Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Super Cave In

by sputnik - Compo Entry

Arrow key to move, jump and drrrrrriiiillll!

My second LD. Some small and quite rare bugs but nothing important. Don't ask me what the player is... I'm not entirely sure..

Post your HighScore!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#83Graphics4.00
#85Overall3.79
#91Audio3.62
#157Mood3.46
#163Fun3.58
#270Innovation3.55
#469Theme3.66
#749Humor2.22

Comments

drludos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:23am

Nice Entry, I love the art style and the dynamic lighting effects! The gameplay feels nice too. The music is quite entertaining, what did you use to create it?

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:32am

well done, very smooth controls and nice sound

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Thanks! I use bosca ceoil, a small, free, super simple, and super cool music software.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/23/bosca-ceoil/

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07pm

solid audio and art style! love the way the bass drum kicks in. :)

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Very polished game. Great job!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

2 quick typos in the instructions: "Emeral block" and "Buby block". Good game though.

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Really cool entry, graphics and audio is great.
Only criticism: I felt like I could get into a game state that left the game unwinnable where I'm not able to reach the yellow bricks up top due to poor drilling on my part and unfortunate placement of blocks.

elliottd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27pm

This is really good. the drilling animation is adorable. sound design and visuals are nice and go together well. wrapping screen is cool. I dislike the inertia on the character, otherwise the control feels good. You just need to have better higher acceleration to a limit

kalugny says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Loved it!

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Polished, lovely art / character.

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Very interesting mechanics!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Cool game, love the graphics!

komjaur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08pm

really nice idea

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Good graphics but I can't figure out what the hell I'm actually doing or why I'm doing it.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Really good entry! Great artstyle, nice idea and very fun to play.

rzuf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10pm

So juicy!

Baknik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice sound and graphics. It wasn't really clear why I lost at some points.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice
Little game, wold buy this one for my iPhone)

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Nice game, it's fun.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:17pm

I love the art and the graphics. It's really fun to play and a very nice take on the theme.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Super sweet animations! The artstyle overall is great. Runs a bit slow on my machine though :(

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16am

Everything about this game is purely amazing, perfect style, perfect gameplay, awesome artwork/animations! Absolutely love it!

gre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Great concept.
Cool game, nicely polished gameplay. Art and animations are wicked.

One time, I didn't have luck, got stuck from the start: http://imgur.com/zRAlZlk

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:27pm

gre: you were not stuck, you have to discover the secret feature!! the screen warp up and down, left and right. (I guest it's not a secret feature no more...)

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50pm

That art! animations! very good work!

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

J'adore ton jeu (surtout la musique ^^)! Je trouve que tu as très bien utilisé le thème au profit du gameplay et ça feel good en tas ! Btw, est-ce que ton personnage est un cosmonaute inter-cubique ? lol

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:22pm

rayman1900: J'ai aucune idée de ce qu'est mon personnage. C'est vraiment la premier chose que j'ai dessinée, sans filtre... :)

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:33pm

nice polished game!
good feeling, it's fast and fun...

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:23am

Nice and fluid gameplay! Spikes are very dangerous and kinda hard to avoid :). Great work!
Level: 5, Score: 3320.

sputnik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10am

Thanks for your comments! In my post compo version, there is some visual queue for spiked block... more to come.. One of my students make it through lvl 18... he's better than me at my own game :(

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:51am

Fantastic game! Very polished given the amount of time, hope you plan on continued development :)

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:34am

Awesome entry. The game is well flushed out, I can't believe that it even has save and load game. The art also is very impressive (props to the jumping animations particles) The screen wrapping on all sides was also a nice idea.

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:18am

Runs a bit laggy on my laptop but I could see this game having a lot of depth. The simplicity of the controls does a good job of making it accessible while still offering lots of possibilities in gameplay, just like classic arcade games. I'd say for 48 hours you successfully pulled off your arcade feel ;D Nicely done!

pkenney says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:43am

Wow, really solid title, man! Clever use of the block-smashing idea.

I also liked how you introduced time pressure later in the game, but only after I had a chance to learn the rules. That's a nice design touch.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:12am

Nice art style, nice gameplay.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:25am

fun music.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Excellent polished presentation all round with nice graphics and music. I like the animations of the driller guy. Solid gameplay idea too. Nice work all round really.

alvarop says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Hello fellow montrealer. Cool game. And even cooler because you made it with C2 :D

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:25pm

cool like the way you destroy walls :D

TheColorMan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:31am

Nice music. Good graphics. Awesome design. Fun game.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Great looking game and fun to play.

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Wow this is pretty, I died when I dug a goldblock and there were spikes in it haha. A 5 in humor :P

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Nice idea, lovely style. Well done!

zatyka says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:05am

Great entry. It was strategic, fun, and challenging without being frustrating. The audio and visuals worked great and blended nicely together. Definitely one of my favorites this LD.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Fun game, a bit hard to control. The character animations are pretty. Well done!

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Love diggin' stuff like in mine craft :DD

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:08am

Wow this is greatly polished!
Really nice graphics and effects! The game feels really smooth and polished!

Great entry!

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Oh, very cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]