Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Walk to the door

by el-pepi - Compo Entry

Here is my first Ludum Dare entry.
You must drag the windows to make the guy touch the arrows. Make him walk to the door.

I started really late this game because I didn't have any ideas. I ended up making this thing, it is very simple but I kinda like it, making it was fun.

I hope you like it!

... My neck hurts.

------
THANK YOU!
Thanks a lot for the awesome comments! I'll definitely add more levels and stuff in the future!
I'll upload it on newgrounds in some days: http://elpepiii.newgrounds.com/

------
Changed .rar files for .zip files
------
Made in Unity 4.6.
Code: C#.
Sounds: bfxr/audacity
Music: audiosauna.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Innovation4.43
#17Overall4.08
#30Fun3.94
#32Theme4.39
#108Mood3.57
#197Audio3.33
#334Graphics3.44

Comments

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Nice! Super fun, simple and effective game, loved the music!

Integershift says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

Amazing Idea lots of fun to play very innovative

Javabot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:53am

Love the game play and concept.

Luthwyhn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05am

Amazing job! Simple, original, and well polished. Quite possibly my favorite LD game ever. Even more amazing to hear that it's your first LD entry!

...I hope your next feels better?

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02am

I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the comments!

Phyyl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

Very nice! This is a really neat concept and I really admire your creativity!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

I love this! Great concept. I really enjoyed planning ahead for those teleports.

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32am

Pretty fun, innovative and nice interpretation of the theme. Good job.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32am

Very fun game! The style was clever, in its own way. I would have liked a bit more with the teleports!

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32am

Very innovative. Love it.

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34am

Very interesting game, seems to fit the theme very well too!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34am

Wow I really like this, both the concept and the gameplay were great. Good job

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:35am

Tanner:
I like it a lot. It's intuitive, simple, and makes clever use of the theme.

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:35am

Wow that's an incredible puzzle game even ignoring the time constraints of LD. Really amazing job. The last few levels really get the adrenaline up.

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

Love the concept, polished animations, an overall great effort!

stjahns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40am

This is pretty clever and unique! Solutions required a little thought and planning! Yay!

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12am

Very cool! The pacing of all 15 puzzles was great!

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Very good hit on theme!
Nice music!
This is really innovative and fun.

Awesome game!

kingpirux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13pm

cool! innovative and fun :D there are so much you can do with this mechanic! keep it up! congratulations

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice one! Fit the theme pretty well, and the music is a big plus.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very innovative! i like it!

bconrad217 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Liked this a lot! Very original!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33am

This is fantastic! There are some really cool puzzles in here, and the basic mechanic is ingenious. I'd love to see more levels if you choose to expand on this (I really hope you do). Awesome job.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:39am

Interesting concept, I like it!

mechabit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:50pm

good first game entry, nice mechanics

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:26am

Good job, but I already have seen this type of game needs to be more abstract

ruerob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:36am

Very nice game. I liked the window moving mechanics. I need more levels. please. Thank you for your game.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:44am

Nice concept. I like that you need to plan ahead. The levels were well designed. I beat all 15 levels, the difficulty ramps at a nice level and you do a good job of introducing new puzzle elements.

Maybe it would be nice if you could figure out a way to make the layout of the arrows matter more to the puzzles. There could be some screens that can't be moved while the character is inside it?

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:05am

Fun game! very innovative and love the how its all in one screen :) great entry!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:17am

That was really innovative, fresh and fun. :)

I could have easily played 10+ more levels of this, with more gradually introduced traps and mechanics to throw more stuff into the mix. Great fun and good job! :D

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:21am

I wish I can give you 6 stars for innovation. pretty short I want to play more. please give me a twitter or something I want to see more of your work(or probably if you want to improve this)

this is well done 5/5

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:23am

Amazing idea! Very fun!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:51am

Fun game! Nice innovation.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:10am

Super unique, played this for quite a while, its super interesting how you can play from different angles. I love the pixel art, never seen anything like it. Great work.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:06am

It was a really fun game. Planning out a route and executing felt good. The game was really clear and readable. I wish the arrow hit box for the arrows were more the shape of the arrow itself and not the circle. Also it might have been nice to have a reset window instead of having to go to the menu button for it.

-AlucardX60

Chris M says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:21am

Great work! Despite a late start you have a solid mechanic and an enjoyable experience! I ended up quitting out about level 15 or so after the mine puzzles put more emphasis on timing than routing planning, but that's just personal preference. Given the theme you've chosen I wonder what other mechanics could be derived- for instance could maximising/minimising windows be part of the puzzle?

alvarop says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Really cool entry. I like how you made an effort to keep most things "in-theme", which is pretty hard and rare when you have such a limited time frame to make a game.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:05am

THAT is what is called being innovative! What a smart idea, great game, and a good feel! Well done, !

Dans17 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:24am

Truly innovative game! I feel like the title doesn't really represent the game's uniqueness though; the first name that came to mind for me was "Screenwalker".

laaph says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:32am

Excellent work! I also like the faux-desktop thing going on. I am also amazed that you made 15 levels!

oranebeast says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:48am

Clever level design and idea backed up by great visuals and music.

cmdr says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:50am

Excellent! This was very well done for a LD game and I really got into the puzzles, more so than many games I've payed to play. I would definitely encourage you to keep working on this. The concept and the execution were both great :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:17am

Very nice, And a cool idea, very nice use of the theme. One problem. You have more than one screen :O Nevermind, the theme is more of a prompt anyway.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:03am

Very good game! I had lot of fun and the music is very fitting.

Madball says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Amazing idea! Though I expected it to be more puzzle-ish. Can it be done with real applications, I wonder?

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice game, I like how it's all in the style of a desktop. Some later puzzles have been quite hard to execute though, but I managed to get to the end.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Great idea, great presentation! One of the most interesting games I've played so far!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Oh, it is clever - rated for innovation and fun highly =)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:04pm

bravo, brilliant game, 5 stars for innovation :)

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Awesome 5 star innovation. Great game! So very original, awesome job!

Zi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Love this game. So clever!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:42pm

+++++

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:10am

Beat the game. Fun and original idea, though gets a little repetitive without any new mechanics.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:45am

Maaaaan! That was FUN!

Also, enjoy: http://puu.sh/dtQoH/34e1551f2d.png

flyingbear says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:44am

Very creative, and great use of the theme! I appreciate how the name of the game tells you what your goal is too.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Really, really nice puzzle design, and a nice gradual difficulty curve. It would be cool to break up the levels into different themes of some sort.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Well, this is a little gem and no mistake. Highly original and fun too. Great game.

Budaniel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:35am

I loved the concept, and the puzzles weren't too hard to figure out. The multi-window setup seems a little at odds with the theme of all on one screen, but I liked it.

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:12pm

King of the walking dude! Lots of fun really neat idea too great job and will probably play again!

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:32pm

very fine

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:38am

The simplest idea's make the best games, Great Job.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Awesome game with awesome puzzle mechanics! I wanted more!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:54am

Very clever and original take on the theme. I really liked the whole dragging windows gameplay and the puzzles were well designed.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:32am

Awesome job, please keep working on this game!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:56am

Really cool idea here, having the character traverse through a computer window based environment. The puzzles were very well designed, not too difficult, but difficult enough that I felt smart when I found the solution. I really enjoyed the pre-programming aspect of leaving certain windows in strategic locations in order to solve the puzzles. I feel like you might be able to push this even further by incorporating more spatial elements to the puzzles, namely positioning of the directional orbs. The amount of mechanics that you had was spot on since each level re-used techniques from previous levels, but also added new ones to keep things interesting. Having the menu options show up in the "star menu" and the level counter show up as the time was a really nice touch. The music was fitting to the idea, and the art, though simple, worked really well as a basis for the mechanics. I feel like you could have given the player a little bit more leeway on collision with the teleporters since moving the window to hit the orbs while the character is also moving requires a lot of dexterity and felt hard to control. All in all, it's pretty crazy that you managed to create such an impressive and polished game on your first LD! Can't wait to see what you come up with next time, and I hope that you feel like your idea was a success even though it didn't come to you right away!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Wow.
Excellent idea executed awesome.
I don't really know what to say, but it's definitely an awesome game, great job!

Larzan says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Fantastic idea, very well implemented, both thumbs up!

yodamaster says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Cool concept! Challenging and fun to play.

Odefus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Love the simplicity of the concept. Game was fun to play.

RedPanda says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:40am

Amazing game! Great idea!

dcolgan says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:45am

This is one of the more innovative puzzle games I've seen in a while. Excellent level design, the graphics fit very nicely, and nice audio too. You should release this for mobile and sell it!

Sestren says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:56pm

That was a lot of fun! I really liked this.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:27am

My favorite by far. The difficulty transition is flawless. Music, audio and art fit perfectly. Great job!!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:25am

Hey pepi! I got around to playing this. It's definitely a novel concept, and somewhat disorienting to move the player and window while the player moves himself. Nice job, I've got to say! I think you could create a level editor with ease and expand the gameplay just by community effort.

Neato.

samfreeman05 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:50am

This is really fun and simple. I never thought using the windows xp interface as a game control, good Job

pht59x says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 5:59am

Can't remember having seen something like that before. Great puzzle game with sound and music. It took me a minute to grasp the controls and to understand the dude and the arrows had to collide. To begin with, I was hesitant between mouse or keyboard controls. A 5 second tutorial on a splash screen explaining controls or/and showing gameplay would be useful. Also, having to go into the "Menu" to re-start a level is frustrating (because your game is addictive). Levels are well balanced. Excellent job!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:55am

This one's something else, I really like it, it's an original! Excellent use of the theme. Nice puzzle game :D

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Hah! What a clever little game. Perhaps one of the best on the Theme category I've played.

After some time, I'm not sure if I'd be a fan of that window movement but in a way.. why not. Might be interesting to see this on mobile too.

Graphics had perfect style for this game. Controls were responsive. Good way to handle options/restart.

Nice job.

banana4life says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Awesome game

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Fun, simple concept. Really enjoyable!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very nice game. The puzzles can be more difficult for me.
Cool music and animations.

Well made!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Innovation 5/5: Pretty innovative mechanics!!!

Fun 5/5: Very funny!!!

Theme 5/5: Great use of theme!!!

Graphics 3/5: Too simple.

Audio 4/5: Addictive music!!!

Mood 5/5: I felt great while playing!!!

Overall 5/5: Great game!!!

dunin says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Strange but really fun game.

sirdorius says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Wow, brilliant use of the theme!

Chaoseed says ...
Jan 2, 2015 @ 12:57am

Very clever idea, and pretty fun too! For some reason I want it to have some sort of story about exploring a computer system or, something vaguely like Tron...that's just me, though. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]