Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hockey Slash

by metalchouchen - Jam Entry

DESCRIPTION

Hockey Slash is a multi-player game.

The main idea was to kill monsters in coop and feel to play air hockey :)

--------------------------------
NOTICE

Hockey Slash need XBOX 360 controllers to works. (May be other controllers works, but I cannot test it).

If you got controller problems do not hesitate to close the game. Unplug and Plug your controllers.
Then launch the game.

Press B on pad 1 to activate player One.
Press A on pad 2 to activate player Two.
Press Y on pad 3 to activate player Three.
Press X on pad 4 to activate player Four.

Press Start to launch the game, or relaunch the game after a game over or a win.

In game, press A near to the puck to fire.

Some enemy need two players shoot the puck to be damaged.

--------------------------------
CREDITS

Programming, GameDesign : metalchouchen (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/metalchouchen/)

Art : Jenny (http://jhmenjaart.blogspot.co.uk/)

There is no sound, so you can make them with your mouth and have fun :)

Good game !

Damien;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#232Fun(Jam)3.41
#270Innovation(Jam)3.44
#315Overall(Jam)3.42
#366Theme(Jam)3.69
#576Mood(Jam)2.94
#750Graphics(Jam)2.72

Comments

Ulydev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I really love the main concept ! This is some neat multiplayer stuff :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:10pm

This game is awesome! I wish I had tried it at Paris Ludum Dare with more players. I'll be sure to spread the word.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Also, you should think about porting this to OUYA. This is the kind of game that OUYA owner's love.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:20pm

cool

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Interesting idea, played alone, it was kind of annoying how quick the disk stopped being able to cause damage

friken says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:38pm

nothing I pushed worked for start button. I have two logitec controllers.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Hello Friken, I'm sorry about your problem. But it's interesting. With your logitec controllers you can select a character but not start the game ?

piotrevic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:46pm

O, that's something new, really fun stuff

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:58pm

A little bit more polishing and it could be a solid game :)

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Cool concept, a little frustrating to not have mouse/keyboard controls.

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I don't understand why you didn't include keyboard support... You basically wiped out half the possible player base.

Then I brought mine out... And tried it... Control panel indicates it's working, works for my LD48 game No Mo Boxes,

But doesn't work on yours. Tried closing the game, plug in controller, made sure it worked, still doesn't work...

Sorry guy :/

hbocao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:31pm

It's a shame that I didn't have anyone to play with. Also It would be easier to play with someone using keyboard and mouse. Overall, you did a nice job!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I like the idea to play faraway from the screen. But I didn't really think it will be more easy for other people to test it. Also I should do that next time cause I've got lot's of trouble when I try my game with 4 gamepad instead of two.

Tuism what pad are you using ?

ilokimo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Good, I could imagine some additional mechanics like a slight magnetic snapping to the player

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Well done :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Good concept and solid prototype, needs to difficulty faster, I got bored after having not been damaged at all by wave 4 and just killed myself. I only played by myself but maybe you should introduce some competitive elements rather then making it purely coop.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:12am

Hey had fun playing this with 4 players. It was fun being chased by the monsters while teammates tried to take them down. It was hard to see the blue player on the blue background and reviving dead players was kind of unclear.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:31am

We actually did sounds with our mouths. : )

Taldius says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nice game, I like the mix between a shoot and a sport game.
Good job.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Really nice balance between don't die but still do better than the other players. Some audio stuff would have made this game amazing.

flouiz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I fell at 7. I got to play all alone, but it must be a mess with 4 players haha. You didn't try to make another game with Project Spark? :P

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:12am

I've got no xbox one and no windows 8. So...no more Spark for me :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Lucky I've got a controller (technically an arcade stick) to play this with but unfortunately no one else available to play with me but still, this was pretty addictive plus I liked the concept a lot (Although I'm not sure why there's no keyboard/mouse support as not everyone has gamepads for PC). Shame there's no sound though.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:19pm

It was funny Until wave 5 wher I couldn't kill the enemy due to lack of player two. Great game!

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Can't achieve controllers :(

nbilyk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:20am

I much enjoyed playing it with the controller. the controls felt solid, I liked the bosses.

nov1kk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Good game!
Missing some special abilities or something, but still nice!

sikosis says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Not bad. Would have been good if the disc had friction, otherwise it was a novel approach.

2193q says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:51am

i like it.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

It was a bit confusing how you could get outside of the gamefield, though it could have been used as a game mechanic, like swanping the field sometimes so you have to get out, or something.

It's a neat game idea, if you work it for a while it could be a pretty good game. Good job!

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I dont have a 360 controller ... !
But it looks fun and cool :) !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]