Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

You are Green

by Downtown - Compo Entry

Minimalistic Action game with frantic clicking and thinking on your feet. Played with the mouse, the game will talk you through it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#205Graphics3.70
#214Humor3.12
#272Mood3.27
#282Overall3.48
#291Fun3.38
#495Innovation3.21
#1169Theme2.43

Comments

Downtown says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

Sorry no embedded version had problems with player dimensions

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39am

Fantastic art. Loved the writing, especially "magic doesn't work on problems". Nicely done.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40am

pretty fun. the problems are creepy.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41am

A fun game! Loved the concept, once I got going it was nice and fluid, too.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42am

Nice ideas here! Really like the art style.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44am

One of my favorite games so far from this Ludum Dare. Love the simple visuals and the red monsters. Love the animations and the 2d-ish aspect of the world.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03am

Very well done. I was skeptical when I saw the screenshot, but I was wrong. I love the humor in this and the concept is solid. Very cool art style. And thank you so much for being slightly forgiving with your collision detection :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57am

Apparently you can't shoot your problems with magic. Clearly that's what I've been doing wrong all my life!

The animation of the little man is good.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37am

My wife did a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/m38MhRbdMxQ

Hempuli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06am

Nice atmosphere! The problems looked pretty creepy; I found the mixed art styles with the walls/bullets a bit jarring. The dialogue was also cool :)

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:07am

Looks great... I wish my laptop had a right mouse button, then I could play.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:10am

Totally solid niceness; a little trickier playing on the trackpad ;-D

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very fun! I like the game overall. The art is great! The control scheme is a little weird, but I can look past that. Great job!

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10pm

I am successful run away from my problems!!! thank you for this game.

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Good game, well done. I really liked the tutorial and level difficulty, as well as the art.

lase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:29am

This game is pretty great. I love the art style and the mix of the 3D with the bullets & obstacles. My only complaint is the problems don't play by the same rules and also get stuck on the obstacles. Such is life, I guess!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:54am

Liked:
- Graphics. I thought the mix of hand drawn and 3D worked pretty well
- Learning how to play was seamlessly integrated with level progression
- Learning how to position yourself to get around the enemies
- "Magic doesn't work on problems" :(

Disliked:
- Lack of music. I'd have really liked some sound!
- Confusing hitboxes (hard to know when you were within killing range of an enemy)

Verz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:36am

Fantastic character, i like when he walk is very cute ¡REALLY! is a good entry, nice idea and good job.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:09am

This is clever. I like the...snarkyness of it, I think that's the word for it. Running from your problems only works for so long, and magic doesn't work on them either.

vidarn says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I love the humorous mood in this, the "sketchy" art-style and the writing fit very well together. I really like the drawing, and animation work, they seem like doodles that someone drew in their notebook yet they are also polished and have a really good animation work, I was really impressed by that!

Gameplay-wise I thought it was fun, I thought the tutorial part (first few stages) was well done, the game got explained clearly and was still entertaining. The difficulty ramps up, which I appreciate but quickly I thought the problems were having a bit of an unfair advantage. (But that could just be me not being good enough)

Again, very nice submission. It made me laugh!
Thank you for your game!

// Written by Peter (ludumdare.com/compo/author/Macint/)
// Vidar's teammate in this Jam.

Ashtom says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Lots of character in this piece. Pleasant style and good mechanics. I liked the manuscripted hints, nice touch!

calavera says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:21pm

doesn't fit the theme too well but I like the problems.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Running away from all your problems is always a fine solution. I quite liked the hand-drawn graphics and animations, they made the game feel quite lively. Some audio would have helped, but apart from that I thought this was quite a nice entry. Kudos, keep it up! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]