Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dude

by kingfish - Compo Entry

Little John is playing way too much. One day while playing, something interesting happens. Little John a.k.a Dude gets trapped inside of the game, he was playing. Can you get to the epic boss and destroy him, and get the awesome reward? I don't think you can.

Avoid and shoot the enemies and kill the boss.

To play the game download the LD31 dude.jar file and you are ready to go.

CONTROLS:
Movement: WASD / Arrowkeys
Shoot: Spacebar

TOOLS:
Java
Eclipse
Paint.net
sfxr

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#185Humor3.18
#439Fun3.20
#469Theme3.66
#706Graphics2.84
#744Audio2.36
#772Mood2.68
#799Overall2.96
#1088Innovation2.23

Comments

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I like design of this game. But it would be better if those slimes has 1 HP and game restarts automatically after players death

ghostonline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice and sweet, although a bit too hard for me. I would suggest adding an option to move and shoot in different directions (WASD for move, arrows for shooting?)

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Good fun, with plenty of potential. At first, I was cursing the fact that it isn't a twin-stick shooter, but I think that adds an important level of difficulty.

The main problem I have is the hitbox on the player character. At the moment it seems like enemies are able to kill you by touching your guns or your head. I think you'd get a lot more playability very quickly by simply reducing the size of that hitbox to cover just the area around the player's feet.

It's the same problem that plagued E.T. on the Atari 2600 - you could fall down a pit by touching it with the top of your head, when your feet were nowhere near!

Apart from that, I actually enjoyed the few minutes I spent with the game. Fun back-story and tight controls. Well done.

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:27pm

This game is quite challenging, however, the direction of diagonal shooting did slightly bug me :/ All in all, a little more polish and maybe some refinement on the controls and I'd like to see a post compo version!

nov1kk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Funny but so hard!!

grid96 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Really hard, but fun to play. Cool graphics and overall design.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57pm

If the slimes weren't so fast and the player had more than 1 HP, this would be a lot better. As is you barely have time to acclimate yourself to the game before it gets going. I do like that you're playing on John's screen, though! That's a concept that could be played on to great effect.

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00pm

The power ups it's what makes it really enjoyable! good job

sirival says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:32am

Challenging - nice backstory!

lion123 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Sounds are too loud, but other than that not a bad game

Wir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I feel like that this would be way more fun if the player would have more that one live. With this instant death it was really frustrating for me (maybe it's just because i'm super bad at that game)

Wakka says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Well done! had a score of 18 =)

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Basic, simple and fun. And it even has an intro! I have a suggestion though:

The hitbox for the character right now is a rectangle the size of the sprite, which enables the enemies to kill you by touching the air next to your leg and below your arms. A smaller hitbox would make things a bit fairer since in a game like this every pixel counts :D

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:07am

Good job, I like the design, also shooting thing is always fun!

drilltail says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:06am

Fun game, reached 27 multiple times. Around then, I seem to die no matter what (even if nothing is even on the screen!). Is that intended?

rjhunter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Worked for me on Mac OS X!

I LOVE the intro animation. The game itself is a bit hard for me but it restarts relatively quickly so I still played a bunch of times. I eventually made it to the boss (once).

At one point the game crashed with an ArrayIndexOutOfBounds exception: -1 on PlayState.update (PlayState.java:262).

lapskaus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Fun game to play. It's REALLY annying to have to reach for the mouse to restart every time you die though.

Lovelock says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:46am

Has a cute classic feel to it. Who doesn't want to dual wield guns to rid the world of slime? With some polish this could be plenty of fun. :)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:27pm

nice

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Solid shooter with fun upgrades system. Nice!
I loved the intro! :D

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Not very innovative, but really funny! those slimes reminded me of terraria though.

Harley77 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Very fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]