Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Pixie

by Code White - Compo Entry

Why hello there. If you're reading this, chances are you're interested in playing my game. I'm 14 years old, and this is my third Ludum Dare in a row, but really the first one I came anywhere near finishing. Ish. That said, I'm not going to pretend this game came out as well as I was hoping. The theme, as I'm sure everyone has already pointed out, was far from perfect. However, I've tried my best to interpret it AS A THEME. I've also tried to actually make an OK game. Nice to see how that turned out...

======STORYLINE=======
You are a Pixel Pixie, who lives in a screen. (Yes I know the theme says ON a screen, shhhh...)
You need to paint the right pixel the right colour as soon as it gets highlighted.
You can change the colour you are painting with by using the sliders. The current colour is shown at the top of the screen, and needs to be (almost) the same as the highlighted area.
You don't want the timer in the background to run out!
Avoid the sparks of stray electricity that occasionally zap by.
Be careful -- you only have 3 lives!!!
======STORYLINE=======

**********CONTROLS**********
Navigate to the highlighted area using the ARROW KEYS.
Paint the pixel by hitting SPACE.
Pause the game and show the in-game instructions by pressing ENTER.
Toggle Fullscreen Mode (recommended) by pressing F11.
**********CONTROLS**********

///////TOOLS USED\\\\\\\
Language: Lua
Framework: Love2D with GUI Library
IDE: Notepad++
Art: Piskell, Inkscape, Paint
Audio: Pixitracker, Audacity
Ideas: My Brain
\\\\\\\TOOLS USED///////

And that's about it from me. Hope you have as much fun playing as I had making Pixel Pixie for Ludum Dare 31!

-----UPDATE------
I had a lot of people saying the game was too hard, so I made some small changes:
--You can now use WASD to move.
--The electric spark has been halved in size, and slowed down.
--I also changed the color of the notifications at the bottom, because you couldn't see them when the game was paused.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#289Innovation3.52
#482Theme3.65
#485Humor2.58
#547Audio2.73
#777Mood2.67
#850Overall2.91
#929Fun2.64
#1029Graphics2.32

Comments

Gwilym says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

This really tested my rgb knowledge. Under pressure working out which combo was yellow was quite a challenge. Really interesting idea :D

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:52pm

A little bit hard to understand at first but it's really nice :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02pm

It's a nice concept but i can't really enjoy the game since i'm color blind i fail almost every time at the first color xD

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Hard to get in but the idea is nice. You need to tweek the controls i think. There`s too much to do at the same time (moving to the right spot, choosing color, dodge electricity sparks)

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Very original idea, but it's too hard. I think that with some fixes and better ui, it is a very good way to learn the rgb knowledge. Good job! Keep learning ;-)

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I like the idea, but a little bit too hard :)

Stending says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Really hard to understand, but pretty cool! A bit hard though. ^^

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Interesting game. The core gameplay of matching color while hazards distract you was more engaging than I anticipated. That said, the game felt needlessly punishing. I think it would be more fun if avoiding the sparks/finding the pixel were more to keep you on your toes, maybe stun rather than kill. The clock is the real enemy here. Good job, though. I felt it fit the theme well.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Great idea! Really puts one's RGB skills to the test. One minor thing that could be improved though is the controls: You always need one hand on the mouse to adjust the sliders and I can't comfortably use both the cursor key and the Space bar with one hand. Setting the movement controls to WASD would fix that for me.

Other than that, good job!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Трудновато,но здорово

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:39am

A bit hard...

indie4fun says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:04am

The idea is cool, but really hard to play it!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Oh man, I love color-based games! It was pretty tough and as others have said really pushed the RGB-knowlegde envelope, but it was so much moe fun that way :)

grid96 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Really nice game! Kinda hard sometimes, especially with the time pressure, and frustrating when you get zapped, just when you matched the color..

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Nifty little game and I think the difficulty is pretty good, maybe a bit on the hard side. Managed to match some colors, but in the end it seems my color vision isn't as good as I thought.

Shivur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Good concept but maybe too hard to play.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:35am

Interesting concept, difficult challenge.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

This was a lot of fun. I think I would have rather liked to play the harder version; a game should be a challenge after all.

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Cool idea, but very difficult. Needs a lot of balancing. Timer right in the middle of the screen is annoying too, keep confusing the timer dot with the pixel I need to colour!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:31am

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]