Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bot War

by Aggrathon - Compo Entry

Lore:
Using humans for warfare is plain stupid, bots on the other hand... they have aimbots!

To minimize the potential for hacking the bots make their decisions all on their own, however they communicate through a server. Which gives you an angle of attack, change how the bots percieve the world!

###################

Controls:
WASD, Scroll - Adjust Camera
Space - Pause
E,R,T,F,G - Abilities
Mouse Click - Select Bots / Target Abilities
Escape - Back to Main Menu

###################

Gameplay Tips:
- Use 'Pause', 'Click' and 'Enemy Intel' to get an idea of where the bots MIGHT be going
- The bots have a mind of their own therefor you cant force them to go somewhere (you can however make a room very tempting)

Abilities:
- Make Sound/Sight: Works as if a bot had seen/heard something in a room
-Mute Room: Removes half the priority gained from sights and sounds (Can be used twice)
-Reset Last Visited: Rooms that have recently been visited by a bot have lower priority (doesn't need to be searched)
-Enemy Room Intel: Show how the enemy bots MIGHT prioritize different rooms.

###################

Ludum Dare Tip:
Don't make LD your first try at an unfamiliar complex AI system, you won't get much else done...

Used software:
Unity, RAIN, Paint.NET, bfxr.net, autotracker.py

###################

Edits:
Missing hallways and center rooms are now generating.
Fixed a bug where one team always shot first
Fixed bug making bots not pathfind correctly.
Fixed a typo making bots avoid the top and bottom rooms.
Due to a fix the Difficulty setting didn't work (fixed).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#158Innovation3.76
#578Overall3.18
#723Audio2.40
#769Theme3.44
#811Fun2.82
#902Mood2.52
#903Humor1.75
#1022Graphics2.34

Comments

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I like the concept of indirect control, but it is not quite clear which action do what, and it ends up to be a bit random.

I liked it anyway.

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nicely done. Once you get the hang of it, it's a fun idea. Unfortunately, control over the outcome seems very limited and it feels like you have very little control (understandable given you indirect nature of interacting with the logic). For me, the most successful strategy turned out to be nothing and just let the game play itself.

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16am

Whilst your instructions are clear in the description, really should of been added into the game in some way, as remembering all of that was quite hard. Was enjoyable however and I haven't played anything quite like it before. Good Job.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Love the idea of not having direct control of your bots! The ai system and graphocs needs some more work on them, but the base is pretty solid and fun to play around with! Would like to see a post LD version of it!

guldlock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Wow I really liked this game! The concept is so cool! Would be nice to see some graphics later to this game!

Coconut Mage says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Instructions unclear got D*** caught in fan

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Pretty cool idea! Was a little confusing at first but once I got the hang of it, it was fun

flouiz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29pm

I hoped for a decision bots simulator and it is not far from what I imagined. The graphics are necessarily ugly, sounds too, but the technical content is nice. I tried to push the number of bots but my PC screamed for attempted homicide haha

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I like this game!=)

Taldius says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:44am

I like the idea of controlling a whole team with only external actions, but the game clearly lack of feedbacks.
Anyway, good job!

lparker says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Really like the game and it looks like you spent a lot of time on the AI. Good Work.
Really enjoyed the game.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

nice top view game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]