Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen Savers

by VikingWarriors - Jam Entry

Face the odds. Climb to new heights. Save the world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Humor(Jam)3.68
#133Theme(Jam)4.00
#270Innovation(Jam)3.44
#284Audio(Jam)3.25
#332Overall(Jam)3.40
#406Mood(Jam)3.17
#423Fun(Jam)3.16
#500Graphics(Jam)3.28
#1818Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42pm

The controls were quite fiddly and a bit frustrating, but I loved the concept behind the game, and I did push until I got to the end, chuckling a couple times along the way :)
Congratulations for finishing and good luck in the voting!

fuzzalicious says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I love you can play around with the screen. Got the feeling you were on an airplane playing on their entertainment system.

snapman_GT says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:02am

The movement was too slippery to play. Might have been a clock timing issue?

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:42pm

that was a genuinely fun game. Great use of the theme too. the friction's a little low for my tastes, but it only slightly affected the experience. Great entry!

Meral says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:41pm

I think that's the first game I've ever played, where you can respawn in the credits screen. =D

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:58am

Brilliant ,)

the controls were a bit floaty, but it left me with a huge grin, so... Well done .)

Rothens says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:43pm

This is very genuine, loved the idea! :D

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:11pm

The controls are indeed quite floaty for this, but that's an amusing and thoroughly executed fake monitor you've got in here!

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:44pm

So cool idea with display settings inside the game screen! I like this game!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:34pm

That fun :) Sad you not use button, like color and move screen in your level design. Congrats by the way!

Samm says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 3:18am

Ha, clever use of the theme. The player seemed to float a bit much, which made landing accurately awkward.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]