Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Kevin's uncommon story

by Zimennik - Jam Entry

Controlls:
WASD = Move,
Q/E = Rotate level,
R = Restart level

Editor:
LMB/RMB = Move block up/down
Mouse Wheel click = Change block color
Space on block = Enable/Disable button
LMB on button = change button color,
RMB on button = change button sign
W = Top view


Description:

This is a logic game about one robot who was suddenly turned on. He's name is Kevin.
We don't actualy had enoght time to make more levels, but we made cool level editor for you! So you can create your own levels and share them in comments to other.
In next update will be a voice acting and better storyline.

P.S. We also did't have enought time to test our game. Sorry for any bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#123Fun(Jam)3.65
#143Overall(Jam)3.70
#238Graphics(Jam)3.80
#249Innovation(Jam)3.48
#253Theme(Jam)3.83
#341Audio(Jam)3.13
#447Mood(Jam)3.11
#505Humor(Jam)2.59

Comments

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18am

amazing graphics!

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

This is really cool! Very clever way to stick with the theme; it felt like a lot of different maps even though it was just one. I really dig the groovy music too.
My only issue was the massive amounts of type-o's in the introduction.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

This type of games are always a lot of fun and you did an excellent job!

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

Best I have played so far

Gread72 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

I couldn't get through one section ... Overall very very good. I Like

Bevilacqua says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21am

This is impressive. It seems to be very polished and the mechanics make for a very fun puzzle game. The story is an extra :)

jackrugile says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21am

I immediately fell in love with the character, solely based on look. This was a super fun concept and the puzzles were put together well. The only problem I had, even though I liked the music, in my opinion it didn't fit the game, story, or graphics. Just opinion there though. Nice work!

samfreeman05 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21am

One word, IMPRESSIVE

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Great game ! I'm not too much into puzzle game, but this one was fun and challenging ! I beat it ! Thanks for this entry !

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Very good use of the theme! I played it all the way to the end; the game itself could use a bit more challenges and variety. Very good graphics!

brogrammers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

I liked the art and the puzzles

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Wow! Really solid game here! Nice and relaxing puzzle game. I really like the level transition effect with the rotating platform and the pieces resetting. Seems very polished.

rmc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

Beautiful puzzle, graphics and idea. Now I want a complete version with hundreds of levels :)

Rose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

This was fun! At first it was obvious but by the end I had to try multiple times to solve the puzzle. The animation of the room when you go to the next level was very nice and definitely fits the theme.

I noticed a few spelling mistakes - I think the first sentence should be "Common stories are meant to be complete." instead of "Common story's are ment to complete."

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

Good way of incorporating the theme! The block shifting seems very smooth. I don't have any big criticisms (except for the spelling! :) ). This feels like a game you could totally polish and flesh out into something bigger.

flegmatical says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

I'm impressed! This felt like a pretty polished game for being created in such a short timeframe. Liked the graphics and how you've interpreted the theme. The puzzles were a bit easy, and the ending was a bit depressing;) You managed to keep my attention to the end, nice!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

Hey! We had a similar approach to the theme! :) nice job.

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26am

Fun game! Puzzles that were there had a nice difficulty curve. Animations on Kevin were great.

Budda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:27am

Surprisingly fun game - was worried with the first few levels wondering how it was going to transition into a puzzle, but the last few levels made up for it. Could've done with a few more trickier levels, but well done regardless.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28am

This is great! Sometimes I wish I could toggle the switches rather than having to start again. But the e button helps a lot for planning. Good luck with Build 0.1.1.1.159 ;)

Mixer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28am

That was the best game I think I have played so far; just incredible.

nbilyk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30am

My favorite game so far! I loved it. I wish there were more levels. I'd make levels and paste them in but the mouse wheel click to change the color doesn't work. Fix that and I'll make some :)

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33am

Fun and high production values, very rewarding puzzles, especially the last one. Impressive that you managed to get the time to make a level editor.

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40am

Great entry, loved playing it. The end.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44am

Neat puzzle game with a fluid rotation effect. Challenge came nicely. I was blocked really fast and i wonder if i'm not skilled enough or if the game got no solution (haha). One point i didn't enjoyed much was the robot's feeling. I didn't felt like a robot :)

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

Animation of the robot at the start is really nice.

And very nice game. Too bad, so many levels (I know making up levels for logic games is PITA).

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

Great graphics, concept, and gameplay.

mikozouzou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

The concept is nice, it works well even if the rotation is under-used in my opinion. Nothing else to add, well done ! :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06am

I could hear the narrator from Bastion. Best I've played so far and most innovative take on the mechanic. Very fun, and the puzzles were actually puzzling.

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13am

Nice level design. Good idea. Nice job on the graphics.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:56am

awesome overall :D

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Nice! I used a similar concept in my game, check it out :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I'm always amazed at how people can create fun and interesting puzzle games in such a short time. You da man Zimennik.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Awesome game. I've seen a few games use the 'transforming levels' idea and this is one of the best I've seen. Nice graphics and music too. Bonus points for the level editor!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Да, твоя тоже неплохо получилась. Тут не часто встретишь хорошо сделанное 3D.
А вообще, надеюсь, мою игру хоть кто-нибудь осилил. :D

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

awesome game! :D I love it

erik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:38am

Nicely done. I'm impressed that you have included a level editor. I think the logic puzzles could get pretty complex with you setup, and that might be interesting.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I really enjoyed the way the levels shifted to create the next puzzle! great way to stick with the theme, and a fun game to play, really nice work!
-kitty

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:22am

The graphics were very good for the time you had. The audio was good but I'm not sure if it fit with the overall feel of the game, the seemed a bit more puzzling then the music... that could have just been me though.
I really liked the gameplay, and the levels you included were good. I played through twice, the first time I didn't notice each lever had a bit of story at the bottom, and I wanted to read it all. Maybe try drawing the players attention to it either through color contrast, voiceover, or maybe have it appear in a moment of darkness between levels. Overall I enjoyed the puzzles very much, but the story could use some work... and of course more levels would be great. You should keep working on this for sure. ^_^

ynots says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:01pm

nice graphics..

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:05am

A great game, left me wanting more! It was sometimes a bit tricky trying to tell what levels various blocks were on.

P.S. Your game will show up in my next video (episode #4).

Tifu says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Really awesome level design! Good challenging but fair levels.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:46am

really nice game here - controls need some tweaking - overall very nice

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:31am

Simple puzzle game. Thought it was a bit on the easy side. That ending was dark.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Really like this. The graphics and puzzles work well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]