Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Crumble

by daesora - Compo Entry

Crumble is a game where you are trapped in a dark cave system, with monsters around each corner waiting to get you. You have limited flashlight battery and ammunition, you must make it out alive. Look along the edges of the caves for an exit, or shoot the crystal to cause a 'Crumble' in the cave, changing it's layout. You can find chests around the cave to restock some of your supplies.

Control with WASD and mouse to shoot.

Sound is recommended as the noisy skeleton is a bit of a jump scare.

It will run on Windows, should run on Linux and I have no idea if it will run on OS/X.

The game was made in Python with Pygame. (Packaged as an exe using py2exe)
Graphics were made in Paint.net.
Music was made in Bosca Ceoil.
Audio was made in BFXR and Audacity.

I feel pretty happy with the gameplay itself, but the sound effects are a bit crappy having made them myself. I'm not to bothered about the rating, I'm just doing this for the sake of doing it.

This was my first real LD and I had loads of fun doing it. I'll definitely be doing another.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#136Mood3.50
#458Audio2.88
#769Theme3.44
#782Graphics2.74
#855Fun2.76
#856Innovation2.69
#884Overall2.88
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Having the explorer move by 1 pixel every frame is too slow for me... It feels like I'm dragging his lifeless corpse through the cave. I changed the speed to 4 pixels in the source, and it's a lot more fun that way. I feel like a real gunslinger now. Cool skeletons, all the basic elements of video games are in this.

P.S. I keep spawning inside rocks and having to restart

daesora says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Ah sorry about the rocks thing, I thought i caught that bug but apparently not. Thanks

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I like the concept... Well done for your first LD!!!

chaosed0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Agree that the character moved too slow. The hitbox should have been smaller, and placed at the character's feet - from this perspective, the player's head and upper body should be able to overlay some obstacles. I did jump when the first skeleton game out, so nice sfx. Not bad first LD.

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Awesome game! I really like the mood it sets with the lighting! Keep it up! The audio was a bit scratchy, but 24 bit (I think) fit the game's style

sorlok says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Game was a lot of fun! A few points:
1) Collision detection should use the "base", not the whole body.
2) If we can't shoot at angles, why use the mouse to shoot? Why not use the arrow keys?
3) It is possible to spawn on a rock after crumbling.
4) It is possible to spawn directly near the exit.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Movement is painfully slow. Why do I lose 4 or 5 "lives" at once when I hit a skeleton?

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:01am

I though it was neat, being in the dark - but it could have been a touch faster and the collision detection was off and you couldn't move while going against a block.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:17pm

WOW! Really cool game for a first LD game!

Renaldo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Wow! It's surprisingly good for its simplicity! I got so immersed by the ambiance and the music that, when the skeleton appeared, I panicked and died. The graphics are neat and stylish.
I liked the game pace. Moving slowly adds so much the game mood.
I enjoyed the entire experience. Good work!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:51pm

nice

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]