Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Creative Defense

by sharp911 - Compo Entry

This is a pretty typical tower defense game. I wanted to add an upgrade system to it, but ran out of time. The graphics are more of place holders than anything, but they work.

You basically are in control of defending a valley that is important do defend as it lies between the enemy and your base. If the enemy units get past you, they gain access to your base and you loose a point and some money.

I am sorry to say that there is no end to the resources of this enemy. They will just continue to send their forces trough your position. Defend the beast you can. However, if fail to stop the enemy we will have to let you go and you will get demoted.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#765Audio2.32
#837Mood2.60
#862Theme3.35
#946Fun2.62
#995Overall2.73
#1029Graphics2.32
#1188Innovation1.81

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03am

Well thought-out. The purchase system shows a good bit of effort that went into this submission. Nicely done!

DanHayesGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

Hey, I'm getting an error when I try to play, something about a decompression error? I'm not using chrome by the way.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

Yeah, I am getting the decompression error as well. It is stated in the description. Not sure why, Have recompiled a few times, uploaded a few times. I get no errors playing it locally.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Can't decompress the zip file :(

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

ok, The webplayer is finally working.

egos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23am

you achieve this tower defense well done

kmasiulis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Did not work on chrome, but worked on firefox when I used direct link. Quite fun, I liked the way building works.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

The UI could be improved. It's too many things to click on in order to do simple actions, and moving the mouse back to the sidebar each time and having the prices separate from the item buttons is annoying. Decent game though!

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

@AlSweigart Yes I totally agree that there is a lot of mouse movement, I noticed that too. If I had time, I would have done a click an area and the menu pops up right there. But didnt have time :)

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Nice work! I wish it had more options for the turrets but as you said you ran out of time. See you at the next jam then :D

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40am

The game was difficult at first, got easier torwards the end. No sell system to sell those machine guns. The buying system I found a little tedious. Does show some effort into it.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

Interesting game :D love it

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

Fun little game, I was going nuts on machine guns but that only works so long :-) Great job.

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

a good old tower defence. Not very "creative" as the title say it but still funny. Good game ! (purchase menu is very good)

Ozcr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59am

I never played it, but the picture looks nice.

5/5 stars.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44am

I love tower defence games, they are a pleasure to play, the challenge in this one comes from the lack of balance between cost of items and frequency money is earned. Good Work!

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03am

I'm liking the upgrade system, simple and easy to use, however some more defined art would have contributed to the gameplay a lot.

khahem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24am

Good job !

I really loved the "end game" where the game sends more and more units until everything slow down to a crawl, not exactly an intended feature but really fun :)

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

Well thought out and fully functional tower defense game. The building controls were hard to figure out at first, but then I got the hang of them. Not sure why you have the build a base for the gun first though.

The game could use a bit more style though. Overall decent effort.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03am

There seems to be a bug where the mute button doesn't work. Nice job with the GUI to buy and upgrade things. I never managed to get enough money for even a single anti-tank weapon though, even if I wiped out every enemy unit before the waves of tanks and only built 5-7 towers. Once you start losing money for enemies getting past it seems impossible. Maybe I just missed a trick to get enough for anti-tank weapons.

gquibao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

Good game. I got desperate when the first tank came lol. Really enjoying. Nice!!

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26am

The beginning was definitely the toughest part. Afterwards I had no real issues. I wish there was a sell system, or if there was I couldnt find it. Good job!

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Solid tower defense game.

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

All I said in the stream. Remember? :)

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:55am

Yep I do. And thanks alvarop. The suggestions you made are most likely going to be implemented as I continue to develop the game :) great suggestions. Like a lot of the other reviews.

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19am

Definitely a good start! Great job!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

Game was fun. Was a little unbalanced but that was nice because it gives a natural end point.

-AlucardX60

Wiering says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

If you make it through the first two minutes or so, it becomes very easy.

vladimirdlc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

I found it fun, classic yeah, but fun. Thanks for letting me know about the issues in my entry.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:53am

works well, gave up after saving about 200k gold though, even though tanks were a solid gray line coming out of the enemy base my defense strategy of "nothing but anti-tank guns all over map" was basicly unbeatable.

radmars says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

nice tower-defense game! I would have liked to be brought right into the 'choose a tower type' after building the base of the tower though. I also would have liked to be able to sell towers. :X wound up having a big tank wave and no anti tank guns for em! Nice entry. :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42pm

very nice tower defense game.
At the end physics engine's limits are passed but in general a good implementation.

olligobber says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:25am

Easy, boring, and uninteresting.

the31 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Targeting priority seemed weird, letting guys through that I thought I should be able to take out. (Hard to tell, though, without any sort of health indicator.) Other than that, good implementation of a normal tower defense, with a "turret base" idea that I hadn't seen before. Doesn't have the typical selling mechanic that would have been useful to get a anti-tank turret. I wasn't able to get very far, strangely enough, although other people apparently found it easy. Maybe I'm just no good at this genre.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:32am

The audio mute button in the top left didn't seem to affect the audio of the game.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:55am

This was surprisingly addictive up tot he point where my base was saturated and I was earning 500cr/s :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Hi there. Like the basics, but found the balance too tough even from start. Be nice to have a few breaks in enemies and slightly more generous killing... Shame no in-game sound. Good job!

Dunric says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Works nicely! Could do with some health bars on enemies.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I made a highlight of this game from my stream.
http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/5696615

sharp911 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:29am

thanks for posting the video on there Pixel

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]