Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the cybernetic aliens

by mathias234 - Compo Entry

Attack of the cybernetic aliens is a game all about shooting monsters. It is a fast paced shooter.


You move around with W/S and turn with mouse
You shoot with left mouse button

Between each round you get a set of skill points which you can use to upgrade you attack speed or attack damage

Downloads and Links




Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45am

Okay, but it's very hard to see the bullets.

kts_kettek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:29am

Just a few points:
* full AWSD controls would be better, as avoiding bullets while also firing is a bit awkward. If fluid velocity was a thing, that might also improve it
* bullets are hard to see
* While the distance from player to mouse movement speed is nifty, you have a minor bug wherein your bullets travel at the same delta - in other words, if you fire when the cursor is next to your character, the bullets travel very slowly.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Nice little time-waster =).

Can see myself enjoy levelling up my shooter and getting his skills up. Nice game! =D

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

First off Good Job for the finished project.
I found the controls to be quite stiff, I agree that using WASD or Arrows the movement would have felt more fluid, also the bullet distance is the same on the enemy as the playable character, this forced the game into a sit and shoot.

CurlyFries says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

Finished Project, good job. I liked the health drop system, you could make the bullets easier to see and i agree that WASD movement would be better but i liked the way the distance of the mouse from the player increased the speed.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09am


Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

I liked the controls, but as Mopz says, it is hard to see the bullets.
Maybe it should be a little faster: enemies and characters are too strong in my opinion.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

As mopz says its hard to see bullets, controls felt weird its better a 8 direction style. Add some variety to sfx and music please!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:44am

It's a nice simple game, but controls are little strange. Other than that i like it

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08am

Wasn't too bad but could have been much better with some decent controls! I just couldn't attack, dodge, move naturally without having to think hard about how to do it, even after a couple of plays! Loved the inventory/levelling up. Background was a bit too light and made it hard to see the bullets.

Dejsan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30am

Fun game, but it's so damn hard to see bullets.

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30am

Challenging gameplay, I like upgrade system. My only suggestions are to maybe vary up the shot sounds (also add some for the enemy's too) and change the bullet color because it's hard to see the blue ones

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:32am

Movement controls felt strange.

Shazoke says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

WASD is better

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:53am

I like top down shooters, but it was really hard to see the bullets. also the sound was annoying. fix this and it would get much better.

Sirthan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57am

It was pretty cool, but I felt the sounds were a bit grating and the upgrades got out of hand really fast. By round 3 or 4 I had max shot speed and basically I one click killed everything. Overall, though, sweet game - just make the upgrades less ridiculous and vary up the sound.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice start but he movement controls are a bit strange and the collision boxes make me get caught on stuff I shouldn't be caught on.

herofresh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36am

The bullets were hard to see and the gun sound was kinda meh.

tjxx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

Nice game! Simple and fun, how it should be.

molecats says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

Better use WASD. Maybe some effect.

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

the controls are atrocious, you have to do this really awkward wiggle motion with the mouse to avoid the bullets

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

I need always to put far away my mouse from the character in order to go faster is it's a little bit annoying. Would have prefered more a basic wasd controls, but overall, your game is fun and challenging ! Continue like that !

hoqjed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:40am

it's hard to see the bullets, and the controls were awkward (i agree with WASD to move), otherwise great job on finishing.

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02am

Good! Lack of strafing makes the game frustrating. Bullets and no "hit" feedback are tough, too. Nice idea for the upgrade system (but don't play the "fire" sound when playing upgrades). Good job overall!

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03am

The number of shots it takes to kill things with my bullets up to 20 attack power is waaay too many. Also This game desperately needs strafing, its virtually impossible to dodge and shoot at once.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

I kept trying to strafe. I would have chosen a better colour pallete but other than that I like the game. I actually had a look at your source code your coding is very good. I forgot how much coding work is needed for a game like this.

Ege says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:41am

its got some tank controls but its fun overall

Samm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26am

No strafing makes the game a lot about quick mouse movements if thats what you were going for. Bullets are indeed hard to see.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:10am

I liked the crab design. It was cute. There was not much of a story. I imagine it is a sort of crablike white leukocyte trying to kill off pathogenic cells. Actually I just read the title of the game. Aliens make sense.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:52am

The good point is that you can improve your skills. Maybe with more different enemies or guns, or sounds... Keep the good work ;)

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04am

Good start. It is a little difficult to upgrade your skills between rounds. I also think it needs to be easier to dodge incoming enemy fire.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice time-waster. But it's very hard to controll the character

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Controls are a little wierd, but a great effort. Good job!

Waschtl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Controls could be a bit tighter and the rate of fire much higher. I know there are skill points, but you could start at a much higher pace and exaggerate from there.

Overall a solid game nonetheless. :)

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Definitely adds to the challenge not being able to strafe. Although that is a skill to shoot, turn, run, turn, shoot again. that would take some practice. Overall nice work!

Like others said, the bullets need to stand out more and possibly a health bar on the enemies to know how close they are to dying.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Congratulation for finishing this Game ! \o/
I was pleantly suprise by the upgrade system !
I think using only two directionnal key was a ballsy move that could have pay off if the whole game was made for it. (Game design an level design)
More Juice would have be nice ! (Sfx, Explosions, persistence ? ).
HUD is minimalistic but do the job !

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12pm

I like the theme but controls could use some good tweaks. Also the lower space to walk is different from the one above.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Good job, I had some difficulties with the controls though. But I guess that's the challenge :-)

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26pm

To rotate left and right, would be better to use A/D instead of mouse. Also, some power up drop would be nice instead of just health ;).

zapato says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:33pm

the control is wierd, is better either tank controls, like 2d gta, or hotline miami style (mouse aims, wasd moves in the four cardinal points)

SivGoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I like how moving forward and backward goes slower/faster the closer the mouse is to your character and the audio. The sising of the game tho made it very hart to play, I have a 15.6" screen but I couldn't see about 1/6th of the game, so it took me a while to find out where the skill upgrades where, and when I pressed it I had to scroll up again to pick what I wanted to upgrade, unfortunately I didn't have enough time before the next round began before I could upgrade. Great game though, shame about the screen size.

PapaCheech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:42pm

not bad! This one has potential.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42pm

- Hard to see the bullets (especially if you're red green color-blind).

- Increased enemy health and numbers each round doesn't really make it more interesting, especially paired with the skill increases as it basically equals out. I think the challenge could have been improved by adding more spawn points for enemies to generate from.

- Overall it was mostly fun, however it doesn't hold up past a few rounds.

Manoloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

I liked the idea of hordes attacking and the levelling up, but control is frustating and you end up cornered every time

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:23pm

it's rough and sometimes controls are a bit awkward, but being your first entry is a very good effort, well done

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]