Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Infection

by Appocket - Jam Entry

Controls

[SPACE] - Start Game
[W] - Move Forward
[A] - Rotate Left
[D] - Rotate Right

[M] - Mute

PS: Unfinished!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#361Audio(Jam)3.09
#568Graphics(Jam)3.13
#569Overall(Jam)3.13
#569Mood(Jam)2.95
#640Innovation(Jam)2.82
#711Theme(Jam)3.30
#765Fun(Jam)2.70
#782Humor(Jam)1.95
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

exoddinary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43am

Hey I like the idea of being immune system to fight the infections (I believe this is more about anti-bacteria rather than infection).

How do you lose this game? I wish that would be a great idea, or at least some 'good bacteria' to prevent you getting bigger to annoy player (which is good)

Scoring system is good to be implemented as well tho

Appocket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Well currently it is extremely hard to lose, we had problems to adjust the growth & damage parameters correctly.

sikosis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Despite being unfinished, you seem to have most of the mechanics there. It was hard to tell which way I was facing at times and didn't know if I should be collecting things or not. Nice try.

MurrayL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:19am

Good concept here - it's a shame you didn't get to do more on it.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:00am

That's not every day I say that but... the controls are actually too responsive! A quick acceleration or a more classic controls scheme should work. The game works quite well nonetheless.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I like the look and the music, and it could be interesting game if complete. Although it's incredibly hard to control on keyboard as you don't know which way the character is facing until you start moving. It's also not super obvious what the goal of the game is.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Hey, looks like you were influenced by flOw (love that game!). I think the main issue is that you don't seem to need to avoid anything, reducing that satisfaction of chomping on that enemies you were fleeing from a few minutes ago. What were you hoping to have when you finished the game?

Good job with what you did by the way! The visuals and sound are great.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Thank's for this game.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:09pm

The controls are to hard. But the rest of the game is fun.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:32am

Cool idea of fighting those bacteria and great execution.
However there could be more challenge, seems that you can't die at all?

Wakka says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:35am

interesting controls for a osmos like game, would love to see the finished game

lparker says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I can definatly see an infulence from flOw in this game.

It took a little while to get to grips with the navigation but it's still an awesome game.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Interesting idea, if a little hard to control. Reminded me of Spore's initial phase, quite fun overall! The game lacked an end or a losing condition though, but I still enjoyed it. The music was very nice as well! Keep it up!

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really interesting game. The movement is a bit too sharp, but that's my only complaint.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

nice work

belstras says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Didn't understand the rules but the music is very nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]