Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Avoid the Pushers

by hwinwuzhere - Compo Entry

In this game (which is not quite finished, so please keep that in mind) it is meant to, well... avoid the pushers. Every time the world regenerates, more pushers will spawn, making it harder for you to reach your goal. The difficulty level isn't really increasing yet, and because there is no scoreboard yet (or at least: it isn't shown), it makes it less interesting than I intended.

Nonetheless, I hope you enjoy what I did finish :)

Edit I:
+ Added Linux download.

Edit II:
- Note that this game requires Java. If you do not have java installed yet, I recommend you doing so before you try to run it. Games made in java are awefully difficult to play without java installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#559Humor2.48
#710Innovation2.92
#739Mood2.72
#759Graphics2.76
#877Theme3.33
#934Fun2.63
#943Overall2.81

Comments

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I like the pixel art style and the game runs well.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I did get a little confused her, but like you say, it isn't 100% finished. The pixel art was really cool though.

Bardikus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02pm

The Pixel Art and game concept is interesting. It is a little weird that you can go off screen to reach certain buttons.
The pushers are cool but don't seem agressive enough, I expected them to push me way more and faster :D
Overall, nice game

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Solid! I think you could improve the graphics a bit by adding some variation to the colors.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Neat world generation. Not sure if bug or feature that a new pusher is spawned with every world regeneration, but I like it.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Like the controls/movement

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice idea. I like that the pushers are just sort of inconvenient rather than malicious. It's unusual.
It looks like the screen should wrap, but you seem to die (or crash the game?) when you go past the edges.

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

@WhoaConstrictor The mob spawning after each generation is the start of adding a difficulty level. I wanted to make things harder after each generation, e.g. having to stand on the red tile longer, having more mobs and more difficult mobs that will start attacking you etc.

@ElectricSeagull Yeah, the going out of the screen and wrapping of the player is a bug. Fortunately you can walk back and it will render you normally again.

@All thx for the nice comments and feedback, I really appreciate it. This is my second LD and my first submission.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Interesting idea as how the game stars also. Seems to lose my character when I get out of the screen borders. Restart button would be aprecieted. Good work!

v01pe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Nice one, I liked it… almost skipped it, because there was no OS X download, but the "windows" version played just fine as it is Java.
The pushers really crept me out as soon as they run towards you.
When I went out of the level on the side it seems to have crashed. Walking two directions at the same time is SO necessary!! ;)
I can see the potential!

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:33am

@All I just figured out what the crash is. I shall fix it as ASAP as possible :)

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Too bad the game isn't finished, the generated levels could be fun.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Personal gameplay and interesting concept, that's a good combination!

Aomeas says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I completed ~20 levels before I came back here to see there was no end ^_^"
Nice level generation and pushers pathfinding :3

Divitos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:48pm

It was a pretty interesting concept, it has potential!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Nice idea, but it's shame that it's not finished.

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:49am

'Ey, this kind of reminds me of SwordMiner's Project NAH. Still interesting though. Java FTW.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:55am

I found that in many of the worlds that were generated, pushers spawned in walls, and there were a number of cases where my destination appeared on the other side of a wall that I simply could not cross past. Additionally, not being able to move on diagonals felt weird.
I don't want to leave you with only negative feedback, so I'll note that you did a good job introducing the game. A lot of LD games either fall back on the giant wall of text to explain their game, but breaking it up into sentences that are displayed one at a time makes the intro feel a little less daunting and easier to get into.

lxd1 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Fun

mrhill says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:49pm

good effort

okkolobr says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:01am

Unfortunately, I think I have experienced the "unfinished" part mostly : got two in a row world with the "red thingy" surrounded by walls (and I didn't figured out a way to reach it), I went off the screen, I get stuck in a wall after a pusher do its thing on me.

The whole was pretty frustrating, because the art is somehow good, and the concept was simple enough to get something good.

I'm sad :( I will wait for the post jam version I guess :(

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]