Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Space Taxi

by Jaenis - Compo Entry

You are a member of glorious Space Taxi corporation.
At one night you suddenly wake up in world made of hexagons, what is going on?
Does anybody even know?
Why there are no people to transport?
Do taxis really fly?

To find answers these questions you must play the game!

Bug fix:
- Stencil shadows did not work with certain NVidia cards

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#93Innovation3.95
#113Fun3.68
#124Overall3.71
#184Audio3.36
#248Humor3.00
#286Mood3.26
#326Graphics3.47
#350Theme3.76

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48am

The physics in this feel pretty good. It's floaty but you'd expect a space taxi to be floaty. I was not expecting to be saddled with the weight also and it did make it a lot harder. The only issue I found is it's very easy to flip the taxi and you don't really have a way to recover it.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54am

Yeah, the flipping is a nasty issue. You could return back to menu and press restart - though that will kick you back to the first level (with current weights)
Sometimes just spinning around may flip you back to correct way up

MrPhil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:07am

Driving was challenging and fun. The weight was crazy!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11am

Whatever, I like the flipping upside down part. Also the warning about the glass ceiling, riiight before I hit it! +1 for unflipping car simulator 2020

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12am

Oh man, I am such a lousy taxi pilot. The passengers would probably leave the taxi ahead of time. If they could. Luckily, the taxi is high in the air, so no complaint there.
Great game. And I love hexes in every form.

davidB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47am

flipping the taxi is the end like for turtles.
I like the calm music.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Excellent job!

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

Really fun with amazing graphics and physics!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Great experience driving this. Lots of fun. Congratulations :D

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

A really enjoyable game! Good work! :)

mr_tag says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

The steering feels very good! Floaty, but always in control. That is until I got to the weight, couldn't steer it at all with the weight on...

But I love physics games like this one, so thank you for making it! :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:24pm

The controls and momentum felt really satisfying :)I gave up when i reached 3 weights. I'm guessing it never ends xD

the only real complaint i have is the roof. I would love to get to fly as high as i wished.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:16am

"going next level"-idea was really nice and goes with the theme. I played 10 games and this one was first that I really enjoy to play :). Graphics and audo were not so good but I the gameplay was.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice controls, very floaty, which makes sense for a space taxi. The weight made it really hard. I love the audio :)

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:47pm

One of my top 10 ! I really like the concept and the reference to portal (weighted companion :) ) !

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Great graphics, cool physics and quite innovative in a surprising way! The 1 ton companion was extremely hard, especially as its very hard to flip back when you got the cube on you. Thanks for the game and Merry Christmas!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Really fun game. :D
As other have said, the flipping is an issue, and also the weights dangle way too unpredictably. If they were stuck to the roof, or attacthed by a rope, that would help get a feel for it a lot more. :D
But very well done. :D

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Wonderful game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24pm

i could fly off the screen on right side at level 3, and never returned ... BUT Great level change concept! love it! cheers!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Solid game! The controls fit very well to this type of game. I hope you add further mechanics to a post-compo version, like bouncing off walls, magnets etc.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:49am

Sweet game! It controlled pretty well, though it was a little slow for me, especially once you got the weight tied to you. XD I really liked the text in-between each of the levels and the way that they changed while maintaining the same screen was really clever! Awesome job. :D

ZYXer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:50am

Great physics game! I didn't make it past the third level with two weights, but thats probably due my lack to patience. :)

I really love the level transitions, so simple, but really cool looking.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:18am

I had fun! Nice graphics, and nice catchy music. Great physics. One little thing you should do is flip the taxi over when upside down. At one point I was flipped over, and it took me a while to get back up. Other than that this was really fun and original! Good job!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:26am

It is quirky and fun. Nicely done! Although after getting a second companion I began to think that the taxi company doesn't pay me enough money.

strong99 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Entertaining. Didn't have any issue with flipping, but I kept bumping into purple blocks :P they're attractive,,,

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:58pm

The physics are cool. I really like the game. Great job Jaenis!!! I like those extra ton weights..

Si1ver says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:18am

It's so hard to be a space taxi driver nowadays. =)
Great enrty, I love it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]