Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snamwons Revenge

by yodamaster - Compo Entry

Play 16 levels on one screen. All at the same time.

Collect all diamonds in every level. Don't touch bubbles. You can shoot bubbles, but every move or shot costs energy. You have to play all levels at the same time one one screen, so concentrate hard!

Can you finish level 16?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Theme4.63
#22Overall4.05
#32Fun3.93
#32Innovation4.20
#116Audio3.50
#194Graphics3.73

Comments

Dec 7, 2014 @ 12:59am

Really cool use of the theme!

Ult says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:31pm

As the guy above me said, really cool use of the theme. The graphics and sound are incredibly pleasing and this idea is actually pretty innovative. I'll give it five stars (I think five stars, lol idk how the ratings here work) when it comes time to voting.

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Wow that's pretty original! Very nice approach and very challenging too. I hope I can make it all the way to the end! Also loved the arcade feeling!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very cool game, love the graphics

Dohxis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Graphics is just awesome! Really like the game too, had a lot of fun :)

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Oh this is mindbending. I absolutely love the graphics and sound... couldn't cope with more than 3 screens at once though :P

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Yep, I love it. Great graphics (Spectrum-inspired, I'd say?) and a really cool idea. With 16 screens it actually has a decent length too, especially considering how slow and careful you'll have to move by the end...

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Oh wow, this is awesome! I just wish it didnt reset absolutely everything upon death.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:06pm

One of the best uses of the theme I've seen so far, great game with great music and visuals. Top notch entry, loved it.

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Awesome! Gets brain-twistingly tough, but a great game. Sound + graphics are excellent too. 5/5 from me.

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Amazing idea, but with fullscreen it would be cooler.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Really nice, but the music is a LITTLE bit repetitive :p. Great job however and great use of the theme ;)

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice use of theme.

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Very nice concept and nice to play too. The retro style is a plus :-)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

A top entry here! The game is really fun and darn hard!
Looks like a real 8-bit game for both graphics and sounds.
Really like it!
Theme was really well used.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Awesome, and really fun, interpretation of the theme. Brilliant job! :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57pm

This is Hilarious! I got too dizzy after only a few levels. Love the art.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Cool! Great use of the theme. I think you could probably have made it so you didn't have to re-collect the gems in levels already completed, but just respawned the enemies.

wooltech says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Far more fun that it looked from the first level! I didn't get very far so might try again when I'm more awake - I want to see all 16 levels.

Goutye says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Nice one! Well-organized! Some lag when I shoot bubbles (4 levels and more)

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:50am

Haha ! Great concept,it's really fun. Music and art work weel too.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02pm

one of the best gameplaymechanics i´ve seen so far. it´s a real challenge, but allways fair.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Great idea, well polished. I got stuck at the end of level 3, here's a screenshot : https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B33pZJEmdxIPTmNzQTFhalR2X1U/view?usp=sharing
Nothing happened then. Anyway good job !

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:36am

@Alexandre Szybiak the final diamond is in the top left.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:47am

The graphics are so awesome! Would give this 5/5 stars for the Mindf**k category.. :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:23am

Great concept! Nice retroey style graphics as well, has a certain ZX Spectrumy vibe to it. Overall very polished and fun.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:02am

Great concept, really love how hard this gets! Good job, nice simple game but delivers well.

ruerob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:06am

I like you interpretation of the theme. great game with a big portion of creativity. Thank you for your entry.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:09am

This game is really fun, and a clever use of the theme. I can only think of two things I didn't like, the first was having to restart the whole thing once you died, I think the same puzzles aren't fun to do over and over. The second is shooting, maybe you just wanted it to be a test of how many things a player can keep track of, but I think it made it significantly easier and didn't add much being able to clear the way instead of thinking a way around it. All in all though this is one of the best uses of the theme I've seen yet and I highly recommend it

yodamaster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:30am

Hint: If you think you get "stuck" at level 3, take a closer look at the corners, there's some diamonds left to collect.

NuSan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Great game ! It's become difficult realy fast, i cant imagine what would be 16 simultaneous plays. Keep up the good work

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:30am

Very good overall!nice use of theme and keeps you thinking!Great!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Fantastic game! I realy like theme interpretation!
Good job, man!
Still can beat just three levels. Will keep it out!

jpmit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Great entry. Really good use of theme. Fun and challenging. Well polished.

InToGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Really cool use of the theme -- well done! It's be nice to be able to dive into the higher difficulty levels.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Really interesting take on the theme!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Ow, my brain!

This was really well done, though. ;) The controls were a bit slow, but in a way that was exactly appropriate for the gameplay. The fact that once you've solved a level the guy there stops is a very useful touch. The audio was great; the graphics were fine, a nice sort of psychedelic-retro thing. I wonder, though, is it actually possible to win the game? I suppose I'll have to trust you on that one. ;)

rantt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Loved, this game. Retro graphics and music were perfect, and great use if theme. Really , great job! :)

Leo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Great idea for the compo.

Elendow says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Really nice concept and really fun to play. Congratulations!

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Very clever use of the theme ! Nice puzzle too. I just have a suggestion : when you touch one of the bubble, it would be cool to not having to restart the entire game to discover the following levels. But I guess this super hard mode is inspired by classical older games, so it's a kind of nostalgic difficulty with have here ! ;D

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Clever game mechanics !

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:45pm

I only lasted until level 3 :(
Great idea, fits the theme and presents a good challenge!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:21pm

really good! but got boring after a while, since you're basically replaying every level again, just with a new one added. I was also pretty laggy on my machine

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Woah my head! Loose at level 4. It's a good use of the idea of multiple levels where you have to play in the same time. But do you finish it? Is it possible?

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:46pm

That great! Very cute old style graphics style and innovative mechanics, alot of fun as result=)
And music is great too!

lexi says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I loved the graphics and the overall game concept. Great take on the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]