Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

i

by VLTRAUIOLET - Jam Entry

HOW TO PLAY:
Don't worry about it. Don't worry about anything for a while. Stress will be the death of us.

HOW TO ACTUALLY PLAY:
There's a button for jumping and a button for dashing. Use both in careful moderation, please!!
Gamepad enabled.

WHO TO PLAY:
@takorii & @funbyjohn - made the game
@zenuell - made the music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Graphics(Jam)4.67
#30Mood(Jam)4.05
#79Audio(Jam)3.79
#141Overall(Jam)3.71
#148Theme(Jam)3.98
#202Innovation(Jam)3.58
#297Fun(Jam)3.32
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13am

Love the style and animations.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15am

Wonderful graphics! Nice mechanics I found it really fun to play! Well done guys!

ZeronSix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26am

The idea itself is decent, but i had problems with hit detection.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29am

Wow loving the art style and the gameplay. The gameplay looks simple but hard to execute, but once i got the hang of it, it was quite enjoyable! Neato

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38am

This game looks great! But it is bloody hard!
I had a xbox360 controller with me and I was able to play it properly. But the game is so merciless! Couldn't get past the part with 2 birds flying and 2 birds jumping (4 stage)

That the player falls so fast you don't have time to correct to fall on the bamboo, and the jump is so powerless that makes no difference most of the times.
And how are you supposed to hit the birds? I guess the answer is "not on the white parts" :P

Nevertheless the game really good!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47am

I really really love the colors and the artwork. It has a great sense of style, I just wish it were a bit easier. The skill required to play it fluidly is beyond me.

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08am

Wow, graphics are lovely!

But it's so hard!
Played it for like 30 minutes, almost rage quitted lot of times, but I've just beaten the 4th round and died, I guess I won't success in going further than that.

Maybe it would be cool to allow 2 dashes instead of 1 + 1 at each enemy killed? Or at least something that's makes you not dying if you missed an enemy? It was very frustrating! But at the same time I really liked that!
Learning how to kill the differents ennemies is really cool, but it takes so much time because you start from the beggining everytime..
The audio is cool also! Goes well with your graphics.
It fits the ludum dare's theme fine, but nothing more.

Really relaxing to watch, and frustrating (but still fun!) to play at the same time. Ahah, don't know what to think!!
Great game! :)

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13am

Very hard but great style! Wonderful work here!

GFM says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22am

Amazing game! The game mechanics are quite easy to understand, even though the game is so hard to master... >__<
I still don't know how to consistently kill that damned jumping enemy. >_<

I really enjoyed the graphics!! =D

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:24am

Really hard game! I couldn't even get past the third stage. Fantastic graphics and music too!

MonoS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:42am

The art style is the best part of this game, i really loved it.
Gameplay wise it lacks a bit and the control are not the best [but maybe is my fault for using a ps3 controller]

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47am

very nice graphic, minimalist but very efficients! music fit very well too!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09am

Way too hard for me but ... Awesome artwork and music! This game is very polished and interesting to play! I really liked it! Good job!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

The music doesn't seem to fit the game, it's not really zen. The game mechanics really feel like the patience of the zen, though.

Really great graphics. It's a nice style and the animations are lovely.

christopf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Well done. I found it quite hard to play, i just came to lvl 3 and that's it. I played sooo long but the mechanics are nice but also difficult and sometimes a little buggy? The soundtrack is killer

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Thank you all for the feedback so far!

I've uploaded a new build where I've fixed the fish's dash hit detection code, turns out something wasn't working as intended.

Looking forward to play your games :)

- @funbyjohn

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Absolutely gorgeous game with nice music. Controls take some time to get used to and even then I have lots of trouble to return back on the pole. For some reason I had trouble to hit the birds even on first stage, seems my dash runs out just before impact.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:23am

So beautiful you guys <3 Love your game and you!

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:33pm

This remind me of Ranma 1/2 for some reason, dope stuff.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:44pm

So pretty, fluid and unforgiving - really nice work!

rubna says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:54pm

very cool!! too hard for me though. Controls felt quick and responsive enough though, and sounds would have even added to that.
A nice addition might have been the pole swaying a bit when you land on it, making it feel like bamboo or something. but ok.
Cool title also!!

rabbit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:22am

Hard as nails but beautiful. I listened to the song at least 10 times today. The animations are outstanding and the colors hurt my heart.

A++

qleonetti says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:06pm

The package for mac have an issue ! I really want to play :(

~ % /Users/quentinleonetti/Downloads/i\ Game_1.0.1osx/i ; exit;
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2
Referenced from: /Users/quentinleonetti/Downloads/i Game_1.0.1osx/i
Reason: image not found
zsh: trace trap /Users/quentinleonetti/Downloads/i\ Game_1.0.1osx/i

[Process completed]

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Aw thats really sad, qleonetti!

I thought libraries were compiled into the binary..

These are the frameworks you will need to play on Mac:
https://www.libsdl.org/release/SDL2-2.0.3.dmg
http://www.libsdl.org/projects/SDL_mixer/release/SDL2_mixer-2.0.0.dmg
https://www.libsdl.org/projects/SDL_image/release/SDL2_image-2.0.0.dmg

The .framework files in these downloads need to be copied to the /Library/Frameworks/ folder on your Mac. I hope that makes it work...

klianc09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Just played it for about 2 hours straight. Fun and Frustrating at the same time. First off, the music and graphics are just beautiful, make it perfectly for falling into a trance. The controls are also spot on, still it's really difficult to land on that pole.
It's frustrating, because sometimes the dash would just end right before the enemy, seeming like it should be hit, but I get flung away instead. And yes, the pushback, it's already hard enough like this to navigate and hit that pole again, but with all those enemies pushing you around (especially those damn ghosts!!!) it's really annoying when they just keep messing everything up.
I'm not sure, but maybe I would have enjoyed it even more if you would have old fashioned health points and the enemies would simply damage you instead of knocking you around... but on the other hand, that's all part of the charm of the game.

Those ghosts (you might call them different, I'll call them ghosts) should have a longer charge-up time, they are just so difficult to kill. Guess I'll never get past those 3 damn ghosts...
And after the third wave (right when you kill the first ghost) it can happen that the bird enemies spawn right into you, instantly pushing you to death :(

See, I don't want to say you should make it easier, but I also don't want to say it wasn't frustrating or feeling unfair at some times. It's like a love-hate relationship, but with more love than hate :D

Summary: Frickin' awesome job, you guys already won LD in my heart <3

banana4life says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Super cool game. Music and graphics are awesome, but some sound effects would be the iceing on the cake. Only the landing on the pole was too hard for my taste. Otherwise a really good game. :)

LukuluK says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:52am

Beautiful game, a bit hard to play. Perhaps some snapping and a better air control would help. Also, when player is dead, he should have a special animation to make it more understandable than just falling. Also, a small delay after each death before being able to control would help to not fall to the bottom at each time you reappear after dying.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:09am

Looks amazing but I found it frustratingly hard to play.

wilbefast says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:17am

This looks amazing!

But there's no Linux build and it crashes on Wine :'(

Can you provide source and/or a build for me? Pleeeeease :D

Let me know on Twitter -> @wilbefast

Wertle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I like the chaining idea and think it has a lot of potential. Not sure why you didn't just list the controls on the description, I almost gave up without getting to play since it wasn't obvious (for anyone else having trouble, controls are listed in the readme). I could never get past the scissor fish thing, I think permadeath is tough in this context because you don't get a lot of time to play and experiment with the next phase before dying. Some sound effects would really take this a long way. Nice work!

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:57am

pretty graphics and smooth animation, but frustrating since the room for error was so small. I'd want the landing platform somewhat raised, and maybe more jumps/dashes.

the game definitely did raise my stress levels!

Managore says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:19am

Absolutely beautiful!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]