Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Kram Keep

by Knighty - Compo Entry

Explore the castle, shoot enemies, and collect new abilities!
How much can I possibly cram into a single screen? You're about to find out!


~<Controls>~

Move- Arrow Keys, or WASD
Jump- X, V, or Spacebar
Shoot- C, or Ctrl
Zoom- Shift

Hold Up or Down to climb ladders.
You can press Down to go through certain platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#38Graphics4.23
#64Overall3.84
#141Mood3.49
#186Theme3.95
#187Fun3.54
#498Audio2.82
#710Innovation2.92
#742Humor2.23

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19pm

nice take on the theme, nice graphics, great level design, but it's missing a Pause button, it might not be needed in this game, but it can be very useful when you add enemies with random movements.

Anachron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Nice! I love sidescrollers like this where you can see the entire level while you're playing. Gives it a great sense of scale. Couldn't beat it this time around, but I'll be back to try again soon I'm sure. Congrats on your entry :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Pretty awesome. The shift button is cheating a little ;). But it's really cool. I'll have to come back and play the whole thing.

BTW: You might have to opt in to the categories you want rated in. I'm going to bookmark this page so I can rate it.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53pm

This is incredible, amazing game, just loved it.

I´ve noticed when you pick up wall kick skill in the background there´s a shade guiding to where to wall jump, is that on purpose? Nice touch.
Please add some music, i can help you with that if you like.

And man, please PLEASE edit your submission and allow rating your game, we cant rate it.

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Nice game, really enjoyed trying it :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01am

This looks so good! I thought to myself it would be cool to make a platform game with tiny sprites and huge playing area on one screen....but I didn't have the knowledge or skills to make it. So this is really exciting for me to play this. It's awesome. Well done. For some reason there is no place for me to give star ratings on this page. Have you disabled them?

allanolivei says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06am

the graphics and the idea is very good. I think the enemies could move and shoot slower.

Deft97 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08am

Very difficult, but definitely fun c:
Loved the graphics.

ekun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:14am

I like this game!

All the elements of a good metroidvania.

I was a little bit disappointed by the boss, but I understand how the time constraints can cut things off.

Will come back to rate this highly after you enable ratings.

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18am

Vey difficult, but I see there was a lot of solid work.

dlowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30am

I'd love to give you a great rating, looks like you've opted out :/

Well: this is very impressive and fun. I got stuck on the lower part of the castle after getting the double jump, and quit out of frustration of having to re-do that long sequence of jumps, only to be killed by the shooter next to the ladder in the corner :P

Anyway: very impressive. Nice work :)

razieliyo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32am

very cool! can't vote it man

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35am

Good take on the theme, great level design, and sweet graphics! I had a lot of fun with this one, especially with the difficult platforming segments.
The game could've been better with some music, nerfing the laser enemy (he could be impossible to dodge every once in a while), and obviously, a full boss fight at the end.
Good job!

Knighty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

Ratings should be enabled now.

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:50am

Those unscaled pixels <3

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43am

Great platformer, very cruel also. Had a great time playing it.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Nice game, the gameplay was kinda rough at some points (unavoidable lasers) but it was quite fun anyway, nice work!

wooltech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Tough but fun.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10am

Really amazing use of the theme restrictions. I Included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Kdfz6b6_ebE

lekochen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:43am

Finally survived those double jump/wall jump. Nice pixel art/challenging levels as usual. Nice work!

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:15am

Great game, very challenging, specially if aiming to get all the powerups, although got to the final enemy and I was expecting a boss battle ;-;, but great job!

Xaychru says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Really nice game, kept me playing for a while! It took me like 15 minutes to notice the tetris blocks. ^^

Dexyne says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:35pm

A good game with fun.

Good graphics and respect the theme, just missing some audio.

But well done.

tcarter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:19am

Really great! Like looking at a Nintendo Power map to Mega Man.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:40am

very nice platformer - really liked the small graphics - awesome

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Really like the graphics in this one. Found it difficult timing the jump and shoot. Nice work.

BretHudson says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Super challenging, and a great amount of content for the 48 hours!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice game, you can put a little more feedback for the actions in the game, a little explosion in the shot, little dust while walking, this kind of stuff :)

reminds me of castlevania harmony of despair, it's a good thing

the zoom feature is really awesome :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Cool, interesting take on the theme, metroidvania style! I love the genre and your game represented it really well. I only missed some health recovery drops from the enemies. Overall a very polished entry for the compo, good job!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Relly awesome game. Tight controls and great graphics. That section at the bottom was by far the most difficult part, it would have been great to have more checkpoints down there. Also I expected an epic boss battle at the end...

Conk says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Really wanted to complete it, but that bit at the bottom was just so tedious, should really put a grave by the double jump pickup as it was just too much pressure as death would mean having to trek all the way back. Really good job though (:

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Nice game, with its interesting zoom concept !
Missing a little music for the mood

estuardolh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:01pm

lovely graphics, challenging
pause function ?

Mase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I also gave up after getting the double jump and experiencing the subsequent despair and rage. I'd need an easy mode with more checkpoints to win this.

Nice art though.

rubna says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:39pm

cool game! very hard but managed to beat it :D the bossfight was a bit anti-climactic but that's ok, haha. Well done!

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Nice game, I like the art, animation, and zoom feature. Some sounds would be very useful for a better mood.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Love the graphics! The gameplay is definitely challenging.

recursor says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I enjoyed this. Everything is so tiny and cute and difficult.Nice job.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:43am

Very well-polished, love the art! No music, which is a shame. I felt a lot of the "difficulty" could easily be avoided if you put some more checkpoints around - particularly in the bottom section, where the unavoidable laser guy ruins your day after the amount of tries it took to get that far. I think an element of wall stickiness would make wall-jumps more enjoyable; as it is it's too easy to activate a double jump by mistake and ruin your progress. Still, fantastic entry otherwise: love the graphic style and I enjoyed the timelapse vid that sent me here. Kudos!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:25am

Bottom part anbelievable hard.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:00am

well! I really liked the game. fitting this whole metroidvania on the screen is amazing.
couple of complaints: (a minor thing) enemies health doesn't reset when you die, it only respawns ones you've killed (which is a nice mechanic btw). The jumping is too fast/too much gravity. it was very hard in some wall jumping puzzles trying to get up. also the one puzzle to get the triple shot seemed way too unfairly difficult, that last under the spike is reaaally close, and the reward was terrible. the triple shot is great in theory, but it doesnt make anything easier since the hit cooldown on enemies remains the same making the time to kill them just as long as before.
Also, the ending was very anticlimactic. the whole time the player is wondering what the end of the game is going to be like with that strange enemy at the top, an intense boss battle? hopefully. but no, you just kill him. My guess is that you ran out of time, but still, its pretty disappointing.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:34am

The movement was handled very well in this one. I actually don't have any complaints with how the character moved at all -- it wasn't sticky, it wasn't slippery, it wasn't anything negative. It was very smooth and really tight movement, and really good controls can basically make or break how one responds to a platforming title (especially for people like me, who aren't very good at platformers to begin with).

The level layout was quite good, aside from maybe just 2-3 spots that were a little weird and difficult to get past without possibly losing half of my heart meter. Easily changed things, though, that you could probably alter in less than a day, and make it much more enjoyable for players (instead of stuff to grind through to proceed with the level).

The sound effects were really cute, and it needs music! Some sort of retro chiptune-style music or anything, really. It feels so polished, but there's no real sound to help give it vibrant character and life. :D Something to compliment your fantastic pixel art and lovely color palette!

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:56am

Really cool small metroidvania! Gave up on the pit in the bottom of the screen - dont' how to avoid wizard's shot in the end of it.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Metroid in one screen! Yeah!

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:01am

Wow really tight controls and a great take on the theme here. I had to repeat the same jumps and fights just a few too many times for my personal taste, but that's because I made a ton of mistakes. The checkpoints were huge in letting me see more of the game and making me want to retry to keep going.

Great work!

TrentSterling says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Really solid work, but man I am bad at it!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I feel the zoom takes it away from the theme a bit, like you did the whole game in a screen but then if it wasn't it'd be better, so you just allow zoom in. You didn't use the theme to your advantage, I mean. It's not a big deal anyway.

Music would have gone a long way, but being a compo entry I understand you might have not had the time.

Visually it's clever, without too much work it manages to look really well.

Overall it's a good entry, fun enough to play. Good job!

Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Cool solid game, I need to come back later to finish it !

miotatsu says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:05pm

dang this game is hard! lot of content for a ludum dare entry and very well polished. Nice job.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:41am

Nice game. But its hard to deal with enemies standing higher than you. they shoot faster than a hero :)

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:35am

Very pretty and suits the theme really nicely. I love the art as it is, but zooming in is very useful.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-31-huv4hmz6

Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Cool stuff! You did almost exactly the same thing as us, although yours a bit smoother to play than ours. Nice simple pixel art graphics and solid gameplay. Good job.

calavera says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

I couldnt find a way to progress completely but I enjoyed what i played nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]