Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hive

by JoshuaBurr - Jam Entry

Bit of a vague entry. I wasn't really sure what I was aiming for half of the time, I was just having fun playing with lights. I decided to go with the secondary theme: "You Are Not Supposed To Be Here".

I usually focus entirely on gameplay and completely ignore everything else (mostly because I'm awful at everything else...) so this time I decided to focus on the visuals instead. This means that I've not put very much effort into making sure that everything is nicely balanced (so it may be far too difficult).

The sound-effects were created at the last moment by a friend of mine, Antoine Bardoz (https://soundcloud.com/antoinebardoz). Many thanks to him.

The music was created by 'Technophobic Android' and was taken from opengameart.org so don't give me any credit for that. I didn't want to opt out of audio because of Antoine's sound effects.

You will find downloads under the web player.


I strongly recommend using a mouse instead of a trackpad.


Keyboard Controls (recommended):

​WASD or Arrow keys to move/jump/crouch

Left Click to shoot

Right click to launch a flare



Control Pad Controls:

Left stick/D-pad to move

A to jump

B/Left trigger to crouch

Right trigger to shoot

Right bumper to launch a flare

Right stick to aim



Tips:

After each night any used flares will be replaced and you will get to choose an upgrade.

The enemy is afraid of light. You can launch flares and have a torch on your head that automatically projects light in-front of you.

The enemies learn a few new tricks after the first night.



Let me know how well you do in the comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#90Mood(Jam)3.77
#203Audio(Jam)3.41
#223Graphics(Jam)3.83
#266Overall(Jam)3.49
#277Fun(Jam)3.35
#544Theme(Jam)3.51
#683Innovation(Jam)2.76
#750Humor(Jam)2.06

Comments

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01am

The smiling face on the spiders is unnerving. Great use of lighting. Awesome game!

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11am

The look and feel of this one are great!

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

Great game, looks really good! I like how the monsters eat you while you are dead. It is indeed very unforgiving, though. Took me several tries to make it to night 2. The sound effects are also top-notch.

jmborden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15am

Wow one of the better jam entries I've played so far. The after glow from the vaporizer is a really neat effect, it was so cool to blast a spider as it jumped towards me and have its glowing afterimage pass through. The gameplay is solid and just works. Right when I was thinking "this game would be cooler with upgrades"... the night is over and I got to upgrade! Really well done and the first game that I've given a five star for mood. Nice work!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16am

I couldn't figure out how to use the torch light.... but other than that, nice look and feel. The spiders are scary they move really fast! I never made it past the first night :/. Well made game!

zillix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

Awesome ambiance! It definitely created a sense of fear in trying to defend myself from the spiders. Great work.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52am

If you were going for difficulty, you hit the nail on the head! Well done!

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13am

Pretty fun liked the graphics overall pretty solid. The mood was neat. solid overall experience!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Those spiders... they're my worst nightmare. Great job!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Very well crafted atmosphere, there's a certain tension ongoing all the time. Maybe would've liked a bit more tension, a little less action. Still very entertaining to play.

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Great spooky game!

RadStar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02pm

not bad

acerunox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Whoa, looks really good. Graphics, sound effects and atmosphere. I also like that they eat you when you die.

Smiley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:46pm

This is how I feel when finding a spider in my basement.

kaype says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Hot damn... I love the feeling suspense here! The simplicity of the game is what makes it so great.

The lighting effects, graphics and sounds/music put the game all together. I'm amazed!

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I like how the spiders act like boo from mario, I had fun. I think the mouse controls were good, and overall it was a cool game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Cool game, very good atmosphere building and great audio ambiance. The light effect works very well.

I know you intend to make the hero shoot towards the mouse cursor, but the feel of shooting a spider that is "on the same platform as me do" is weird, for that you need to aim a bit lower than expected (probably because spiders are short? but it doesnt look so). That could be my own opinion, though.

Anyway, a great game!

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I hate spiders haha :p

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Scary. The way the spiders die is unnerving ... Great setting. Especially liked the way the spiders behave. Felt very "real"

peterthehe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:14pm

It's uncanny. The spiders are smiling and the player is faceless. The music is unnerving. 5/5 mood :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

I loved it. Really addictive.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Very clean entry. I enjoy the atmosphere you created. Very hard!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Nice graphics. Not a game for playing during the night... Great work!!!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I didn't last that long, but it was fun. I enjoyed the lighting effects, it really set the mood.

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Cool. Nice, simple game. Easy to understand. Alien spiders bad. Shoot them! SHOOT THEM!

I like the spider death animation (fading to green)

There's a funny thing going on with the controls. The mouse controls are so much better than the controller controls that you'd have to be crazy to use the controller. That's a funny little balancing problem.

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Eh very cool nice mood and light fx, i found the control responsive and react pretty well, fun and great at the same time, congratz !

Havi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Creepy and very nice game! I like the graphics and light effects! Really sets the mood. Great job! :)

BroCade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Excellent game and addictive

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:34pm

really fun entry. I had trouble making it past the first night, but I still enjoyed it. The sound is well done, and those spiders! creepy as hell. Good job!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:27am

Really cool game, simple and fun.
Nice graphics and game feel. Very creepy.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:28am

Nice atmosphere in this. Graphics and sound are spot on. The gameplay is pretty good too, if a little simple. Fun stuff.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:45am

Dude this game has great atmosphere and the use of the flares as a gameplay mechanic to hold back the hive is so cool! I got legitimately freaked out when the spider things jumped at me. This is really really cool!

panda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:53am

Great game! Very good ambiance, graphics and sound. This is hard! Though it's partly my fault as lazy me didn't want to fetch a proper mouse, so I don't have a right mouse button on the trackpad. I didn't make it past the first night! Still I really like what's there. Extra mood points for the spiders eating me after I'm dead (yuck!).

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:55am

Well done with the lighting effects! Found the spiders to be a little disruptive to the rest of the artistic style you have going for the game.

someone says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:57am

That was fun. Great spiders.

kaa says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:58am

Good graphics, lighting, physics, animations. Interesting game experiance.

Mixer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:17am

Very good graphics!

bitserum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:25am

I really liked this, the use of audio is awesome and together with the dangers lurking from the shadows kept me on my toes all the way. The spiders are really creepy (thank you, btw, for increasing my fear of them some more ;) )
I love how their green silhouettes still go after you, this creates a deeper sense of fear. just awesome crafted mood all around.

It's really hard though, but I'm content with my progress to the 2nd night.

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:33am

Hey Joshua, I can't get the game to work

"Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/XXX/Desktop/Ludum Dare Games/Hive/Hive_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126)."

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:59am

@Warboys A quick google for that error suggests that you need to update your .NET Framework.

I must admit that I never tested things on Windows, I'll take a look tomorrow and see if it works for me.

Lynx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:13am

Great job on the atmosphere, a really fun and challenging game overall. Maybe update the GUI visuals to match your game a little better though

huggabugga says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:36am

good scary game, fantastic mood. the smiles of the spiders, while creepy, could match the rest of the game a little better.

woz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:01am

Great game. I would have liked a crosshair or something to see where I'm aiming, but it's still fun

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:18am

Nice graphics. The gameplay was pretty intense.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:45am

There is a great "Lovecraft" feel to this game. :) It's very creepy -- I really like the toothy smiles on the spiders, and the animations when they feast on your corpse send little spidery shivers down my spine!

This game totally needs more content and a smoother difficulty curve (as it is currently 80-90 degrees or so). Perhaps a life meter or perhaps adding tension with a rescue crew trying to save you from the spidery pit of doom. It totally needs larger, bigger, uglier monsters, bosses and more weapons you can throw at them. :) The day/night mechanic is really challenging, too!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Very atmospheric
made me feel fear a bit)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Damn spiders! Cool game! I Included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/YpdCMKphEUw

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Fun idea !

Lovelock says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:58am

I had a lot of fun playing this. Clever survival concept and the graphics/audio fit together quite well. Definitely a favorite for spider fans out there. :)

SumGato says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Very hard, I couldn't get pass the first night. Good work with the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]