me of FTL and 'Out There'. Love that the ship is the 'Snowman'.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06am

I enjoyed that very much! Great story. Cool graphics. Nice sound. Just good all around. Great work! Also appreciated the name of the ship. :)

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:53am

Great game, even if it's really hard :D .

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13am

Loving it!
I'm trying to play for all upgrades now but that seem to be insanely difficult without sacrificing embryos. I was forced to land again when the the o2 and energy both got too low.
Definitely reminds me of FTL as well!

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:38am

Excellent! :)

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice, but dificult. It reminded me FTL, witch is not a bad thing :-)

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58am

Neat game! I think you should exclude visited planets from destination though, it tricks me sometimes because the planet name isn't that easy to remember. Good job! :D

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59am

Excellent game, I really enjoy the fluid mechanics of the game and despite the system seeing complex it is incredibly easy to pick up and understand. Great Job

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23am

Great job, very polished for an LD entry. Story was awesome, music, graphics; A fast forward button would be good to speed up journeying, but great job. I think is the game i played the longest so far.

dannyhodge says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56am

Calling it "The snowman" was a nice touch. Really enjoyed this, makes all the right throwbacks to FTL.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nuclear Napalm logo is awesome!
Didnt find a "resources" indicator.
Excellent game, really well crafted.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The depth of play is great. Liked the look of the character and the colours you've used.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Great game, super interesting strategy mechanics with lots of depth, but they're also very simple. It also looks fantastic. Great use of the theme as well, there's a great about of planets to explore, but being set entirely in the ship is a fantastic idea to work within the single screen constraing. Overall, fantastic effort.

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Nice game. I would not survive a lot at space, I think :D

paps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Like the game but I think it should have been another way to get oxygen. like the story too, the music fit it well
Nice touch on the beep boop boop, reminds me of the old scifi movies

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Nice concept and implementation. I spent the most time on this game so far! Good job

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25pm

It was not worth the 30 second wait, needed a little more info to see why I want to keep playing. It was kind of like a paled down FTL, but not as fun IMO.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32pm

VERY nice style :)

Shampop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Idea is cool. I like the difficult and the idea of the "embryo". Fun to play.

Anachron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Cool game and great atmosphere. The music and sound really add to the mood!

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Nice "survival" mood. And I have my brand new civilisation now!

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Very well done, was really enjoying it!

AndresGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Enjoyed the game though it was tough trying to figure out what makes a planet good. The graphics were awesome! really liked the feel of the game.

taaboo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Lovely entry. Nice and quirky game. Did 4 playtroughs. In the last one I tried to jump solar systems as much as I could but I couldn't figure out landing conditions. kept dying on planets :D. Loved the background music though. Gave off the All alone vibe

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Whoa, this surprised me! really polished for such a short time-span and I love the art direction!

kato says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:55pm

best game of all!
i love it

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

Interesting game. Stars seem to be very rare; every time I lost it was due to no energy. Good game; I enjoyed it.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04am

Very solid entry. Please polish this up post compo and put it out there. Great Job!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:22am

Very Out there-esque, and I like it. Great work!

Phask says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:01am

Balancing is needed, otherwise it is a very good game. Thanks!

stasss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12am

Very interesting concept, small revisit of mechanic and completed game.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

That's a nice game and a good story!
Very well done!

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Nice game, hehe, good ship name. It is just luck that you find a good planet to survive on, right?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07pm

@2Bit yes, chance is random but it increases each time you travel to next sector.

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Cool idea, I'm not a fan of this type of games but I'm glad I try it. The name of the ship is a plus :)

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Really fantastic game! Inspiring to see what you've managed to get done.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Wow. That is cool. Nice artworks. Like the game very much... best I've played so far ...

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Remind me FTL! Nice entry, good graphics, the computer sound is a bit annoying after some uses. Good one!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:06am

Pretty good game, I like it ! One of the best entries for me.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:14am

Great game, really hard, so much stuff to take care of :D
Good job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:20pm

excellent, visually stunning, but you should add a Pause button. Well done :)

Newt_ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:25am

Didn't love the abrupt endings, but the gameplay was very fun! By far the longest I've spent playing a LD game!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:30am

Very good entry!Music's great and very nice feeling!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Really great atmosphere and story. The game was really well made.

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:30pm

As some other commenters I am not a fan of this type of game, however I think yours is well executed and sets the atmosphere nicely.

recursor says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Very interesting game. It reminds me a bit of the old space quest games. Quite enjoyable.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:59am

This was really cool! Challenging but not impossible. My only beef was the sound of the cockpit, made it hard to concentrate before learning the mechanincs of the game. Would play a full game :)

Wir says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:35am

noooo i was on my way to a planet with a chance of 95% for surviving with 3 embryos... and then the battery went out -.-

Larzan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:54am

Great game and concept, impressive. I had some problems of reading everything on my "13 screen, but this is well done, especially for the compo!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Really well done game. I Included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/08ofw2klihI

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Pretty neat little game, nice one!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:02am

Lovely game! I wish some of the waiting times were shorter (I spent probably an hour playing it). The difficulty was about right.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:55am

nice game - with some more tweaking this would be a great game to pass the time on - great job

1428156 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Took me a while but I found the perfect planet for my four embryos - chance of survival 108%.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:09am

nice work! space exploration is great.

nesis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I liked the resource management idea, and the story behind it was intriguing, making me immediately care about the future of the characters in it.

Kimau says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Very interesting. Would love to see a bit of balance and polish on this as a future thing. Kept on getting sectors with no suns to charge from :P

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:22am

Looks a lot like 'out there'.

I would say that the mechanics are there, there is certainly some challenge to it, BUT it is soooo sloooow! I failed twice and I just didn't want to go though it again.

I realise that the purpose of every action taking some time is to drain your ressources, but a turn-by-turn approach would have worked better here I think.

On the plus side, the graphics, audio and general atmosphere are great. I really liked the way you set up a complex background without using a huge wall of text. good job on that!

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice and polished.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Pretty neat, there's a lot going on that it doesn't really explain - many subsystems that it just throws at you with little or no explanation what they do. I tried to "land" on a planet, and I immediately lost. Huh?
Music was great, graphics were pretty, sound effects were cute, and after getting the hang of it it was pretty fun - just needs some sort of tutorial or something, and needs to introduce the different subsystems one by one so you can get a feel for them.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Great game! One of the games you play for a long time... I really enjoyed it.
Really nice graphics and mood, they increase the gameplay. I didn't know how to charge my battery thought, I didn't find any star... :/
Music is great, but the beepboopbeep annoys me after a while.
Overall polished, but could use some more!

Great work!

dusho says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:54pm

very cool game

pjchardt says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:27am

Enjoyed the experience. A few minor issues for me, such as text being hard to read and not exactly being clear on what to do at times. All in all, very impressive game for 48 hours. Nice work!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I like this! The graphics are quite good. The gameplay is a little confusing, but if you work at it you figure out what's going on. (It's weird that stars are so hard to find, though. I guess for game balance it makes sense, but...) I made it to a planet and...the symbiote pilot died, but the humans survived. Which is good, I guess? Anyway, I think it could use a little more polish, balancing...maybe a picture for each ending instead of some text, that'd be cool. And a little thing showing which endings you've gotten so far? Other than that it's pretty good!

Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

)))))))

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:10am

Very interesting game idea and nice way to fit an exploration game entirely on one screen.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Amazing game, one of the best of this Ludum Dare, we loved the atmosphere of this game, reminds me the best memories from Lucas Arts Adventures.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I played a lot of times and feel like I can play forever. Space travelling is my dream :o)

Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Wow! I just realized that you are the person I'm worked with. Nice to meet again, Andrey :o)

bitserum says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

This was really great. Loved the storytelling and the overall mood created by the back-story, symbiot's thoughts and the music. The beeping wasn't that bad but it clashed slightly with the music - which is the only annoyance in the game for me. (The beeping itself is a great idea, just wish it was more refined)

I managed to land my remaining two embryos on a planet with 57% survival rate, just in time as I started panicking about oxygen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]