Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lumen

by mons657 - Compo Entry

Lumen is a puzzle platformer about a little stick man named Lumen, who must collect light bulbs to see the screen and move to the next level.

CONTROLS:

A and D to move.
Space to jump.
Holding space will grab the platform above you.
Walking into a wall while holding space will allow you to climb.
Left click to shoot your crossbow.

To beat a level, collect four lights.
You cannot move during narration.

Should be played with sound.

The Large enemy on the fourth level is a boss. He will attack you from a long way away, so be careful.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#299Mood3.24
#325Humor2.85
#405Fun3.24
#472Audio2.86
#587Overall3.17
#714Graphics2.83
#856Innovation2.69
#1127Theme2.76

Comments

Stechas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I really like the voiceover, it gives new dimension to the game and the game itself is challenging especially last level, very good work!

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I really like the game, but... Its not all on one screen...
I liked how you narrated out the story, but I wish you made each narration shorter, because it was boring being unable to move while you talked for half a minute. Overall its a good game.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Really nice atmosphere and story with the voice over. I really liked when you first get hit. The controls were nice but could have been a little tighter. Nice work

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Idea is nice and well executed. Even has story and tutorial "cutscenes". Gameplay is fun! And I like the "pick up light bulbs to progressively light the screen" idea.

There's some issues with collision (projectiles going through enemies and picking up projectiles doesn't always work). Also, funnily enough, you can stand on top of enemies. Not sure that is intentional but it sure is cool :) Also, technically the game isn't literally on one screen (it has several levels) but... whatever :)

Overall, great job!

mons657 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52pm

xWarZonex: I agree, the narration should have been shorter, or there at least should have been something to do while listening to it. Originally, you could move around while it played, but then I ran into the problem that you could trigger several voice overs at once, so I decided the simplest thing to do was just freeze the player.

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I enjoyed the movement, and the wall jump works well. Provided just enough challenge while being completable in a short time. My only real complaints here are 1. Yeah the narration is too long, and its frustrating not being able to move. 2. This isn't really on one screen. Good game though, and nice job.

Meral says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Holy cow that narration is fantastic. Exploring the level with an increasingly big light source is cool. It's an interesting alternate touch that you can stand on enemies with no problem.

The set of controls at the bottom got in the way on some levels. Also I had my troubles with the platforming, but I also suck with platformers in general.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Voiceover is cool, perhaps you should let the control to the player while it's playing. The controls are really cool too, even if there is some problems with collisions (especially in the last platform phase). Perhap^s its better to stick to walls while your SPACE button is set, and then use RIGHT & LEFT or UP & DOWN buttons to move along it ?
I was touched by the last boss because it was next to me at the beginning of the level. I couldn't undersand because I could not see him (but the other enemies can be seen in the dark, no ?)
Instead of doing new levels, perhaps you could have changed a same level dynamically (for example, Player activate a trigger with his items, then he sees the level parts moving, and finally the items get dispersed in the level and it gets dark (so there is a challenge of memory to remember how the new level is made).
Sorry for all this text, I liked the experience, so I wanted to give a big feedback :)

Meral says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:35pm

One thing I forgot, but shortly after noticed because I blew my eardrum. The audio volume is really low. I had to crank up my slider all the way to hear the voice acting at a just ok volume.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Cool, I really liked the idea and I think the narration added a cool touch. However, I thought the narration seemed to go on a little too much. And the fact that you couldn't move during narration broke the flow of gameplay for about 10 seconds or more. Nice work though.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Little nice game!I like the narrative!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:15am

The narration is a nice detail. I wish you could move while they played. Although I know that means you could trigger multiple ones at the same time. Maybe they'd have to be shorter sound clips to counter this. Or maybe just end the oldest sound clip when a new one is to play. Or maybe pause the game for a specific few important narrations, but have shorter narrations that don't pause the game too? I'm not sure. It's an interesting problem.

nesis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:50pm

I liked the voiceover, though it would be good if it were louder - I could hardly hear it with my volume turned up to 100%. I liked the self-reference and the wittiness of the dialogue.

MrSun says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I like how you added voiceover, it's pretty rare. Although there are some issues with game play -- when you hold space and you're on the ceiling it triggers the jump sound a bunch of times

taviandir says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:31pm

The voiceover is a bit low, but otherwise cool game and idea!
Also, source seems to be removed?

mons657 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Thanks, the links should be fixed now.

Appocket says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Really fun game, keep up the good work!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

really nice work

Treeaza says ...
Mar 12, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Thanks everyone for the great feedback.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]