Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bullet Beat

by ekun - Compo Entry

Bullet Beat is a bullet hell rhythm game.

This game supports usb gamepads and fully customizable input mappings.

@ekunenuke

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#5Audio4.22
#6Fun4.20
#25Overall4.02
#71Innovation4.02
#190Mood3.40
#510Theme3.63
#607Graphics3.00

Comments

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06am

Very intense. This was really well done. All kinds of beats!!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40am

wow this is awesome!! I love rhythm games, so of course i liked this. the music is great, and the visuals are really nice! its very difficult though haha. good job!

subluzz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:28am

Yo ma Nigga! The game is awesome as always and i converted the .ogg to mp3 to listen in my playlist if you dont mind... (i have the pre-realase, so...) well, thanks for the stream and im waiting for the vagante, take care brah.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Really cool!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Either I suck or that is really hard. I love the combination of bullet hell and rythym. Music is swell too. +1

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Very, very cool. The gamepad mechanics work really good, the beat and song is awesome and it's a hard game to play. Job well done :)

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Wow! Incredible game! It's fun, intense, and catchy.

My one complaint is that it's damn hard!

ekun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Thanks for all the comments so far.

@subluzz, feel free to do whatever you'd like to with the music :)

Leo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Amazing game, very well thought and polished. Good work.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Incredible job! The music was very intense and made me feel the urgency of the required duty. Thank you for this.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Insane! Love this entry! Solid in every aspect, only lacks in "theme" :)
Attacking to the beat man...

Drstiny says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Still haven't managed to beat the game, but I am getting there! Definitely my favorite game here. Good work!

bobombe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Waaaa, hard but very good work ! the syncs between music and "balls" is very fun !

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Graphically and in terms of sound, Bullet Beat is great. The gameplay is unique and interesting enough to pique and to keep my interest. Superb: 4 Stars.

gilead says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Very nice, I quite enjoyed playing this!

Bogden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:21am

Awesome! Rhythm games are great!

guldlock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:52am

Very nice, I enjoyed this game!

psychopsam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:42am

Wow what a great concept. Didn't know how to survive for long though. Got 40. Great work

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:39am

Love the gameplay concept. Very challenging.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:38am

That was pretty amazing. I loved the mechanic, it really made you think about not just where but when to avoid and when to attack. I really hope you make a post-compo version of this, because with good graphics and a big library of songs, this could really be something awesome.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nice little project x) like it!
Also check my project,if you have some time x)

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:06pm

This game is so worth playing! I got addicted to it shortly after beginning to play it! great entry!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:59am

Hey fellow dev!
Damn this is a fun game, completely caught up in it despite the visual simplicity.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:28am

This is fun! And good music! Please make more of this!

Ossi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:09am

This is great! The music is fantastic and the gameplay is really challenging and fun. I wish I was better at it so I can hear more of the song haha! Very well done!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:03am

Liked it!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:50am

This is probably the first bullet hell game I sat down, tried, and actually wanted to continue to play after I died a couple of times. I'm generally not very good at bullet hell games (not that they don't interest me -- it's just not a genre I'm "into" as much), but the combination bullet hell/rhythm game seems to be a perfect match for me. This had me hooked almost immediately and I played it several times -- only stopping because I had to, not because I wanted to. :)

I would love to see a full version of this! This game is VERY cool. The rhythm/beat placement was spot on, it was genuinely challenging (no fake challenge here, ladies and gents), and as I played more, I got better at it! :) Definitely something worth perusing post-LD! More music, more bullet/beat patterns, more add-ons -- this could be a really fleshed out game -- not that it isn't already quite solid! It handled beautifully.

Huge props! :D I really enjoyed this!

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:14pm

I love it! very addictive and fun! :)

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:20pm

I like this game, mechanics similar to crypt of the necrodancer which I really enjoy. the presentation is very nice and the controls are pretty good.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:21pm

This is amazing. So simple yet seriously addictive, probably my favourite game this Dare :D fantastic work!

radmars says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Awesome! I love seeing rhythm games in LD. Great concept, I like how the gameplay almost forces your brain to do some sort of weird multitasking. It would be nice if there were some more warning before the beat changes but otherwise the gameplay works really well. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]