Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Turing 404

by SIMON_SIMON - Jam Entry

« Turing 404 is a game which aim to explore human behaviour from an external point of view, in a humorous and visually appealing way. »

That's what we said to our parents. In fact, the idea came out in the craziest possible brainstorming about buttons, robots, and blue dogs. We spend a lot of times finding funny sounds, cool graphics and silly jokes. We rushed to implement levels the last day, in the last hours.

We spend time thinking about each thing, and we hope this game will make you think.
It was really fun to make, and we hope it will be fun for you to play too. :)

It's our second game in cooperation, as usual :
- Blazingzboub (Graphics, Voice actor, Game Design)
- Pyrofoux (Code, Silly Jokes, Game Design)

Now, please play it, rate it, and comment it !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Humor(Jam)4.37
#154Theme(Jam)3.97
#170Fun(Jam)3.53
#184Mood(Jam)3.52
#237Innovation(Jam)3.50
#256Overall(Jam)3.50
#671Graphics(Jam)2.90
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:46am

Clicking on the "begin the test" button, and nothing happens?

Pyrofoux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

@tpmxyz. The red buttons only works when the page is fully loaded, so you may need to wait a few secs before you can start the game. If it still doesn't work, please tell me which navigator you're using. :)

Meedoc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Excellent! You provide a great experience!

t4u says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Text loads too slwoly. No way to speed it up. I cant play it, too slow!

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04pm

@t4u : The game is mostly about the text...

We didn't want the player to skip every dialog to get to the end, it's not the point. We want you to read our silly jokes :)

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Very funny - Took me a few tries but I think I worked out mostly what the buttons are. Nice idea, and the humour makes it great!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I really liked the dialogue! Normally I'm not much of a reader but the topic really got me interested. Nicely done! Funny game (: Just not really anything I'd 'play' for long, but that's okay! Also the style worked really well with the sillyness, although the graphics themselves could've been a bit better in my opinion.

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very fun to play. I only find the sounds a bit annoying after playing like 5 minutes.

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21pm

@Hwinwuzhere : Yep, that's what we thought too. That's why there is a "Mute" button :)

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Really fun to play. I finally passed on my 3rd try with 5/10. I agree with t4u on skipping text, but only the beginning part. Once the test begins, I don't think you should be able to skip. But the beginning part seems to take a long time when you are playing a second time.

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Brilliant - I love it. Burst out laughing when I told a mugger I love him.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Great job! I love it, so much, I'm going to replay it a lot!

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56pm

LOL. Nice take on the turing test. Would like to restart the game without waiting for the intro text though ;)

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:18pm

A version without intro is now available !

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Mark the new version as post-comp so people do not confuse it with what they are judging.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:47am

Very entertaining, nice job!

TKF15H says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:55pm

This was great! I'll go play it some more!

psychonull says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Great that you uploaded the version without the intro for replay! Enjoyed the different situations and humor.

rainshapes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I love that you included a version without the intro! Funny stuff!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Quite humorous.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I really would have loved a speed-up button. I get your point about the game only being about the text, but you also expect us to play through it multiple times when one wants to see all answers, and then it's really annoying having to wait for the same text to finish for the 10th time...
The post-compo version without the intro made this a lot better, else I wouldn't have bothered playing it multiple times.

But nonetheless I really liked the humour. This is one of the funniest games I have seen this LD. :D
It's just... that I hate waiting.

Also, would it have been so hard to create a restart button, other than having to re-load the site completely. (My internet isn't the fastest, so reloading that takes again around 12 seconds.)

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Yep, we're aware of that and thanks for this nice feedback ! :-)

The thing is, time was a precious thing during this Ludum Dare and we barely finished the game on time... Next time, you will hae 146848415135187 Restart buttons !

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Clicking on the "begin the test" button, and nothing happens? (on chromium)

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:28pm

You may need to wait until the page fully load before the Begin the Test could work. A good way to see if the page is fully loaded is to check the "loading" icon in the tab corner. Still spinning = still loading

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Quite the funny game! I Included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yuPvpTdD-O8

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Funny :) !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]