Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Valhalla

by snickersnacks - Jam Entry

*CRASH FIXED, THANKS FOR THE BUG REPORTS!*

Underwater on her business loans and ignoring a budding case of alcoholism, Ji-yoon -- "Jane" to her regulars -- is doing the only thing she's ever wanted to do: run a dive bar affectionately named Valhalla. Help her break up fights and attract more customers, pay off undercover cops and keep up on her loan payments while maintaining a functional B.A.C. so she can cope with living her own version of the American Dream.

---

CONTROLS: Mouse only

HINTS: You can only restock or change pricing when the bar is closed. Expensive, small drinks will drive customers away and give Valhalla a terrible reputation. If the price is right and the drinks are good, a surprise guest will stop by.

---

Code: @zite00
3D models: Dan Awesome
Music: ??? no idea what you're talking about
Everything else: @snickersnax

Engine: Unity
Language: C#
Graphics: Illustrator/Photoshop

Special thanks to Rainier beer, breakfast of champions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#226Humor(Jam)3.19
#353Mood(Jam)3.25
#422Innovation(Jam)3.16
#432Theme(Jam)3.62
#435Overall(Jam)3.28
#440Fun(Jam)3.13
#839Graphics(Jam)2.50

Comments

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

Game looks nice, but i cant start it, i get this error
at Initalizer+<Start>c_Iterator4.MoveNext () (0x00000) in <filname unknown>: 0

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42am

@error031: Crap, thanks for telling us. Working build will be up asap!

riktothepast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Got this error: Initalizer+<Start>c_Iterator4.MoveNext () (0x00000) in <filname unknown>: 0 . Fix it please, this sounds interesting.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46am

there's an error at the beginning, but I can already say that the music is pretty good, nice tune :)

LMT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Really nice music but errors on play

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:24am

Source of crash found, fixed version will be available shortly -- thx for your patience!

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13am

Crash fixed, play and vote away :)

Samm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:20am

Ha, interesting game. Ends somewhat abruptly, but good fun :)

Toestee says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:22am

Loving the Bojack Horseman theme for the music!

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:46am

I can see this being pretty cool with art, I already dig the music and how it works with the rude atmosphere. I like how the patrons' comments are the feedback to know the state. I wish there was a bit more to the process of what you had to do though, instead of just changing things in a menu. Those barber shop type games usually have you running around and the main mechanic is that you cannot do everything at once. I think that is a bit overdone, and you probably want something different, but maybe need to figure out how to still incorporate action or more interactivity into it somehow. Good job!

Budda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:23am

Solid game, did take a little while to figure out the Bar/Menu buttons were only available after hours, perhaps visual indicator is needed. At some point satisfaction ratings were -Infinity and NaN, maybe they didn't like my drinks! Also paused at one point and couldn't figure out how to unpause. Good fun, though!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Very good! I'm gonna get some beer

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice though the bar is huge and empty :D

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:57pm

The game its nice, but if you find the formula at the beginning you only watch your money rise until the end of the game...

reheated says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Pretty fun. Great work with the simulation!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Music is great, and i played the until game over :) I would like to share my game end but it would spoil others :) great, that was fun after i lose a few times ;) great!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Did he died ? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvzFPqM7THk

Shackhal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I like the concept to run a drink bar, nice music and great fun. I played it until the end.

The graphics could improve and have some variations, like some fights you must stop.

Overall, I like it :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:02pm

It's hard to balance the ratio price/quantity, but this is an interesting challenge. However, deceived customers will not let a second chance, that's not fair... That's business, I guess. :P

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:25am

Looks good and was real addictive. Nice menus but unclear when they can be used. I had problems clicking them mostly. The music was good and like I said really addictive gameplay :D I've tried a couple of bar-simulators so far and this was by far the best :D

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Great game. But it's a bit easy in my opinion :) A good start, but there is still a lot of potential I think. :)

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Neat Game

elvaq says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Great idea and it seems like you put a lot of groundwork into a lot of different systems but I found my playthrough pretty confusing. Also really wasn't able to get customer information, or really anything off of the bar area, maybe just menus would have been easier?

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:34pm

It's always so rewarding to watch a number rise and rise :D I couldn't get drunk somehow, but I won the game ^^ Good job :)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:30am

Nice game. Unfortunately, the menus don't open sometimes, even after I push the icons multiple times. Song's good, as well.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:00pm

where can I download this music?

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:18am

I got a lot of swearing because I accidentally set the speed to 28...

Dans17 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:30am

Nice idea, would be cool if it was developed further. Also, I think the point was that you could only change prices and buy drinks after hours, but you could simply leave it open to get by this restriction. However, I think that that might have caused it to glitch, because the time ended up pausing with no dialogue box coming up, so I had to restart the game

alabebop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nice idea! The audio is pretty good, why don't you include it into voting categories?

csanyk says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I couldn't figure out how to do anything. People complained that there was no beer.

victorljs says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very funny. Original idea.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Excellent game but I couldn't buy more drinks after I ran out

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:48am

Excellent. Would love to see this full fleshed out.

t4u says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I dont really get fun from playing this game. I know somewhere in it there is whole bunch of special customers pushing the plot forward but they are not worth of rather boring gameplay. Nice you included Speed quickening bar.

PS Why coctail=liquor?

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Excellent all round game, really satisfying once I got the hang of it :D

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I burned down my bar and got the insurance money, yay! :-D :-D :-D

nosfer says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Addictive I finished it with my fiancee :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:05am

Hey, I really like the idea for this game - it's pretty awesome for the 72-hr limit! I kinda ran into a bug where the game permanently paused on day 19 for me - before that I had no customers for a week while some messages stayed up on the screen. I really liked the choice of music and the level of interaction the game allowed for, even if everyone was just a neat little coloured cube. :)
Shame I ran into a bug, but I quite liked everything else - I don't know if I'd have changed my opinion by the time I'd paid off all $200,000 though. :I Great game, good choice of music - keep it up!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I enjoyed playing this - very good mood (music is cool!) and interesting to play, and those text quest elements=)

ilokimo says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Fun in every meaning of the word. The mood is great, it's good to see you focused on the game mechanics and didn't stress about the graphics, I'll take this over pretty pictures anytime. The game was slightly too easy to keep me playing after 7 days, but making it harder might not be the solution either, the goal needs to be something more than just gathering money.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Some parts of this were nicely executed, being able to speed it up to times 50 was nice and the text above peoples heads and their movement was done well, but it would have been nice if events happened much more frequently or if there was some visual indication/benefit to trying to increase the average satisfaction of customers. Not bad at all but quickly ended up in a cycle where money wasn't an issue, had the extra bar tender and bouncer, and just kept restocking drinks. Lowered the price of drinks too but didn't feel any impact and it was just a waiting game to see if another event would occur. Getting to see how many customers you had in the bar and their average satisfaction would have added a nice sense of accomplishment to each day, maybe even a star rating for your bar to try and reach 5 stars or something of the sort. Still it was a solid entry, well done :).

gelisam says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I calculate that at full speed, it would take me 3.5 more hours to reach 200k, so... f*ck this shit, I'm getting a drink.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Great atmosphere. I felt like the mechanics served the narrative well too as I began to feel like a apathetic dive bar owner going through the motions. The only problem I have with this game is that its 8am and I feel like I need a drink now.

belstras says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Nice sim game, quite relaxing. The icons and graphics are well done. And the music reminds me of some silent hill music, hmm strange.. but nice!

orion_black says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:56am

At first customers where kind of pissy but once I got the hang of it everything was ok, perhaps too ok. This could be expanded in a lot of interesting ways, super pissy customers perhaps ;). I really liked the music selection.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]