Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Skull and Crossbones

by Glenugie - Compo Entry

Skull and Crossbones is a game about Pirates, Plunder, and the Conservation of Cannonballs. You play a pirate ship trying to make a living upon the high sea. British Navy ships will spawn to attack you, and Cargo ships will spawn and try to just sail past.

Cannonballs are persistent (and apparently made of styrofoam, since they float), when they've stopped moving any ship can claim them for their own. Each ship has a limited supply of cannonballs, and a maximum number that they can hold. To refill them pick up floating cannonballs (or a cannonball powerup). Be wary of the wind, it can slow or speed you - the colour of your wake will reflect this.

Game Controls:
WASD - Move Ship
Arrow Keys - Shows firing lines while held, fires on release (If Control is held when releasing the shot will cancel)
Spacebar - View Whole Map

NOTE: The Web version of this game is less stable than the Windows version, so if for some reason the Web version crashes - please try the Windows release (if you can)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#395Fun3.25
#467Graphics3.23
#516Innovation3.18
#540Audio2.74
#571Theme3.59
#626Humor2.39
#630Mood2.86
#685Overall3.08

Comments

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48am

quite a nice game

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:49am

Cool game! I like the gameplay, even if it's quite difficult to master.

Sound and graphic are super.

anael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15am

interesting but hard to manipulate (lot of controls)

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15am

Stupidly difficult, but nice overall

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54am

So many controls, so hard for me. But I like the game !

fueelin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55am

It's too easy to run out of cannonballs and it can be hard to collect more because of the (reasonably) loose turning radius. It's a good idea, and I like how it uses the theme (using the map to let you know what's outside your 'one screen').

Krimble says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58am

Good game idea. I found it a bit hard but other than that it was a great game.

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:04am

Nice game, I didn't get how to reload my cannons at first but once you get the hang of it it's pretty fun.

Louisload says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16am

Nice pirating game. Difficult on the controls, like a real ship would be.

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I like it! The idea of a pirate ship simulation is awesome, the way the cannons are set up is awesome (side cannons x 4 each side, the rear cannons being at an angle so you can chase people, good design).

But the game is confusing, all I can do is stay in the box? I can't actually chase anyone outside of it?

The cannonballs floating... That makes no sense :P

Oh the control to cancel shot is super unwieldy.

Would be great if some of those things are resolved :)

caporaltito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I really like this game! The controls are terrible but I really liked it!

Aru Nyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:02pm

It has potential … Unfortunately, I find it quite hard to control. And at first it was hard to tell what was going on.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

...little bit difficult, but good game :)

Tokw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Great game very challenging controls this could go further with upgrades and health.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Not bad. Slow transitioning, but really okay. Cool music loop and nice graphics. The physics were a bit choppy, but that does not affect your score anyway.

Jacic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Nice game, but a little difficult to control.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:16pm

very challenging, love the retro style graphics and sound

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:11am

nice game...
but difficult to stimulate...(controls)

Verz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:40am

The control is hard but is a nice game.

scias says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:20pm

One of the best uses of the theme I've seen, well done on that! Over all i thought it was a solid concept. The thing I'd recommend you take a look at is the controls. Maybe using the mouse for aiming the canons and clicking to shoot will feel more natural? aah, best thing is to test different things out I guess. If you decide to keep working on this, send me a message or something when you've got a new update, I'd love to follow it.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:20am

Interesting idea -- and hard, yes. Good entry!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Hi there. Love the mechanics for sea combat. Something needs tweaking in the balance. Like the sounds and the map zoom. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]