Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Meltdown

by Lovro Kalinovčić - Compo Entry

A snowman trapped on the north pole is fighting global warming.
Collect snowflakes and use abilities to survive for as long as you can without falling into the water below.


The game is written in Java using LWJGL. Java 1.6 or greater is required.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#230Graphics3.65
#254Innovation3.58
#289Overall3.47
#361Audio3.03
#363Fun3.30
#539Humor2.50
#568Mood2.92
#726Theme3.47
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

I actually had a good bit of fun with this submission. Very well thought-out!

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

Not sure how to run a jar file on Windows.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07am

Hi!
Put some music, maybe a calm one to increase mood.
Nice game, pretty solid!

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

Look a while to get used to the controls, but good and nice looking game. :) Audio was good as well.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

Yeah, I would liked too the theme was snowman... :D

ViliX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

Solid entry :) I've enjoyed really this one.

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

Good stuff. I keep walking off accidentally...

Fnkee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15am

The mechanics of this game is amazing. I love this concept! The navigation feels really well, and the sound effects are sweet. Could be frustrating at times to be stranded at small islands, but as soon as I had enough crystals, those creative abilities solved that problem for me (:

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

I'm quite bad at your game, but still, the game is fun, maybe a little bit frustrating sometimes, but fun most of the time :)

Croze says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

Really cool, like a fast paced boardgame. Would be really cool with multiplayer!

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

awesome! love the snowman! :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

This game is pretty hard. I am really enjoying the living hex world. The sounds and animations are super neat.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

You were really hoping for the snowman theme weren't you? ;) Gameplay is interesting and keeps you on your toes. Power ups are interesting. Graphics and sound work but aren't very noteworthy.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Decent game, but it's kind of frustrating when ice just disappears under you. I spent the first few playthroughs just waiting for a snowflake to appear on my island.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

I walked off the edge so many times haha. Nice game.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Pretty neat game!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:31am

Well, orientation is bit hard for the first few plays -- I've fell off too many times. Also I really don't like waiting so long before the first snowflakes appear. Otherwise some bigger challenge is missing -- just "try to survive as long as you can" gets boring after short while. But still it could be decent start for something bigger ;-)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Very good game!
Its so easy to make a wrong key press and fall into the water. It happened to me so many times and I was like fuck this but then I keep playing :). The powers are interesting and the sound effects contributes to the immersion.

Few things I have noticed:
- sometime you get stuck on an island and end up waiting quite long before the game connects them for you.
- sometime the snow tile that you are standing on melts right away and you fell into the water. I saw there is a indication that a particular tile is about to melt but when you are actually standing on it its not very visible. may be make it more visible or give it longer time to melt so the player can react accordingly.
- sometime you move to a neighboring tile and it melts right away. same thing as with my second point.
- also may be the background should be watery bluish instead of black. just an ambiance thing :)

Nice job. Definitely a keeper!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:59pm

This was neat, well done!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:52pm

The core idea is nice, but controls were initially kinda hard to grasp; awesome splashing sounds!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]