Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cramped-An Entire Platformer on one Screen

by WiErD0 - Compo Entry

Really proud of this one, hope you guys will like it too!

Get the snowman to his Igloo by designing the level correctly. You can move some of the blocks around, but THEY ALL MUST FIT ON THE ONE SCREEN.

Restart level:r
*****You can't move all the blocks in a level, only certain ones*******

All levels are beatable using the info that you were given prior to it. THE TNT BLOWS UP ALL OF THE BLOCKS AROUND IT!

You get hints/tips throughout the game.
Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Theme4.13
#282Humor2.94
#289Innovation3.52
#363Fun3.30
#500Overall3.25
#754Mood2.70
#927Graphics2.52
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Beat level one. But when I entered level two nothing happened when I clicked the pieces - couldn't move them. Pressed the red button, fell down a hole and the game said "Victory" then restarted on the same level, still not able to move any pieces.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Cool concept, but somewhat poorly executed.

Graphics are pretty sub standard unfortunately.

Keep working at this idea because its really good.

ijwu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Great take on the theme. Sounds were fitting. The clouds in the background moved way too fast, it was distracting. The effect of the TNT was poorly demonstrated and on the second level containing TNT I blew up the platform I was on and lost. Moving the blocks around was somewhat clunky and being forced to move the blocks all the way around the entire monitor was a little tiresome.

Awesome concept! Needs some work, though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Nice puzzle game! I was very impressed with the level design and the difficulty curve. It was easy to get into and fun to play - it's a nice take on the slider puzzle with some new elements added. At first I was a bit shocked by the graphics, but I just needed some convincing as they went from shocking to charming in book :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Oh, I should add that transitions and text between the levels were a bit too slow in my opinion.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35am

Enjoyed the game. I think I made it crash when the tnt blew up the igloo. If that was the controller of the level you should think of something else. Keep working on it, has potential.

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42am

Nice idea. The 3rd level killed me though, cause I knew what I had to do but it's just so boring to move all the squares to the position. Keep polishing it, the idea is good

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice

dorkster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice work. Personally, I think the pre-level text gave the puzzle solution away most of the time. I would have preferred it to be more cryptic.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:10pm

This is actually pretty clever! Not too difficult a puzzle game, but the few mechanics allow for some interesting levels. I particularly enjoyed the one where you had to move the exit; that made me feel smart. ;) Also, I like how you interpreted 'on one screen'; not what I would have thought of, but cute. The one thing that bothered me was the lack of instructions; I sat there for five minutes clicking and pressing stuff before I figured out what to do.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Interesting mechanic, but it's really overwhelming to not know which tiles can be used and which not.

Louisload says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:25pm

excellent entry!
you had a very good idea for a puzzle-platformer, and you implemented it with a lot of humor inside :D

joekinley says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:34pm

The red button hitbox was weirdly off. That was pretty frustrating.

I felt pretty smart when I realized i might stack the pieces under there and had to move around the screen.

Went well, until that "branch mining" level, where I suddenly blew up the igloo, causing the game to crash. Didn't want to go through all that progress again.

Nice little game. Good job.

Wait, there was a level select. Yay, got the last level. Tricky one, felt smart I used that second TNT as a platform. Won the game. \o/

Good job.

bobombe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Simple puzzle game but interesting ! In one level I blew up my igloo and the game crashed ...

klianc09 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

That download button was really hard to find...

Expected a platformer, got a slider puzzle...
The puzzles are great, just movable and non-movable blocks should look differently, so that one doesn't have to click through all of them, to see which can be moved and which can't.
As somebody else said, moving the blocks all around the screen was a bit tiresome.
Also more varied sound effects would have been nice.

Night says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:50pm

It's sad, but it crashes on Ubuntu with the following error:

Exception in thread "Thread-0" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Invalid format
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.createStream(PulseAudioDataLine.java:142)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.open(PulseAudioDataLine.java:99)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.open(PulseAudioDataLine.java:283)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:402)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:453)
at com.WiErD0Games.music.OpeningSound.<init>(OpeningSound.java:22)
at com.WiErD0Games.scenes.OpeningScene.update(OpeningScene.java:33)
at com.WiErD0Games.main.Game.update(Game.java:99)
at com.WiErD0Games.main.Game.run(Game.java:76)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

XTremEive says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Cool stuff.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]