Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Panoptes

by vrld - Compo Entry

A classical puzzle game, yet so much more. Two more, to be exact. You must keep an eye on all.

The game is simple, but I recommend to enable the tutorial to get a hang of things. It's seamlessly integrated in the game, so it shouldn't be too annoying.

There is an online leaderboard. To participate, you need to enable highscore synchronization via the options tab.

To play the cross platform version, you need Love 0.9.1 - get it at http://www.love2d.org/

To see the source code, rename panoptes.love to panoptes.zip and unzip the file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#34Fun3.90
#42Overall3.92
#49Theme4.31
#75Innovation4.00
#97Humor3.50
#243Graphics3.62
#281Audio3.16

Comments

Gwilym says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32am

Really great interpretation of the theme. Enjoyed playing this a lot :D

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Nice color scheme.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:21pm

GREAT !

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:56pm

This game is fun :D

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Really cool idea! I really enjoyed the amount of polish and the accessibility was really sweet. The graphics are sweet to ^_^

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Really cool, I was about to write about how this is a pretty decent Tetris Attack clone, but then the game threw me a curve ball. I got an error while playing for a bit, though.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Very original take on the theme and very well presented, nicely done

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21pm

It's difficult to talk about this without spoiling the fun to anybody else...
Let's say just that there's much, much more than what it seems!

Other than that, the whole experience is amazingly well put together: smooth, easy to grasp (yet tricky) and polished.
The lack of music is a great thing, in this entry, keeping you focused on what you are doing.

One of the best ways to cope with the theme. Amazing job! :D

josefnpat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Great job VRLD. At many points, I was like "for fucks sake". Perfect.

Small bug - when entering my name, p pauses the game.

Also, why can't I eat the pong ball with my snake? :)

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Great game. Extremly polished.

I had one bug where the "plop" sound was played over and over again, repeatedly. That did not sound good - otherwise, awesome.

Also, this game propably contains the most creative "back" button I've ever seen :)

runvs says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Nice Game and cool tutorial! Even that a gamejam game has a tutorial at all is great.
And you picked my favourite arcade games. I spend hours of playing crackattack with friends. :D

Conk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05pm

The idea is cool, although I found myself ignoring most of it and just swapping blocks about, and subsequently losing :P

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Neat, but I can't cop with these games in the same time. Interesting contribution with nice graphic. Thank you ++

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Fun game, although I'm not the biggest fan of Bejeweled, Pong and Snake :D
Are there more games? I died on Snake!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

nicely done man.. i sucked at it tho hah

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28am

Best game I've rated thus far. Stellar use of the theme and a really polished final product. Great job!

PriorBlue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:19am

wow, this is multitasking of it's finest. :)

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43pm

That's a lot of game on one screen! Feels really polished and is very fun (and stressful) to play. While not being very good at this I nearly beat the highscore when the snake ate a yellow blob and the whole tower came down in a multi-combo chain reaction :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very good game! Polished, unique, funny, and fun.

Havi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Great game! Probably one of the best I've played so far :)

nuno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49pm

cool concept vrld.. a bit stressing at times :D greetings from a fellow Löver ;)

ilokimo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:17am

Interesting!

stvr says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Excellent twist on a classic puzzle concept and an interesting take on the theme. Very nice!

Mokosha says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Great game! The only thing that makes me think you aren't a crazy ludum-dare game dev wizard to have made this in 48 hours is the feel of the pong controller. Everything else was great! Good job!

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:09am

Cool.

Harsay says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:30am

Me: The game is too slow.
Game: What is it? (spoiler)
Me: LOL

crazyrems says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Awesome. That was super addictive. Candy Crush + Snake + Pong :D Waoh !
Preemptive mutli-tasking skills challenged.
I can't give you a good rating at the theme because it was not three games in one screen but ONE game in an entire screen (joking...)

rjhunter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:22pm

You had me going there for a while. One of the best multigames I've played :-)

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:24pm

great game(s) !

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:34pm

It is interesting how you play multiple games at once, but ultimately I was a bit sad, because you said it would be a puzzle game, but it really was much more of an action/ multi-tasking game. Still very unique interpretation of theme. More like: Multiple games in one screen :D

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Very original take on the theme.
And well done.

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Very interesting. Would it have given me more than pong and snake if I hadn't lost?

Lynx says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:35am

Interesting idea to include all those games onto one screen. The tilted multiplier seems familiar... :)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:46am

I'm going to say, these multi-tasking games are...not my cup of tea. But I rated the game highly for its polish!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

Nice idea and nice game. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]