Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Catspoutine versus Evil Snowmen Army

by MrMordem - Jam Entry

CHANGELOG :

- issues with the grapple after a game over are now fixed
- added OpenAL install to fix the sound issues (should do the trick but tell us if it still doesn't)
- the game will no longer crash when you grab an artifact and 2 or more are present on screen
- hats will no longer disappear if you don't grab them immediately (you need hats to complete levels so this was a gamebreaking bug)

Important notes : The apparent randomness of the artifact count is only due to the font, the pace of the game cannot be changed for the moment as it would be a gameplay change and thus against the rules, w'ell fix this post LD though :)

thank you, keep up the feedback guys !

Here is the game, It contains both a directory, one with installer and one with no installer.

The evil snowmen army invaded the snow covered land of Aglagla, a country inhabited by Cats.

You are Catspoutine, the last soldier left to defend the people of aglagla while the old sage Catstradamus tries to seal the snowmen's gateways to your world.

Use your snowball gun to defeat the evil army, and collect the telep-hats, magical hats that can help you travel to the next level.

Mouse Left => FIRE!!!!!
Mouse Right => Grapple

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#408Humor(Jam)2.75
#521Graphics(Jam)3.23
#611Audio(Jam)2.31
#730Fun(Jam)2.74
#789Theme(Jam)3.19
#869Mood(Jam)2.44
#919Overall(Jam)2.65

Comments

srakowski says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05am

This game was fun. When I got the santa hat I was pretty happy... However, the snowmen came so slow it was hard to stay interested for very long. GO CATSPOUTINE!

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

Can't open rar files

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

I really dig the art. I didn't understand what the ZSQD controls you mentioned were, though.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

The shooter mechanic is okay, but enemies take a lot of time to spawn and that makes the game very slow.

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02am

Hard to rate; the game had a nice look, but a lot of design issues (18 artifacts??). Overall good, but I wish there was a 3.5 star rating for this.

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Like others said. The art is cool and the concept too, but it is REALLY slow. Imo they should spawn at least 2 by 2 after 4 or 5 waves.

nokusu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Thank you all for the reviews !

this is our second entry to the LD jam as a team, so it's cool to see people like what we did, even if it's flawed,

bit of a late reply cause we all had to get some rest, we've noted the issues and we'll try to patch up what we can, and will keep you up to date as much as we can :)

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:04am

nice good job

ketura says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:11am

This....has a lot of problems. The incredibly glacial pace, the horribly random nature of the goal, and bad execution of the drops themselves (I kept having my artifacts count jump all over the place, from 9 to 18 to 11 and back). Judging by the intro, you spent more time on the backstory than you did on the mechanics. Next time, get a game and then come up with a backstory, not the other way around.

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:13am

Cool concept, but too easy in my opinion to be kept interested for long... during my 5 min playthrough, I was still at level difficulty 1. Also, there was no sound whatsoever when I played and there was some graphics flickering in the UI when I moved my mouse to aim. Hope you'll be able to fix that soon ;)

nokusu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:09am

noted guys :) some of the issues have been fixed some are still being looked at, unfortunately some could only be fixed post ludum (at least we think so cause they could be considered as gameplay changes :s ?)

anyway we'll still update any time we can, the randomness of the goal for instance, is more of a bug we didn't expect than an actual mechanic that was supposed to playout this way.

We went a bit wild on the silly backstory just for the fun of it, then again bear in mind, this is only our second entry, and first one to make the deadline though we'll try to get a more polished overall concept / game mechanics in our future projects.

Thanks again for your honest feedback guys, MrMordem, Ostrich_Sigma, and I, will keep an eye on for more bughunting, i'll try to get the changelog from the devs to see what's been patched up so far and edit the description if MrMordem doesn't have the time to(coding and stuff... :p)

and sorry for the long ass reply -_-'

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:29am

The drop rate on the carrots was way too low. I think it took me just north of 50 kills to get the 20 carrots I needed for the next level. That coupled with the slow spawn rate made for a very uninteresting experience. The graphics weren't bad though, and the sound effects, while a little loud, were a good fit. With some more depth to the gameplay (upgrades, make the different hats change your attack maybe?), it could be really good.

Erhune says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:36am

Overall fun! And upholding the universal truth: adding hats make a game more fun ^^

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:01am

Hah, i love that hats! 20 artifacts are a little bit too much (especially before they start moving quickly) i felt myself in the mmorpg 'collect 100 of these' quest.

Linear says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:09am

Fits the theme well, but wasn't really an interesting or innovating take on the theme. The goal kept changing, which was really annoyingly hard. The pacing of the game was a bit slow. I found it took forever to advance at all, and I don't know why you chose to use snowmen of all things as the enemies here. Game was interesting, but could use some tweaking with balance and pacing, ultimately.

nokusu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:43am

Once again noted guys and thank you for the feedback :)

MrMordem and Ostrich_Sigma are still at it when they got some time, they are currently working on fixing the game's "ending" as it is unwinnable in it's current state.

Though the ending screen we had planned can not be used for the moment (not sure if adding it would be considered a new feature) so we might just have a "the end" text during ludum

@Empyrealhell : As you know, the droprate / pacing issues could not be fixed right now, but we will address those eventually, Sigma is still working on the sound as even himself found out it was a bit too loud. The fun thing about the hats is, that having them as powerups to change your attack is what was innitially planned, we didn't implement it yet because of time constraints (we had quite some dev issues while making it thus many features missing right now)

@Erhune : Haha ! it's true, hats can make any game awesome, though we're clearly not at a TeamFortress level of awesomeness :p

@Demy : Yup, and these issues will be looked at post ludum, fun comparison though :p

@Linear : We kinda chose snowmen because of some joke we had during themevoting, one round was all about kitten hype, another about snowmen hype, so we kinda went "ok if either of these is the theme it's gonna be Snowmen vs Kittens for us" eventually the theme arrived and we kept this concept cause we thought we could make something humorous out of it. Innovation wise, we never claimed it would be, that's why we didn't tick this criteria for judging :)

Thanks again everyone, and keep the feedbacks coming, we'll keep you up to date !

Syjexs says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I like this game ! Cats for the win ! Good job everybody ! ^^

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:08am

Keep up the good work guys!nice entry! :)

nokusu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:42am

Thanks for the feedback guys, the devs are still working on some fixes, i'll update the log as soon as they are available.

We will also adress the gameplay issues and add a bit new features after the Ludum to make the game more fun :)

Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:38am

Nice art. I'd like to draw like this.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]