Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bugged Out

by InfectionTeam - Jam Entry

Game by Sebastian Lague (Code), Daniel Snd (Art) and Thiago Adamo PxlDJ (Audio).

Play some old games on your computer and try not to get bugged out!

- If you need to change quality settings use F1 to F5 (F1 lowest quality).
- W & S to move your pong racket.
- WASD to move around. Mouse click (left and right) for attacks.
- Click on the bugs! (Specially that red one!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#13Theme(Jam)4.43
#22Graphics(Jam)4.59
#27Overall(Jam)4.06
#50Audio(Jam)3.95
#69Innovation(Jam)3.91
#90Mood(Jam)3.77
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#119Fun(Jam)3.66

Comments

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

fun fun fun fun!

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

kill all the bugs!

woodecker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53am

Fun to play and very polished game. The spider attack (right click) is difficult to master. The theme was perfectly implemented, using one-screen-game like Pong and the spider on the screen.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Achei meio difícil de acerta as moscas, é ta um pouco "duro" quanto a movimentação e ação.

Se desse uma melhorada nessas coisas ele ia ficar um jogo incrível, o conceito ta muito divertido e a arte ta espetacular.

Parabéns :D

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07am

I really like games that you make.
I must say that I learned a lot from your tutorials. I am beginner and I probably woudnn't dare to create anything. But few days ago I decided to take part in Ludum Dare. And now I just created my first game. I can honestly say that this is also thanks to You guys I was able to do this.

Back to the game. There are actually more games inside one. That is nice concept. Assets look really nice and animations are gorgeous. I hope You will make more great things.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09am

Fun game, though it's a bit difficult to recover after you mess up.

Kim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03am

Great game, looks and plays smooth :) cool take on the theme.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40am

Ohh! Really fun and addictive ! Neat concept!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:46am

Really simple, enjoyable, fun. And it is executed beautifully!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47am

this is amazing, and awesome. great work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49am

The best quality that I ever see on this LD. Gameplay is fun, but have no big goals. That make playing to be pointless. So sad, because game so cute.

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36am

Wow, this is really good. I wish I could accomplish this in a weekend. :b

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38am

Nice idea! Great use of the theme. Spider attacks were quite tricky though..

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:52am

Dig the concept, dig the graphics, dig the effects, dig the sounds, dig the storytelling, it was all really cool... BUT.

Everything, taken individually is cool, but some fatal bugs (haha) or slight lack of feedback made the game unenjoyable for me:

There's a general sense of not knowing what you're doing - the web doesn't seem to go where you want it to, the attacks don't seem to connect when it looks like it's connected. I don't feel like I'm in control.

I think a lot of it comes in the fact that I'm controlling 2D but seeing 3D - I'm not actually aware that the bugs are ABOVE the ground level plane? Well I suspect that they are but I have no way of telling.

I think shadows beneath the bugs and the spider may solve this. Amazed by the amount of stuff you put into this LD as well as the previous! :)

taaboo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07am

Smooth game. Fairly simple but fun none the less. I remembered your name aswel. Your unity tuts helped me get into the program so thanks for that ;)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14am

Haha! Really fun idea and good implementation! Nice job!

camlang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07am

Really cool! You need to develop the idea further. Better still for Oculus

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02am

Very good to play, only it's a bit difficult to hit the flies (apparently the Hitbox is smaller than it looks), if this is improved would be even better

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:44am

Cool! Very good job!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57pm

A very fun game here! The game is perfect for LD:
Innovative, great graphics, great sounds.
A must have for this LD#31!

pegigante says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Congratulations! Good idea.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Very nice, and the theme is 100% here, well done!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Yep. This game is amazing. I especially liked the music playing before you turn on the lamp. You should probably upload the soundtrack for the game! I liked the idea of the game. I expected to be playing pong and other games on the computer and then suddenly, the game completely changed which was pretty cool. Overall, great game, great music, great graphics, great idea, great whatever else I can talk about.

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Fantastic intro to a great game! Well done!

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35pm

hello, can you post a windows 32 bits version? looks like it's for 64bits win. thank you! (web version of unity games crashes my chrome)

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very nice use of the theme. The controls feel a little bit off

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

This is a really well done game, it has a professional feel to it. All the graphics, all the assets are perfect. Gameplay is not its strongest side though, sorry.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Very fun and very polished, a game that implements the theme very well. Great sumbission!

chadiik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Fun! :D

VictorL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Haha, Like it! I wanna play Pong!

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Hahaha, this made my day, I wasn't expecting the game on top of the screen after pong. And I don't normally like spiders, but this poor guy... and those pesky flies...
Loved it, very well done overall. I do wish it were somewhat easier to aim.

Wertle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nice twist! I had trouble figuring out how I was aiming my butt. The visuals are lovely and the music feels appropriate. (like a spider). Nice work!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28pm

normally I vote down games that filled with bugs :P but I think I will make an exeption

really fun. with leader boards and shit! this is awesome dude.
keep up the good work.
I loved the twist when you think its a boring game then it turn out to be so fun and buggy.

jotave says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I love it but i missed to know about my score in the game

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:06am

Incredibly addicting! Found myself totally absorbed by this, awesome game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:08am

the left click attack was hard, but this is really beautiful and really polished. I mean, from the time I typed in my name, I felt the game to be responsive and bouncy. Loved it. And I lol'd on the pun

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:34am

It was kinda hard to click on those tiny flies, and I ended up walking off the screen more times than was reasonable. The graphics are really nice, and the enemy behavior and overall gameplay is pretty refined, if difficult and simplistic.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57am

Graphics and Audio is amazing! gameplay is fun and easy. I also loved the animations. Great entry!

Soron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33am

Very nicely done :). Beautiful graphics, excellent use of the theme (you have one minigame on the front of a screen, the main game on the physical top of the screen, AND the whole thing fits the arcade definition of "single screen"), and a catchy tune.

I did find the controls a bit hard to use, though - I'm confused by the trajectory of the silk attack (left click), and the charge attack (right click) never seemed to hit anything.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Very slick! Game plays well and is beautifully presented. Interesting take on the theme too. :)

vicentereis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Dan! It's a really nice idea! I think that the spider movements are alittle hard to control! But it's really enjoyable! Very polished, as ever!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Great take on the theme and a lot of fun! Great concept and artwork.

kaa says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10am

Very nice and beautiful! Thank you

udo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Hehe, that was excellent. Very well done and nicely polished.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Beautiful game in every aspects. Hats off to you guys. :)

---
Come and see us: http://goo.gl/d1gAZl

whilefun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Wow, great job! There was one bug (heh.) where if I clicked to shoot my web and missed, the web would go on a 90 or 45 degree random angle, rather than where I clicked. However, the rest of the game is so fun and great I can deal. One thing that would be neat is a more obvious "Your score was X" before showing high scores. Overall a really well done game! :)

RetroEpic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:41pm

A very literal interpretation of the theme - love it! Amazing work guys.

skonkan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Cool and well done game.

Groydis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Great quality. Great Audio, Fun Game Play, Interesting take on the theme. Good Job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Really amazing game, once again! I Included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Z4bPWwSnLLA

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:29am

Your interpretation of the theme was fantastic, having both a game in a screen and on top of a screen was a great idea (plus, it's a one-screen game anyway). The graphics and sound were both good, I especially liked the transition between the pong music to the spider music. Good work!

Catwheel says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:02am

wow.. I'm... really impressed at how much got done in 72 hours!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:23am

Awesome game. Just wish I could have seen my score when I lost.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:50am

Very cool game

exoddinary says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Awesome game! I've always been following you!

01101101 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Really good interpretation(s) of the theme, very nice :)
The first play-through with the surprise change makes it especially fun, but the next games are really cool as well.
Graphics are pretty, audio is nice and gameplay is simple but well done. Great job!

rantt says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Cool, concept on the theme. Fun game, I really liked it. Good job :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Really innovative and fun entry, with good use of theme. Great entry. :)

Riocide says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Really fun game! hahaha chowing those flies so rewarding!

allurious says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Really nice take on the theme! I had a bit of trouble controlling the spider attacks, but I love the concept and thought it was really well executed. Well done, team. :)

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Awesome! :D

klianc09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:11pm

The graphics are really awesome.
It was at first very confusing how to attack, because even when you slightly missclick, the web shoots somewhere totally else so I was unsure where exactly I had to click.
But after figuring that out it was pretty easy, only after a while your left attack isn't fast enough to eat all incoming bugs. But I somehow didn't understand how the right attack exactly works.
Still, I made it on the leaderboards with 185 points.

Robber says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:21pm

great little game, props for the spider anti-edge drop special move, very well executed!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:02am

Very nice game!Great graphics!I love typing in the intro!excellent!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:27am

Having to click directly on the flies is the weakness of the gameplay I think. It seems it would be more intuitive to have it hit the first thing in the clicked direction.

The presentation and the ping pong intro is really cool though.

ianatherton says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:58am

Great job as always.

Venturelli says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Great game and very polished as usual :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Well, that's most definitely on theme, at least twice over! The spider animations were good. If I were being critical I would say that I did feel a little disconnected from the action occasionally.

Sestren says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Really fun and cute!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Fits the theme really well. The graphics are really good, and so is the music. I miss more action, like more agressive bugs :P
Well done here!

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:01am

Probably one of the highest ratings I've ever given a Ludum Dare game! Such a pretty game.

Wrote a review on the Rustbox Games website > http://www.rustboxgames.com/review-bugged-out/

flyingbear says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:35am

Awesome presentation and interpretation of the theme! Took me right back to the Apple II days. Love the unexpected twist. (I kept clicking on the spider at first to squish it, then I realized... I *am* the spider!)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:25am

You guys did a phenomenal job on this one. The ONLY thing I could suggest would be to make a reticule that changes color when you are correctly aimed on one of the flies, just to give players better feedback on where they're aiming/when they're aiming correctly. Other than that, I don't have any complaints about it.

What I LOVED could form a much longer list. The art was absolutely great -- I loved the shaders, the colors, the little motes of dust in the air, the trails behind the flies and everything! It was very cohesive and it all fit with itself. I really liked the visual queues as to where you were shooting your spider silk, and when the little bug-bombs were dropped.

The gameplay was engaging and fun, I really liked how the life bar and the score was kept to the computer screen, and how the little flies would all come in and cutely poke and prod and feast on my little spider carcass when I died. :D

Great job! I really enjoyed it! :)

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:07pm

I have only one thing to say that hasn't been said already... "AZERTY"

That is just a minor concern though. Good Job!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:49pm

What a great game from you, as always! First of all the use of theme, a game ON a screen, is very creative! The graphics and sounds are awesome too! The game is a little hard, and kind of a rage game :P I only got a few of the red ones.

Mechamew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Fantastic entry. Real stand out game.

Great take on the theme, brilliantly executed. Graphically superb to boot! I look forward to seeing this game being highly rated by the end of this judging period!

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Very cool idea, graphics were fantastic, but the spider was a bit difficult to control.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Pssst! You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpmlKDMEGYo

sebasRez says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Awesome concept, and really interesting take on the one screen theme. Nice job!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:13pm

its amazing how much polish there is in this game. great job. wish the computer monitor was a little bigger just to have more playable space

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Well done. At first I was like "this is a pretty nice looking pong clone" when it turned into something totally different. Awesome switch!

Night says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I like your view on ludum's theme. You are creative)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Need another arachnid, mine is dead... XD
Fun idea, and good mood. Well done. :)

barryrowe says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:12am

Great entry. This really throws you for a curveball. I like that. I was worried a lot of people were going to use the sitting at a computer screen gimmick, and I'm glad you all did what you did. Fun, looks good, sounds good, challenging. Well done.

runvs says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Hi there, very nice entry! Thoug you didn't use the theme exactly since you did two games on(to) one screen, but this will of course not affect my rating :)
All in all, very nice work, keep up the good spirit. Plus please make more "behind the scenes", those are alway great to watch!

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Woo awesome graphics.
Game mechanism is pretty cool.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:55am

Haha, I wasn't expecting that! Very fun, excellent graphics and animation. The one issue I had was that it's difficult to know where you're aiming, somehow it seems like it doesn't shoot the correct direction. I dunno if I just need practice, though...Great job, though!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:42am

Pretty slick, and fun to play. I like the use of the computer screen instead of a HUD for the UI.

lxd1 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Fun

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:07pm

This is pretty well polished. Well done! Had a bit of trouble figuring out what's going on in the beginning though.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I recorded when I played the game: http://youtu.be/YaTs8VBymNU

Really cool game and a super fun interpretation of the theme! I'm impressed by how polished the game feels. It would have been nice with another addition along the lines of the bomber to up the difficulty - it felt a little bit like surviving longer didn't require that much more finesse, but rather just clicking faster. I guess you would survive longer if you moved around more, but still - something that made it possible to be better at the game either by clicking better or by doing whatever that other thing is better. I think that could give an added depth to the gameplay. Apart from that, I think it's great. The graphics are great, the sound is awesome, the controls are very responsive and everything has just come together very nicely. Lots of cool design choices, like the mini game in the beginning, the score being displayed on the screen, the phun interpretation of the theme. Very well done, I'm impressed!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Great entry!

I thought it was really clever with the theme of the jam. I had some trouble with the bug's attacks like a few other people. I think it's great that you implemented a leader board! The first arcade style game I've seen in LD that actually has one, and it's clever how it's on the monitor. :)

Tonasz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Maybe mechanics are too simple but I don't care. The polish you put into this game is over it. I love double theme correlation. The way flies approach you from different angles and cast different shadows creates such a nice mood. The use of screen (minigame + stats; the last one could be more visible during main game) is really creative. Catchy tune in the background. Every simple detail you put into this game is outstanding. Great job!

greytram says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:05am

Very funny game!
Awesome graphics and sound, with a very cartoonish atmosphere.
Well done!

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:47am

Amazing visuals and polish! I, too, had some trouble figuring out how to use the attacks and deal with the bugs' z-level. I felt like clicking in a direction should fire in that direction - it wasn't until I came back and read the description closer that I realized you had to click on the bugs. The game didn't really give any feedback when you missed the bug - the web would just shoot way off somewhere random. I also found the dash to be less-than-useful because the bugs tend to clump up and you never get all of them with it, so its pretty likely you'll be getting hit if you use it.

The movement felt very good, though.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:23am

This entry is fantastic, guys: the gameplay is solid, the music is ridiculously catchy, and the art is well done. I'm impressed with what your team pulled off!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

That was different- I liked it! Got a bit tedious to click bugs, but the initial excitement was very nice :-) Good job.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-31-huv4hmz6

Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

I like it. We have a winner :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]