Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Of The Snowmen

by TechnoWolf99 - Jam Entry

You've arrived with one mission; kick snowman ass!

This is our game for the Ludum Dare 31 Jam! This game was built in 72 hours, mostly from scratch. This time, I was working with Kentiya!

Controls:
- Arrow keys or WASD to move
- Move mouse to aim, click to shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Audio(Jam)3.79
#261Fun(Jam)3.37
#375Humor(Jam)2.83
#431Graphics(Jam)3.42
#478Theme(Jam)3.58
#504Overall(Jam)3.21
#504Mood(Jam)3.03
#857Innovation(Jam)2.41
#2356Coolness0%

Comments

ssheep says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:04am

Great game i loved it, i love the art the audio i loved the gameplay and i actaully played it a couple times

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

Very nice!

mikozouzou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

I was expected a lot from the main screen because the music was great and the graphisms attractive, but it wasn't as good as I expected.
I put you 3 stars for the theme because in my opinion having different screens doesn't really fit !

And well done for the sound, it was very appreciative !

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47am

It's fun!

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I love this one! Nice art and plays well!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Quite fun and great music!

sumguy67 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:35am

Fun game and love the destructible environment. Would be nice if there was some sort of feedback to let you know if you've hit a snowman.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:59pm

really neat game, some feedback would be nice when you hit the snowMan but apart from that, great work =)

Shimone says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Really loved the music. Graphics were good as well. As other people have already said, some kind of feedback when you hit the snowmen would be appreciated. Nice game overall.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Cool retro graphics and music.

RadStar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Lacks some feed back when you get hurt or hit a snowman, and you can't lose when you stay on the middle platform. But great music!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Retro powa. Can be improved. Neat ++

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28am

Interesting, but the gameplay is repetitive, and standing is the corner is a too simple yet definitive strategy. I think most people didn't realize the scenery is destructible, which I think is a very cool technical aspect. I think you should make the radius of the scenery destruction on impact larger, add some different snowmen AI, make them throw snowballs and add different missions and levels and weapons.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:50am

nice game and great retro music. I liked the destructible environment.

Lynx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:35am

Super enjoyable game, you do have a glitch where standing in the left bottom corner makes all the snowman pile up at the top and get stuck.

Love the snow effect being destroyed.

tcarter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:33am

Really loved the music! Gameplay was fun.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:36am

I miss some animations in the characters, and a response on every hit the snowmen get, not just to the one they die.

The terrain destroying thing like worms was cool, bigger bullets would've made that really cool.

despite the lack of animation, it is visually quite cohesive and works nicely with the feel of the game.

good job!

enteagd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Lovely game, particularly nice audio choice, fits the games pacing perfectly. Only major downside was no feedback on shooting a snowman - had no idea if i missed or was having an effect!

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:00pm

A little simple but I enjoyed it, would be nice to have a little more variation

Dokthar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Nice game, i loved the idea of destructible platforms but that make the game too easy, ennemy Ai wont move if you are just above/under them. So easy when you find that "hack" the game become boring, plus you didn't see your score before die, so i suicide with a score of : 28784.
Still a good realization, good graphics and sounds FX.

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:28pm

The music is awesome! Also great job on the game!

bradur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Nice audio and gameplay works very well. A little too easy, but a very good entry for 72 hours. The music is very catchy!

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:32pm

The art and the music seem too good to be made within 48 hours by an individual, great job there.. The gameplay gets repetitive real quick and can use some more thoughts.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I want a machine gun :)

Really cool game! Shooting is totally fun!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:26pm

I had a fun playing it. A nice music as well

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:48am

nice effect on the snowman dying - nice game

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Nice art, love the animations and how the platforms are destroyed. The AI is a bit dumb, but very fun game

gameattack says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Cool music! The game is a bit too repetitive for my taste though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]