Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Penguin Savior

by Samuel Arminana - Compo Entry

Help you fellow penguins live in peace and harmony without ever having to fear the fabled seals! Go through and destroy the seals. Don't forget to eat your snacks on the way. After you have destroyed the seals you seem to find an odd looking brown iceberg that is warm and cozy, what adventures lie ahead?

Go check out my game on itch.io where you can donate, http://1samuel411.itch.io/penguin-savior

Controls - A/D to move, W/Space to jump

There are only 5 levels, please don't forget to rate and leave comment!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#286Graphics3.53
#467Humor2.60
#765Audio2.32
#866Mood2.57
#877Overall2.89
#957Theme3.23
#964Fun2.58
#1018Innovation2.38

Comments

Phaax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

The graphics are very good! I wonder what's happening in the other room... Scary. :P

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15am

Thanks for supplying linux build. You've accidentaly included the same game twice in the archive, which is not necessary.
The game has lovely graphics :)

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

Cool literal take on theme. Great gameplay.

bofink says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Nice looking models and animations! Those seals give you a mighty boost! ;)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

The moving shadow in the background really scared me :) Yhe platformer itsselef is very difficutl to handle. The jump is short and the moving platforms too quick.

TheZiggy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Looks amazing! Great job on the graphics. The game itself is a little clunky, the jump is annoying, but otherwise, great game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02pm

That shadow moving across the room is scary. Windows build runs noticeably faster (which I like) than the web build. Graphics are pretty nice.
-Steffen

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Cool ! Nice models !!

Todnut says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:04am

Love the theme, but how come my penguin can't swim?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:10am

@Todnut Why can't it fly? That's the real question.
*Dodges a bullet

mechabit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04am

nice game, always kept an eye on the door in case the boss came in a caught me playing games at work lol

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Cool! I always believed that penguins are good swimmers :) Nice game and thanks for the Linux build.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:12am

I didnt like the gameplay.

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48am

Hahha, took about 4 tries to realize the gag. Well done :)

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Love it. Love penguins. Love the art. Great job.

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Who is in the other room? :) Nice game, jumping is really hard, or I am too slow for jump and runs :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice environment!

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:05pm

The visuals in this game are awesome, and the take on "one screen" is really really well done. Nice touch with the commotion in the other room.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Awesome graphics - Loved it. The game was pretty straight forward, but fairly well done. It's a shame you didn't add any sound- A few sound effects and the right music, would've made this game stand out even more.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

It was pretty fun to play! A bit hard for someone like me who sucks at platformers, though. Very nice graphics! You should check out our game as well ;)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I love the little details, like the penguins in the menu screen, and the lights turning on and off in the next room. Works great on Linux. As a platformer, the movement and gameplay could be improved.

Ace says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I like the fact that you don't just have a screen, but rather some things around it too. Would've been fun if you could turn the screen off, turn around, or other such meta actions.

sirival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I like the graphics and controls. Good use of the theme!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Awesome game :) love it

elliottd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:37am

nice very soft lighting on everything. I feel like the player should have a higher acceleration to feel responsive, but as it is it feels like you are on ice so maybe that was the intention. the fail message is a little harsh. my character got off of the 2d plane (went into the background a bit and fell off the platforms. you might be able to fix that by setting the constraints on the character's rigidbody. if you have implemented the character without one, you could explicitly set the character's z position every frame. good work

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:15am

very cute game, well done :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16am

Neat game, well done. :)

Troilk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:56am

Cool game! Penguin is really cute :)

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

Clever!!!! Nice work getting around the theme!!! :D

Interface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:09am

This game must be old considering Titanic is in the background!? Nice touch! Like the graphics, not very innovative but very nice entry overall.

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:23am

Cute graphics and cool backdrop for the theme. Something about the controls felt a bit slow to me, and I had a hard time making some of the jumps to the moving platforms since they went back just as I was in the air. I wonder what's going on in the next room! Good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:20am

I like the cute penguin! The gameplay is a little traditional and the jumping distance is really short.. But it is an awesome work made in 48 hours. And you really made a screen to fit the theme..0.0

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:39am

I like the TODO list. Game is quite difficult, found myself dying a lot but i like it. Nice entry!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:38am

I lose, I suck D:

I like the fact the surrounding area - the stuff off 'screen' - actually changes. Otherwise I just don't think the game being on an 'ingame screen' helped the game.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I love how you use the theme and I'm wondering what's going on that room :D

Anti says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Nice graphics and nice take on the theme. Loved the smalled details.

playvue says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Nice graphics!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Very cute game and creative presentation!

Well done!

kalugny says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24pm

So pretty!
But the controls need some work.
And I kept waiting for something to happen in the BG.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:40pm

It is a good entry for the compo, with cool graphics.
The idea is interesting, but in the end it just feels like a "frame" just to fit the theme. It would be nice to be able to do something more in the outside world to give it more meaning. Good job overall!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Great graphics and lovely take on the LD theme! Cool use of the "background" by adding the change of lightning and "movement". I got a tad sad at all the insults that were printed on the screen when I lost. Merry Christmas!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I like the art and the take on the theme, but feel the penguin's controls could be improved. It feels like he weighs a tonne so things are sluggish. Other than that, i enjoyed playing the first couple of levels. :)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Why penguins no swim ?!?!??!?! jk i really like this game, awesome work!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Great concept, cute visuals! The platforming could use more polish though... Well done!

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:27pm

The controls are really unresponsive and sluggish. Movement is very slow. Coins are a dead design trope that should be avoided. Could have really used some sound.

It was, however, on theme.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Nice take on the theme

elvaq says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:48am

Really good models/textures but I can't help but wish the game was more forgiving :/

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:17am

Fun, hard, and has fantastic graphics.

You cannot escape, not even with the exit button.
Very nicely done.

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:32am

Good game.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:11am

Very nice graphics! I like the low poly style :)

Gameplay and controls are a bit clunky, it doesn't flow well.
The jump is too weak, and sometimes you have to wait too long for a platform to arrive.

Other than that, very well done!!!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:03am

great graphics. the shadows in the background were a nice touch.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:32pm

The controls are too slow in my opinion

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Nice 3D graphics

yosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Cool little games with nice graphics! Whoever is moving in the background disturbed me every single time... bonus points for the mood :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Well done, penguins are awesome ;D

lase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:10am

I enjoyed playing, but it did seem like there was a lot of time spent crafting the theme, which left the actual gameplay kind of lackluster. Well done on the models.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:14am

adorable

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:54am

The graphics are fun! A little slow to move and jump but I guess that is a feature :) Thanks

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:15am

graphics is good...

scias says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:28am

Interesting way to interpret the theme. But damn, the game was harder than i thought. The gameplay itself were pretty standard so if you plan on continue working you should check over the actual gameplay. And really go into the nitty gritty parts and ask yourself "why" from time to time, for example why are you collecting fish, what does it bring to the game? Over all i think you came a very long way considering the short time you had developing this, well done :) A final thought... Are you the player playing the character or are you the player playing a player playing the character?

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:42pm

@scias You collect the fish to get more lives, once you get 100 fish you get 1 life.
You are the player playing the character. Lol

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:41pm

The penguin game wasn't anything spectacular and I also would've liked to have been able to interact with my environment in the "real world" game. Good job for a compo entry though.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Apart from me being a pinguin who can't swim (yeah, ok, there are creatures who may eat me, but damn, I CAN swim!) I found platform physics a bit weird. When trying to jump from a moving platform you seem to add your x velocity to the platform's, so if you jump right when it moves left... you don't. And... WHO IS OPENING THE ROOM'S DOOR? IT SCARED ME!! 8(

rmc says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Very Nice! Good gameplay and a lot of fun!The 3D is a little off, I think a 2D graphics would be nicer!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Good interpretation of theme, graphics are quite cute. The move mechanics could be smoother and a little faster. With that + sounds it would make a nice game :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:12am

I'm not sure if that weird light/shadow thing going on in the background is a bug, but, at first I started anticipating that this was going to be one of those games where it lures you into a false sense of security playing a cute little platformer, and then ultimately reveals a series of jump-scares. :D It creeped me out!

Either or, the platformer itself was really cute. The penguin movement itself wasn't too slippery, but I found that some of the jumps were just a tad too far away, or some of the platforms didn't line up correctly because they were either moving too quick or too slow.

The graphics overall were really well done. Especially in the outer room/office area. The texturing and lighting (in the room) was quite pro. In the penguin game, the graphics were appropriately low-poly and the seals were adorable. :)

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:55am

I love the door in the background, nice detail there. The movement of the character seems a bit slow though.
Funny to see a penguin killing seals :P Poor penguin that cannot swim!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Sometimes the penguin would go underwater and just disappear.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:21am

Nice simple platformer with good graphics. That penguin swims for crap, though.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:08am

–°ute penguin >_< But I have them all the time sink (((

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Hi there. Love the graphics 'in game'. Nice idea presenting on a screen in a room. Penguin platform game needs a bit more difficulty. Shame no sounds. Good job!

sudorossy says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

TBH it's penguins so I can't complain

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]