Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sweep Stacks

by excaliburjs - Jam Entry

Prevent the tiles from reaching the top! Play standard mode for a turn-based experience, or try challenge mode for a faster difficulty.

Works best in Chrome, Firefox, IE11, Safari for iOS, and Chrome for Android 4.x.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Fun(Jam)3.98
#65Audio(Jam)3.86
#76Overall(Jam)3.87
#171Mood(Jam)3.56
#229Graphics(Jam)3.82
#400Theme(Jam)3.66
#454Innovation(Jam)3.11

Comments

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45am

An elegant style befitting elegant design. Well done!

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57am

This game seems too good to be from a game jam! Good Job!

jrap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58am

Feels like I'm plucking a cosmic guitar.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58am

Wow, I really liked this. The graphics, sound, and game play really worked together to make a relaxing mood. Excellently done.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00am

I really love the sound of joining blocks together, and love the visual style, simple but sweet game, great entry :).

seraphki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:01am

Oooh I like it! Clean and fun =D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02am

Beautiful game, very well done. Agree with LexGear that it feels very polished for a jam game.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:07am

Great game. Nice meditative mechanics and pleasant graphics.
Good job!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:08am

It's a nice game I could see this on mobile doing well.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10am

Good times.

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10am

Seems like an interesting idea for mobile, pretty fun and hard

ZXeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13am

Great visual style. Very solid, and way more addicting than I though it was going to end up being. Very good game! I hope you keep going with it after the jam!

kierygeek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32am

I do not have enough words to describe how much I love this.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:05am

Super well done game. The audio is so perfect with the music and sound effects really adding to the game. This makes a super solid mobile game and I think it could do really well in the mobile market. Awesome work.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:06am

Cool game. Mobile version would be nice.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:13am

Beautiful game, very pretty with nice audio and very clean and tidy gameplay.
Get this on to the App Store asap. ;)

Javabot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:16am

This is a gorgeous game that SHOULD BE made into an app at once!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:17am

Although not a fresh idea, the game has a splendid art style and the music just fit so well, good job! Looking forward to see developed mechanisms (special blocks, etc) so that the game won't be a bit boring after long time of play.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20am

Where'd the last half hour go?! I ended up with 5524 points. Very addictive and fun!

This game is dripping with polish and is very well executed. I remember seeing a WIP post on the front page and was really excited to play it- glad it popped up in my queue. I really like the sweeps mechanic.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:19am

I liked the guitar strumming sounds. A charming entry.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:21am

Slick and smooth gameplay. Could easily see this on mobile.

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:26am

I'll be returning for some plays!Really cool and addictive!Bravo!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:34am

This is really cool. Love the presentation. The guitar plucking sounds when you drag over the tiles are awesome, they make swiping them more fun than it has any right to be. Would make for quite a good mobile game I think.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:34am

Very sleek and fun! Could see myself playing this for hours on mobile!

Milktoast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:35am

This would be a perfect mobile game! I seemed to always get the middle taken care of, but left the sides to tower skyward with no hope of tearing them down. The guitar strumming sound was inspired. Addicting gameplay. Well done!

Croze says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:00am

I am super impressed, this is such a fun sit back and play type of game, it feels really polished and satisfying and I really can't find a single thing I dislike about it. 5 stars all around, I may have to keep this in my downloads folder!

Gread72 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:00am

Yeah This is well done... love the guitar sounds ... very cool

celanova says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:27am

Elegant and quite addicting. Nice job.

Dreii says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:33am

The audio and graphic design elegantly plays with the fantasticly simple ruleset!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:37am

This was a wonderful find. A mix of tetris/bejeweled with the perfect soothing music. And it's a perfect mobile game as well. I hope you guys publish this before someone else does! Great job

dkellycollins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:47am

Simple and a lot of fun to play. Great game.

Samm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:52am

Wow, this is great! Are you sure you made it in only a couple days?

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:53am

Great audio and mood. Clever mechanic with the "Sweep" buttons. Very polished, although I had trouble starting a standard match a couple times (got stuck in the help). Ended up having to start a challenge mode and click the "try standard" button when I died. Great job!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:21am

Nothing new on the gameplay side, but this is incredibly polished and nice. Well done! Am I hearing rubber bands?

eonarheim says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:23am

@JustinMullin Actually we recorded all of the sound effects and music off of an acoustic guitar believe it or not :)

kill0u says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Great! Just had a "sweep all", sadly I'll have to stop for now, but I'll definitely come back :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Highly polished and relaxing puzzle game. Highlighting same-color blocks once you have one selected is a brilliant feature. The difficulty could ramp up a bit faster in Standard Mode, though Challenge certainly does provide a good challenge. Great work!

ehtd says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:48am

Very nice and fun

Kitch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:49am

Really nice audio work there! I played this a lot longer than I should have because of that. Really good work. Thanks!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Really solid entry! Nice graphics, totally working puzzle mechanism, beautiful music! Well done, I've really enjoyed playing this game, especially the challenge mode :-)

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:50am

Cool Game, Love the simplicity

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:35am

Very polished, challenging and well-designed puzzler game. The graphic design is wonderfully clean and well thought out, and conveys all the information the player could need. The music is very nice, but gets a little tiring after a while. Great job overall everyone, keep it up! :)

Thalia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:09am

Guitar sounds here very cool! But this gameplay is ordinary. What for innovation do you offer? It's usual 3-match.( Very good done of course, but ordinary.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:52am

Really nice project with a cool graphics. Well done ++

redoxkun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Simple, fun and addictive. Very nice game! And love the sound!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Simple, clean and well polished. Great job!

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:02am

Wanted to try your game but I'm color blind and I can't see any difference between those two colors : http://imgur.com/KE8MOcn
Seems cool though :'(

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Really addictive game, well done! Loved the minimalistic art style too.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Excellent puzzle game, crying out for a mobile version.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Good solid game, could definitely see this as a mobile game. Do it! :) Good job

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:23am

Like the sound response. Feels nice.

gre says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Reminds me a bit the trending "Two Dots" mobile game, but with a quite different game mechanism.
Graphics and Audio is very polished, congrats.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Pretty fun twist on the match tiles puzzle genre and great take on the theme. I actually found standard mode to be more harder than challenge.

Canyon says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:45am

I loved this!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:56am

Really love the game design mastery, simple but well though, especially with the challenge mode.

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Fine, elegant, clever, relaxing yet challenging, classic yet innovative : Well done !

gillenew says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:58am

very nice, much like this puzzle style, the graphic was pretty nice, and the game is not complicated to understand :)

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Very well done! nice graphics and sounds, simple but engaging mechanics, great!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Really cool concept (Especially the swipe mechanic which add a lot to the genre).

I think the block repartition could use some work : right know I think it is totally random, and some playthourgh are just doomed from the start

eskivor says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:28am

Great music !

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:48am

Very nice. The diagonal matching really adds to the mechanic, and the style is very clean.

Johnro says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:33am

Across the board fun! Once I got into it, I got into this great groove.

dunin says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:34am

nice polished game. Simple but fun.
The difficulty could increase in one way or another...
(my score: 1566)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Cool an polished game, guitar sound give a special mood.
Fast repeating background music disturb the feel.

Well made!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Great amount of polish. Simple concept but fun. Make an app out of it :)

gana0 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:26pm

An excellent puzzle game. I really liked standard mode. Challenge mode seemed a little too hectic for me though, but that idea was good as well. The music was nice and calming, but I got bored of it after playing for so long. The guitar sound effects were a cool touch and fit well with the background music. It would have been a good touch in my opinion to add something like "nice!" or "great!" if you made a really good combo and got rid of a lot of blocks like a lot of puzzle games do. It would keep interest levels up. Overall, an interesting concept and great execution!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Pretty cool and well done! Simple concept, nice execution for a game jam.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Love the guitar sounds :) nice game

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:07am

Very nice ;)

Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

Very clean for a 3-day game! The mechanics are very smart and well-made, and the graphic style is awesome.

Ossi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Very cool game! Feels really good to break the tiles and the guitar plucking is really satisfying! Great job!

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

This game is so wonderful in all ways!
Really 10/10
Sorry 5/5 :D

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nice puzzle game, and Standard Mode is a take on match-3 I haven't seen before. Having two modes makes it interesting too.

LMT says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Nice simple polished game. I really like the fluidity of the mechanic.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Wow, that was really awesome. It's such a simple idea too but so well executed! Love that it was hard to keep the stacks from growing too big even when you have all the time in the world to think about your moves. Very good puzzle game :D

Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:33am

Cool game, love the art style and music. I like how the connecting sound is musical and makes a little melody :D

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Very well done game

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Fantastic game. Manages to be both chill and relaxed and challenging and stressful at the same time. Extremely polished for 48 hours, all around amazing.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very polished, seems like it could be a great mobile game. Good job overall!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:46am

This could probably be a successful mobile title. The gameplay is simple but addictive, graphics are nice and the guitar gives it a unique touch. Definitley one of the better entries of the >90 I've played.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

Very good game. As they should be: simple and entertaining. I never get tired of playing. To take one but the music becomes monotonous.

Dunric says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:43am

Fantastic!

Peni6 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Great fun and a lovely playing game. Nice job!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Impressive for a Jam. Nice concept and realisation.

Well done !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]